We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit ghetto..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Airport North to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Airport North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5251 South Julian Drive, Tucson, AZ 85706 (Formerly Palo Verde Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #95 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A bit ghetto..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We got a good price but you get what you pay for. The ceilings in our room were water damage therefore the room smelled a little like mildew. The first set of keys we were given did not work, instead of fixing the card keys we were given another room on the opposite
side of the complex. So we had to carry our bags and babies all the way over
there. I wasn't asked for ID, card, nothing the attendent pretty much took my word for it. The beds were very comfortable in our room. Bathroom had stains but was clean. This place needs an update. No fridge in room or trash cans for some reason. Be wary of the event center next door, there was loud music late into the night

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank binx224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Everything in this hotel is so dated. The carpet is disgusting, the heater was from the 70's with no thermostat, the mattresses were so thin and they only put 2 sheets and a blanket barely thicker than a sheet. The TV was ancient, the phone in the room didn't work, and the alarm kept making crazy noises even when turned off. The lamp shades were gross, old, and broken. We stayed for the gem show and was originally told $120 a night! Not worth more than $39.99 a night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank truart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We had 5 rooms total. Mine was the only one with a few issues. The house keepers were great, as well as Mr.George the maintenance man, and so were the new owners. I loved to see the dedication they put in to turn this hotel around. My suite needed several updates. When i alerted management about the issues they took it seriously. The new owners told me they were updating and remodeling everything to get this property back into top shape. I completely understand that and loved the fact that they cared so much about each customer s stay. Our carpet was dirty so they immediately had it cleaned and fixed other problems. Sweet people and great rooms for great price. I look forward to see the complete transformation next year when we stay there. Keep up the hard work and great customers service. See y'all next time around. Thank you so much for the pleasent stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank loveyounitesall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

It looked ok when we drove up at night. When we got to the room, we realized how run-down it was and poorly kepts. Were we not so tired from a long day of driving, we never would have asked for our money back and found somewhere else to stay. The room was dingy. The lock on the door did not work. The toilet wouldn't flush. I could go on. This was easily the worst quality hotel (or even hostel) I've stayed at in the USA.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As one reviewer commented, the place looks ok from the outside, but the rooms are terrible. Filthy carpet, bedskirts with frayed bottoms and big holes in them, sheets with holes placed directly on bare mattresses. The entire room shook whenever our door shut. Right around the corner from our room was a laundry/maintenance room with a pile of old, broken down tables and--no joke--an old toilet piled up in the entryway. I'd say the breakfast was something out of Dr. Seuss, but the eggs were gray AND green. The waffle iron was filthy--every waffle I made came out with black stuff stuck all over it. No milk, no butter, no oatmeal, not even the English muffins, mini-muffins, cheap donuts that are the stock motel breakfast. It's been two days and every time I feel the tiniest itch, I start imagining it's some kind of souvenir "critter" from the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Were it not for the lateness of the hour and the proximity to Interstate 10, this would never have our choice. While it looks reasonably good from the outside and in the lobby, this Quality Inn is rundown and poorly kept. Can't say that it was dirty but the wear and tear of the furniture, fixtures and interior would make it seem so. Not a good experience. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the one memorable feature of our visit.

The Inn recently changed hands and is due for a makeover. In the meantime, the management at Quality Inns corporate would do well to see what their good name is attached to.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HotRodHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I struggle with rating this hotel because some aspects are very good, but some are way below expectations. While my room was clearly old and lacked upkeep (stains on the bathroom counter, really outdated fixtures, worn carpeting), it was spotless. There was no wifi (or ethernet cables in the room, so I couldn't check the port in the telephone), the TV only had 10ish working channels and the A/C sounded like a vacuum cleaner. At the same time, the sheets were clean, and the mattress was BRAND NEW and extremely comfortable. All of the rooms have an exterior entrance and an private patio on the interior courtyard/pool area, which was surprisingly pleasant and well kept. Breakfast was plentiful (I appeared to be the only one there) and the staff was friendly, though appeared inexperienced. Overall, for a clean bed for a night when all you want to do is sleep, this was a great deal. If I had been traveling on business and needed internet access or wanted to watch TV, it would have been awful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmoenck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.6 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Tucson - Butterfield Drive
0.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Airport
Clarion Inn Airport
#98 of 131 in Tucson
3.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#91 of 131 in Tucson
3.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn Tucson Airport
Quality Inn Tucson Airport
#88 of 131 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Tucson Airport
Days Inn Tucson Airport
#90 of 131 in Tucson
3.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Airport North

Address: 5251 South Julian Drive, Tucson, AZ 85706 (Formerly Palo Verde Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 131 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-friendly, pet-friendly, free WiFi, free parking, complimentary airport shuttle, new renovations description = The newly renovated Palo Verde Inn & Suites is an authentic Southwestern, adobe-style hotel in Tucson, Arizona nestled among native Palo Verde trees and saguaro cactus. We are centrally located to all Tucson area attractions and the business district--minutes away from Tucson International Airport (TUS), downtown Tucson, University of Arizona, and Davis-Monthan Air Force Base. Whether traveling for business or leisure, the Palo Verde Inn & Suites is the perfect location to enjoy genuine Southwestern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palo Verde Hotel Tucson
Palo Verde Inn And Suites
Palo Verde Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing