We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort to your Saves list
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All Inclusive Package
Ranked #34 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Central Coast
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice view but it is a long ways from all the activities that we did while we were in Tucson. Our room was quite warm, and we had to call the front desk to come fix it, and to fix it, it meant us turning the thermostat all the way down and leaving the A/C on at all times. Which meant by 2 am the room was freezing and if you turn up or off the ac within an hour or so it was back to be hot again.
We had a suite and it was large at about 700 sq ft or so. We dined at the restaurant in the hotel, and had asked prior to booking the room and even when we checked in, if they could cook a vegan meal and they said yes. Do they don't not know what vegan is? Vegetables cooked in a chicken stock with cream, eggs and cheese is not vegan.
One good thing about the hotel is because it is away from the city, it gets a lot of critters like road runners, bats, lots of birds, and lots of snakes.
Next time I go and want to stay at a hotel that is in the boondocks, I will go to The Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    422
    154
    65
    28
See reviews for
366
293
51
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. It is easy to find and in a great location. We asked for a pool view and Jason at the front desk got us the best view ever. We could see the pool and the mountains. The staff was so nice and made our stay the best ever. Todd from the pool side bar made sure if we needed drinks or food we got it. It was a great vacation for me and my son ( who is 15).
We go to Arizona once a year and will make this the only hotel we will stay at.
Thank you for everything!
Andrea

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maui, hi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
402 helpful votes 402 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have stayed in Hiltons (as well as their Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites etc.) all over the world and these hotel rooms were the absolute dirtiest. The last time we stayed at such a dirty hotel was a tiny place in Southeast Asia.
The El Conquistador is actually a gorgeous facility with beautiful pools, common areas, views, fantastic tennis courts, etc, but our actual room (as well as the pation and the corridors outside it) were very dirty. It was so dirty that our feet got black from walking inside the room (we never wear shoes indoors) and we found something absolutely repulsive in our safe. We had several friends staying in different parts of the hotel and after comparing notes, they actually said their rooms were more filthy.
Most hotels of this caliber have staff cleaning constantly. We saw many staff members walking around with cleaning supplies, but they were never actually using the cleaning supplies, just walking around. (And I sympathesize with cleaning staff, it is a difficult job.) It's too bad because this place has the potential to be a destination hotel.

Room Tip: Check your room before you check in to be sure it is clean and doesn't have weird things left in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. We have policies and procedures for housekeeping to follow when they are cleaning our guest rooms, and we routinely place rooms out of order to clean carpets. We inspect the work of our housekeepers and provide re-training where necessary. Obviously, in your case, we fell short in our process, and will be taking the necessary steps improve upon it.

We hope you will give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future.

Sincerely,
Lori B. Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed two nights in a 2 Queen Beds, Junior Suite in Building 3 of the Hilton El Conquistador resort over Labor Day weekend. The property is absolutely beautiful. The walking trails, mountain views, city views, and wildlife are amazing. We received kind service from the employees.

Management policies are a problem. We selected this property only because price was so far below other properties in the area. This was our second stay at this property over a holiday weekend and the last stay was not good. The resort packs the holiday weekends with activities for all ages. That is loud and it can be fun. My experience though is that the management team enforces extremely strict policies about accessing the resort and about bringing guests or anything else onto the resort. I get where they are coming from - their rates are well below market for a property so nice and with all of the partying there is a risk that people will get one room then bring 20 people onto the property. That said - there needs to be some reason in how the policies are enforced. Case in point - we frequently visit family in Tucson. At check-in I asked if my 80 year old mother in law could join us at the pool to watch the kids swim. We would buy drinks and snacks at the pool and then enjoy a meal together on the property after swimming. I could not even finish my explanation before the front desk person said the word, "no" three times. No - guests are $25 minimum per day. I tried to explain that we will purchase food and beverage from the property and my 80 year old mother in law won't be swimming. "No, absolutely not", "no exceptions".

This experience is consistent with our experience a few years ago. So - we swam at my mother in law's condo complex and ate all meals in town all three days. The resort easily threw away $300 in Food and Beverage revenue for their policy. The resort management really drags down the entire experience to the point where we will pay an extra $25-$30 per night to stay at the Westward Look or Ventana Canyon on future visits.

Room Tip: Be careful with the stand alone casitas. During our visit a few years ago the air conditioning went...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience imposed during your recent visit with us. We are sorry that our policy on guests did not meet your needs and you chose to go off property to swim and dine. Your comments will be shared with our operational team so that we can improve our policies and better serve our guests in the future.
If you have further comments or feedback, feel free to contact our Director of Operations at 520-544-5000.
Sincerely,
Lori
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed twice at the resort within a months time. First was a business trip. Made me want to come back and share with my granddaughter. What a blast we had! At nine years old she was in awe of the beauty of the mountains in the horizon, the beautiful grounds, all the activities for the kids and the fact that the bar tender kept her filled with Shirley Temples. She made me promise to not only make this a family vacation once a year.... but twice. It was so relaxing for both of us. Service was outstanding. Rooms were immaculate. So affordable for the quality of service that we received.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Mary~

I am pleased to hear that you and your granddaughter enjoyed your stay at our resort. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Lori
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Conquistador has been in place for a long time and it has not changed much. The casitas could use a bit of upgrading - -but they are still nice. You can feed the quail in the morning from your porch. The big pool is noisy. The only real negative is the parking situation at the casitas. There is almost enough parking far from the casitas, and poor parking near the casitas. On holiday week ends the hotel is a bit noisy. The bar is very good - -but pricey. They did not make up our room until 4:30 for two days. But -- overall -- it is still one of the best places to stay in Tucson.

Room Tip: Go tp El Charro for dinner -- one of the best Mexican places in Tucson. On Oracle about 2 miles fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, AZ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great resort. Very clean, nice and spacious rooms. The pool area is awesome, and they have daily activities if you have kids. We had a family reunion, and you can't beat the low summer rates. Had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Address: 10000 North Oracle Road, Tucson, AZ 85704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#22 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.