We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Clean, and Good Enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   810 E. Benson Hwy., Tucson, AZ 85713 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheap, Clean, and Good Enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through Tucson on our way from California to New Mexico on a Friday night. We booked this hotel through Hotwire for around $30 a night, so we weren't expecting a whole lot. We arrived, and the room smelled of smoke. The desk attendant gave us a new one, with no issues. The room we got next was very clean and exceeded expectations. We traveled for 3 weeks from MA to CA and back, and this was one of the nicest rooms we encountered. For the cheap price, it was definitely worth it. The other clientele were a little iffy, but no one bothered us and we never felt unsafe. The hotel was located in close proximity to the highway, Sagaro NP, Casino Del Sol, and many restaurants, so that also a plus. Overall, a fantastic stay at a great price!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your choosing ABVI Tucson. Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we are doing. We are working on solving our problem with guests smoking on occasion in our non-smoking rooms. We deep clean these after these incidents. I am happy we were able to exceed your expectations. That is our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
19
15
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall, this place isn't bad. It really is a good value. The front desk employees were very nice. They didn't find our reservation, which was a little disconcerting but they had rooms so it worked out. They gave us a handicapped room which was weird because neither my husband nor I are handicapped. The room was clean, but it had a musty-type odor to it. The bed wasn't too hard and we got a good rest. It was quiet. Breakfast was very pretty lacking. Basically, if you're looking for a decent place for a good value, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we are doing. Value is our middle name! First let me thank you for your kind words about our front desk. They are really trying to take care of our guests. We really like to provide a nice, clean and comfortable room. I personally apologize about our breakfast. We are limited by the health laws and our facility. Without some major renovation we can't add too much more. We have added fruit and oatmeal. We offer the danish, coffee and orange juice. I will discuss this again with the owner. I also don't know why you were given an ADA room? I will ask. We have had some issues with our reservation system which were technical. I hope this has been resolved. Again, thank you for your comments. We take them seriously and will make adjustments to improve our service and our value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was my 1st trip to Tucson and I went with a friend for a soccer tournament at Kino Sports Complex. This was located in a really great area, easy access to the sports complex, I-10, food, everything. I loved the ease of getting around.
The room was ok, my comforter had cigarette burns which was a little uncool but something I could survive. There was a bar of soap stuck to the shower wall that was there prior to our arrival and all throughout are stay, wish they would have cleaned that. Maid service is very diligent but comes a bit early (arrives at 8 AM) so if you want to sleep in make sure you put your DND hanger out. Staff was all very nice, no real problems. This was not high end by any means but it worked for sleeping. Never did make it to the breakfast so can't say how that was.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our property. It is very convenient to many Tucson attractions and just over a mile to Tucson Electric Park. Please accept my apology for the bed spread. I will make sure housekeeping discards that one. We will be updating our bedding package with all new bedspreads this year. We just re-carpeted 25% of our rooms in late Feb. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed during gem show so the $125 we paid for a terrible room was a waste. The room was clean, but we only knew this because the entire room smelled like toilet bowl cleaner. We booked through hotels.com and when we arrived they only had smoking rooms and one handicapped non smoking. We took the handicap only to discover the joys of sleeping next to the vending machines. I felt incredibly safe (not) with a security guard with a maglite patrolling the perimeter as if he were looking for someone. The room is outdated, the bed sucked, I definitely didn't put my bare feet on the floor, and the front desk staff was slow. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for rating our cleanliness as clean, we strive to provide a clean environment. Our normal rates are a very fair value but during the Tucson Gem & Mineral Show almost all Tucson hotels are sold out. Finding a room can be a challenge. Relative to many properties during this period we are still a fair value. Booking the Gem show early is highly recommended and we offer very good rates for advance bookings for the show. I will look at our ADA rooms as I don't have your room # to check the bed. Our beds are usually rated well. If we need to change one out I will make that happen. Thanks for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Room had a unique odor. Had to go to the front desk to get the extra roll of TP. The tube TV brought back memories, but very few present day channels. The towels must be the new "green"; so small and thin it was take next to nothing to wash and dry. It was very easy to track exactly what the couple upstairs was doing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We did re-carpet 25% of our rooms after your stay. We provide value for a fair price but during the Tucson Gem & Mineral show the demand requires higher than normal rates.We apologize for the towels and TP issue. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here for the night, I just needed somewhere to crash. It was your average motel. No complaints, but nothing special. It was clean, bed was comfortable. A little bit outdated. Didn't have any of the 'breakfast', it was just bad coffee and packaged pastries.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we just changed coffee companies and are working on the breakfast adding fruit, oatmeal. I will look at the pastries again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
341 helpful votes 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our room was very good and clean, the shower worked well; the beds were very comfortable with decent bedding; the room was spacious and we had a fridge. We used the pool which is very good, surrounded by trees and lawn and with excellent seating. The breakfast, however, is awful, just buns which we couldn't ever face in the morning. Would it be too much to ask to provide some decent cereal as other places do: bran flakes, cornflakes? We bought milk and some cereal of our own, so at least we had something to eat before a 5-hour drive to El Paso. It would be worth paying a little more to have some proper food.
The staff were very friendly, everything else good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybgomez, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your very nice comments. I just took over and discussed breakfast with the owner. We are taking a hard look at this. We have switched to pastries but we still want to make it better. We also have changed coffee and are getting better response. Again, thanks for taking the time, we can't improve without guests like you responding with the good and the not so good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 810 E. Benson Hwy., Tucson, AZ 85713 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#74 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great value with large, clean, comfortable rooms! Easy access off Interstate 10. Less than 5mi. to the U of A, downtown Tucson and the airport. We are even closer to the VA, Tucson Electric Park, Costco and the Rodeo grounds. We recently remodeled our bathrooms; granite counter tops and showers plus re-carpeted 25% of our rooms. Free high speed wireless internet, 3 HBO channels, desks and a business center for your business needs. We feature a large grassy pool area with a 40 ft. crystal clear heated swimming pool. We have two guest laundries, free coffee and danish served every morning. We are minutes from Reid Park/Hi Corbett Field complex, Desert Diamond Casino, Saguaro National Park, Old Tucson, the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum and Pima Air and Space Museum. American owned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.