We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always select this property when visiting Tucson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tucson Speedway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tucson Speedway to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tucson Speedway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6477 East Speedway Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85710   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
“We always select this property when visiting Tucson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I just got off the phone reserving an overnight stay next week. In reviewing the feedback on this site I feel compelled to add my experience over the past 8 years.

We always stay at this property at Thanksgiving and Christmas while visiting family on the east side of Tucson. We select the residence inn due to the presidential or large suite option which if perfect for our family. We valuet this property due to the suite, location, quality of breakfast and staff.

Consistently the staff is positive, helpful and very accommodating. I found this to be true as I booked my reservation today directly with the property. While this is an older property with the challenges of maintenance and accumulation of many, many travelers - the staff is very willing to provide any requested linen, pillows or other materials.

The breakfast is consistently outstanding (one of the best in the chain - we also stay at the residence inn at Highland Ranch in Denver and this property does a much higher quality breakfast) and, as a previous review indicated, there a number of long time employees on this property who provide excellence service.

Given the professionalism and helpfulness of the staff, the great breakfast, perfect suites, and excellent location (for our family visit) I always select this property and expect to in the future. I am willing to overlook the maintenance issues and some housekeeping challenges. I would expect that, to remain competitive, these will be a full remodel, refurbish in the future for this property.

Room Tip: As for a room at the rear of the property if available - Speedway is a major street with some street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt S, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Greg31377,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so happy to hear how much your family has enjoyed staying with us over the past eight years. I am delighted to hear the nice comments about our breakfast, suites, location, and the service our staff provided. I am sorry to hear about the issues you have experienced from a maintenance and housekeeping standpoint and please know that these concerns will be passed along to these departments and I will follow up to ensure they are resolved to the best of our ability. Thank you so much for the business you have given us over the past eight years. We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Matt Spencer (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    42
    13
    4
    9
See reviews for
49
25
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not up to Marriott standards. Has a very run down feeling. Dirty carpet, buckeling wallpaper, grimy feeling. Not in walking distance to anything. Good location to hiking spots. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_N_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Chency,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for our property. I was sorry to hear that you had a run down feeling. We take great pride in maintaining our hotel and ensuring that our rooms are kept up to the expectations that Marriott-seasoned travelers have come to expect, we will get into the room you stayed in today and make sure to repair the items you have mentioned. Thank you for complimenting our fantastic breakfast buffet and our location near Sabino Canyon for a great hiking spot!

Sincerely,

Taylor Nintzel (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sun city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had plans for a stay at another property, only to be very unhappy with the room, hence we moved to the Residence Inn on Speedway. From the moment we checked in, we knew we were in good hands. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful, from printing out a Mapquest to one of our tourist stops, to other recommendations. We have pets, and the room next to the pet walk area was quite convienent for us. The food was also very well received.
All in all we were very pleased with our stay, and look forward to the next time we are in Tucson, to be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_N_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear SunCity1,

We are so glad to hear that we came to your rescue! The Front Desk will overjoyed to hear that you felt like you were in good hands. Our goal is always to exceed our guests’ expectations and provide the best service in town! Thank you for mentioning our pet walk area as some of your fellow travelers may not know about that fantastic amenity for pet owners traveling on business or pleasure!

We look forward to your next stay and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Sincerely,

Taylor Nintzel (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Housekeepers consistently missed things. Don't want to go into detail, it was disgusting. Also the grounds crew was loud and the exhaust smell from their equipment was bothersome. Breakfast was good, typical of a Residence inn. Parking was OK, on site and free, but fills up in the evening. Staff was slow to respond to requests (made a single request, had to remind them 4 times).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_N_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear a b,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear that things were missed during your stay. We definitely take great pride in our cleanliness and we will use this review to make sure we improve our service with more attention to detail. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, and the quiet, convenient location of the hotel.

Thank you,

Taylor Nintzel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here last week as I was relocating to Tucson for work, and I could not have been happier. The room was spacious and clean, and every interaction I had with the staff was met with a smile and "good morning", even if I was just passing them in the parking lot. The free breakfast buffet and evening reception were perfect for not having to waste a bunch of money on eating out every day, and the room even had a full kitchen if you wanted to cook yourself (not just your standard mini-fridge and microwave). All in all I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_N_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear ACherryOnTheTop,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I am delighted to hear that the hotel provided a great value. We enjoy hearing that guests love our great hot breakfast buffet and wonderful complimentary hospitality hour with 3 wine selections and 3 beer choices. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family and we wish you the best of luck with your new job, welcome to Tucson!

Sincerely,

Taylor Nintzel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel this past week while visiting the University of AZ. Upon check-in I noticed that this hotel is a licensee of Marriott not a Marriott hotel in and of itself. With that said, here are my concerns with this hotel.

1) It is in need of a outdoor facelift. By that I mean, the buildings have peeling paint, the wooden stairs are in need of refinishing and the doormats to the units need replacing.

2) The sofabed in our room had a flimsy mattress (which most sofabeds do), however, the bedding for this sofabed was crammed into a plastic bag which included a heavy woolish material mattress pad. My daughter did not use this mattress pad because it was too heavy and hot so for the three nights she slept on it, it was uncomfortable for her. The powder room is in need of an update too. The wall paper was peeling in our suite and it is too small and cramped.

3) The bill I received had the wrong room charges. I brought this to the attention of the desk clerk and she would not change the rate even though I had an email from Marriott confirming the rate I was to pay. I had to enlist the Supervisor to get this changed. This should not happen. The desk clerk should have taken my email and made the necessary adjustment. The Supervisor did make the change to the rate I was quoted. I will be checking my credit card bill to ensure the charges are correct.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_N_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear 447Judyc,

Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay. I am certainly sorry to hear that you that you were disappointed with your stay. The sofa linen is stored in the closet in a sealed bag so that you are assured the cleanliness and freshness of the contents. I will address with our team as you mentioned it may not have been presentable.

I am also sorry to hear about the billing confusion, please contact me directly: Taylor.Nintzel@hhg-hotels.com or 520-721-0991 if the correction does not show on your credit card properly.

Thank you,

Taylor Nintzel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Tucson for almost 15 years to this hotel. We chose it based on proximity to family and the saftiness of the area. We oringinally found the hotel due to a medical surgery and continued to stay here every year after. We feel as if they are extended family and this includes the whole staff. They are friendly cheerful and call us by name. We enjoy the breakfast and happy hour. The dinner acts as our light supper. The staff is very accommodating and very quick to assist. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. It is a great value for my dollar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor_N_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Jean,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. As the new General Manager of the Residence Inn Tucson, it was heartwarming to see your family-like relationship with our staff. I am so happy to be part of the family here myself and I know we are all looking forward to your return stay next year!

Warm Regards,

Taylor Nintzel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.8 mi away
Residence Inn Tucson Williams Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#55 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Tucson Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#49 of 129 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Tucson Speedway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tucson Speedway

Address: 6477 East Speedway Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tucson Speedway 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Tucson, AZ hotel offers one and two bedroom suites featuring a full kitchen, work area, living room and free WiFi. Guests can enjoy an outdoor heated pool, fitness center, business center, daily breakfast and evening social. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tucson Speedway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tucson Speedway Hotel Tucson
Tucson Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.