We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   810 E. Benson Hwy., Tucson, AZ 85713 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Crowley, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 4 days about a week ago. It was a good enough place to stay. Here are the pros and cons : )

Pros:
The rooms were clean.
There were no issues with the water.
Air Conditioner was awesome! The only problem was that when we would return to the room at night, it smelled kinda gross. Like my husband just ripped a big one! But it was nice and cool so we just dealt with it. Much like I do at home : (.
Decent Rates
The area was very quiet.
Wal-mart was like a mile away.
The staff was very nice. The night shift guy looked annoyed all the time lol... I guess he was having some bad nights!
They kept the outside as well as the insides very clean.
The housekeeping staff were very polite and nice.
The rooms have refrigerators, which was nice.

Cons:
The shower was only a shower, no tub. So when we used it, there was water all over the floor and almost fell.
The toilet kept getting clogged. When I went to the front office to let them know, they gave me a plunger and had to unclog the toilet myself. I couldn't put any toilet paper in it whatsoever because it would clog up every time.
The furniture looked old and run down.
There are no hairdryers, had to go buy one at Wal-mart
There are no irons.
The carpet felt sticky, so I didn't want to walk around barefoot.
The shower walls have no place for you to put your shampoos and soap on so we had to set them on the floor. It was kind of weird.
The breakfast was very minimal. Some bananas, apples, packaged sweet bread, and instant oatmeal. That was it, oh! and coffee. Which was decent.
They do not have microwaves in the room. If you want one, you have to pay extra. They do have one in the lobby though.

Mind you for the price, expect the bare minimums. If you are needing an iron or hairdryer, make sure you bring one from home.

Overall it was a good stay. If we come by again, we would be okay with staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us. Thanks also for all the positive remarks. I will speak with our night auditor. He is usually easy going and helpful. I will try to look up your room so we can deal with it. I need to move up on my priority list a shelf for the showers. We do have quite a few rooms with hair dryers and we have them to borrow as well. Like the microwave, it's a deposit that is refunded. We also have irons and small boards to borrow. I am so sorry you had to buy ones. I promise to post a large sign in the front about the items we have. We also have amenities like tooth brushes, etc. if you forgot them and we need a sign to inform our guests. Good comments. I appreciate them. I will let housekeeping and maintenance know you noticed their hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
22
17
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We came to Tucson during Spring Break and this motel was great. The rooms are clean and the WiFi worked well plus they had coffee and a breakfast area where my wife could hang out part of one day while I went to Pima Air Museum with my son - it gave her a break to relax. They also have a nice pool where my son was able to swim two times which is a nice bonus as most other places on the west coast are too cold to swim in in March. We will stay here the next time we come to Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks so much for responding and your wonderful rating. I will let my staff know. They work hard and it's so nice for them to get the feedback. Thanks for choosing ABVI Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
237 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

the room was nice and clean, with a fridge but no microwave and 20 channel tv. there was a microwave and computer in the lobby to use. breakfast included oatmeal and fruit and coffee and juice. it was a quiet place to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks for choosing Americas Best Value Inn. We appreciate your taking your time to review us. The staff works hard to make your stay the "best value" we can make it. We are glad you agree. Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,Illinois
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

As our third stay during the annual Rock/Jewelry show we were again pleased. WiFi was very good, breakfast served from 6-10 am is minimal and all help were friendly and caring. While most Tucson hotels triple their prices during the Rock show this establishment keeps a reasonable rate and the rooms are, as always, very clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thanks so much, we sincerely appreciate your kind comments. I will tell our staff! They work very hard to make every guest's stay exceed their expectations. We look forward to your next trip to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was our fifth stay and as usual a clean comfortable room at a good price. Our only complaint is the variable quality of the wi-fi, we were in a room at the back of the motel and it just wouldn't connect .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks so much for taking your time to let us know how your stay was. We will begin work on the internet next month. We are working with Cox to increase our bandwidth by 2.5 times. After that is done we will evaluate our equipment. We just expanded to the whole property and have had some issues. We have been so full we feel that is part of the problem. When it slows down a bit it seems to not have issues. We of course want it to function well at all occupancy levels. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The rooms were clean and the owner and workers were very, very nice and helpful. The room had a stand up shower, which was fine for us, but if you want a bathtub, you should look elsewhere. Also, breakfast is very minimal and is only available from 6 - 8 a.m., so if you are a late riser, you will miss breakfast. The biggest problem with this hotel is their wifi/internet service. It is extremely slow, and often won't work at all. During mid-day, it is slow but tolerable, but by early evening, when many people are in the rooms and trying to use the internet, it takes forever to try to load anything and often is too slow to load at all - it is worse than dial up used to be.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks for the review and your positive comments. I am terribly sorry about our WiFi. We just expanded it Dec. 2013 to all our rooms & added new equipment. We are getting the property re-wired to further expand our cable TV and will also increase our bandwidth by 250%. If that doesn't do the job we will look at upgrading the new equipment. Breakfast was kept open till 9am after a few comments. I am sorry you didn't get the word. Gem Show is so much busier than normal (we ran 100% all this last week) it does strain our infrastructure on occasion. This year, internet seemed to be the main comment during that busy week. Within the next month or two, even this should be corrected. Thanks again for taking your time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The price was great. Actually about half of what I'm used to paying for a hotel.

The room was clean & everything worked fine.

It was noisy--kind of normal for a motel in this class. It seems there was a group of high school kids travelling together for a school function. There were doors slamming and some loud talking in the parking lot at various hours of the night (not the motel's fault, really). I was actually a bit worried about security in the morning with all those big, tough-looking kids hanging around with nothing to do....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to review us. The group was in for a short stay. Please accept my apology for their noise. We weren't successful in keeping them as quiet as we would have liked and will consider this the next time we are approached about a group of this type. We think we provide a good value and work at improving the property on a regular basis. We will keep your review in mind. Again, thanks for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 810 E. Benson Hwy., Tucson, AZ 85713 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value with large, clean, comfortable rooms! Easy access off Interstate 10. Less than 5mi. to the U of A, downtown Tucson and the airport. We are even closer to the VA, Tucson Electric Park, Costco and the Rodeo grounds. We recently remodeled our bathrooms; granite counter tops and showers plus re-carpeted 25% of our rooms. Free high speed wireless internet, 3 HBO channels, desks and a business center for your business needs. We feature a large grassy pool area with a 40 ft. crystal clear heated swimming pool. We have two guest laundries, free coffee and danish served every morning. We are minutes from Reid Park/Hi Corbett Field complex, Desert Diamond Casino, Saguaro National Park, Old Tucson, the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum and Pima Air and Space Museum. American owned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.