We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tucson Speedway

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tucson Speedway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Tucson Speedway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6477 East Speedway Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85710   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #60 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good stay and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My family and I stayed here and overall really enjoyed the experience. Pretty sure that the hotel is an old apartment complex that has been renovated into a hotel. The hotel is divided into units, with about four rooms per unit. Upstairs units have no elevator, only stairs. We stayed on the first floor, and it is very similar to a studio apartment. There is a small kitchen and dining area. Small living room with fireplace and a bed just off. After reading reviews, I am guessing there are two story suites. The tv worked, but had some issues of just changing channels. There was a DVD player in the room, with a $500 notice that if removed you would be billed that cost. It was just a cheap $40 DVD player from Wal-Mart. There are two large closets, plus a small one by the front door. The contienental breakfast was pretty good, but it had a small dining area. There was also free wifi, but it was complicated to set up. The directions in the room don't follow what you have to do for actually setting it up. Also, you would either select free internet for a day, week, or month. Not sure what the point of that was. I would recommend staying here and would probably again. Not very many nice hotels on the east side of Tucson, the two best would probably be this hotel and the Hilton. However, during my visit the pricing at Hilton was absurb for just a small standard room.

Room Tip: If you hate stairs, you have to stay on the first floor! No elevators. But even so, there was an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
35
20
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Tucson has three Residence Inns - One centrally located (Williams Centre) and rated '4' stars by Marriott, while the 'Airport' and 'Speedway' rate '3' stars. We have stayed at the 'Airport', pleasant and comfortable, but it's a long way to the city centre. 'Speedway' is closer to the centre and offers easy access to all areas. It has a 'traditional' Residence Inn layout with a series of two storey buildings each with about six studios or suites, plus pools and 'playgrounds'.
It offers both studios and suites. The general state is a bit 'tired' ( Feb 2013)
There is breakfast every day and a Happy Hour Monday-Wednesday, with a light meal and a glass of wine or beer.
We have stayed at 'Speedway' several times because it's good value for cash and stretches our Marriott points also. However, we have come to accept the shortcomings.
Firstly, the housekeeping standards are not the best - fresh towels, replacement coffee and even soaps may be missing, although the room is cleaned daily and the bed made. Breakfast we found to be well catered and topped up throughout the 2 1/2 or 3 hour session, with cheery and competent staff ( the same ones for several years in our experience).
We have been less impressed by the evening Happy Hour sessions, where the offerings are meagre and the staff a bit too intrusive for our taste.
We'll almost certainly be back there in the future because of the location and the value and live with the downside.

Room Tip: Speedway Boulevard is noisy - but most of the rooms and suites are away from that main road. Air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn S, Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear gordonsapsed:

I am sorry to hear that your most recent trip to Tucson was not the best experience. We do apologize for any housekeeping mishaps that occured during your stay. We will take your feedback to heard and will do everything we can to correct the issues that you experienced. Our social hour is now being extended Monday-Thursday to offer our guests another day of meal options. Our social hour lady has been with us for 12 years and we pride our hotel on staff retention. It is not often that a social hour will go by without a sales person coming by to introduce themselves or see how our guests are doing. We like to interact with our customers as we find this gives us an edge on getting to know you. Your request for extra sundries can be noted at the front desk at check in. They can place notes in you folio or messages which will then be translated to the housekeeping department. We always welcome our past guests and hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

From the minute you arrive, you are pleased with the look of the place. Arizona quaint with modern, clean design. The service, from the front desk, food service, to housekeeping, everyone was singularly focused on making your stay a pleasant one. With little magnetized signs, you signaled housekeeping when it was okay to come in and clean; the food service help made it a point to learn the names of those dining with them, and they waited on you hand and foot. The room are spacious, well appointed, and contain all of the amenities one could wish for. Excellent, very gratifying experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Checked in at 7pm on a Sunday, were asked if we wanted an upstairs or downstairs room, said we didn't mind, but would like it away from the (very) busy street (Speedway, aptly named). Were given an upstairs room which REEKED of cigarette smoke (all the rooms were said to be non-smoking) with the dishwasher still running. Asked for a different room, were given one RIGHT on the street. Asked for one away from the street (again), were finally given a quiet room away from the street - which we could have been given at the start.

AND it took forever for the trainee to check us in. After that service was good.

On our departure our daughter left her favourite toy, a small stuffed dog - we called when we got home and realised the loss, but it was said that nothing had been turned in by housekeeping. Our fault, leaving it, of course, but ...

Breakfasts average. Would not return.

Room Tip: Avoid the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence Inn T, Manager at Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear epsc, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that was caused on your most recent trip to Tucson. Your review will help us to improve and we will work with the appropriate departments to ensure it does not happen again. We always want our guests to have an enjoyable experience and we hope to deliver that to you should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The rooms were very clean and staff was so polite. They really out due themselves on the free breakfast. They even had salsa for my eggs! It has a great pool and hot tub. The location was perfect for me as I was going to a concert down the road. The hotel arranged for a taxi. The staff made me feel at home. The rooms were roomy and had the comforts of home. A full refridgerator, stove, microwave and dishes. They even gave us free popcorn. Great price also

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here as part of "family and friends" with Marriott and are usually never disappointed with one of their properties. It was easy to get to when passing through Tucson.

All staff we met were friendly, the suite room we had was clean, and it included a full breakfast. This was one of the best we've seen, that even included breakfast burritos: sausage, the waffle maker, cereal, yogurt, fruit and baked goods.

Great value for your money!

Room Tip: We had a first floor corner room and not sure if people above us, but the night was quiet and we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was good but Leigh who is the hostess during happy hour was fantastic. She greets you with a smile and seems to warm up to everyone who attends. I think that the hotel needs to recognize her as the employee of the month. Great people are sometimes hard and she made our night enjoyable...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tucson Speedway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tucson Speedway

Address: 6477 East Speedway Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tucson Speedway 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tucson Speedway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tucson Speedway Hotel Tucson
Tucson Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tucson Speedway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.