We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need an update, a major one...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Airport North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Airport North to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Airport North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5251 South Julian Drive, Tucson, AZ 85706 (Formerly Palo Verde Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #114 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Need an update, a major one...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a big elephant which is getting old. Rooms need remodeling, however, the bed was not bad and it was clean. Bathrooms are old, boxy tv, old carpets and it seemed there was no one else in this humongous place...little scary. Somehow the pictures look nice on the website but in reality it has potential if renovated. The from desk guy was friendly but was constantly on his cell phone talking in Spanish and would ask them to hold and help you...he was friendly but...
Breakfast was not good compare to other quality inn we have stayed. The business center computer did not work. Pool looked fine but we did not use it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    11
    20
    45
See reviews for
22
22
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This property is in transition to a Quality Inn, nothing on this stay was quality.
No housekeeping on second day (staff said that none of them showed up)
No attempt was made to notify us! Just walk into an unservice room.
Ask for replacements towels. Only large bath towels were available and
nothing else. (Wanted us to move to another room to have clean towels??)
They did rob towels from another room, a couple of hours later when we
ask for other towels. Despite a nice breakfast on the first morning, second
morning was like a morgue, nothing there and no one around. NO waffles,
NO bagels, NO scrambled eggs, nothing but two cereal choices. NOT even a
spoon to eat the cereal with.
Granted a hotel in rehab mode is understandable but Normal Operations and
Service is what we pay for. Even wrote on their bill, it was paid for in protest
for lack of service and ask for a small rebate accordingly. Never heard one word from
management. Period! Other choices in available in the area.

Room Tip: Hopefully, Quality Inns will step in and improve Management and instill service. Until then...look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Apparently a recent addition to the chain, this motel is an old large complex in need of renovation. The rooms are average size, beds are old and thin, but still comfortable. Breakfast is included and its the usual make your own with waffles, yogurt, Danish, cereal, etc. staff are friendly and try to be helpful where they can. If you are on a tight budget, this will be fine. Right off hwy 10, it's easy access on and off ramp.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stayed here while attending a friend's wedding at the Hotel Congress. After reading numerous reviews of how loud it was downtown (particularly at the Congress) I decided to use some Choice Points to reserve a room here.

Well they got the quiet part right. I'm not certain, but I think I was one of maybe 10 people staying at the entire hotel. The room itself was "clean" but it was musty, and during the 2 days / 1 night I was at the hotel, I got a nasty cough (I don't even have allergies) from being in the room. The water came out a little brown at first from the taps, but this is of course bound to happen with almost any faucet that hasn't been turned on in a while. The TV was old and of pretty poor quality.

As other reviewers have said, the hotel itself is on the older side and really could use some renovation. Not sure how they would afford that with such a low occupancy. The hotel is situated roughly between the airport and downtown. For your dining pleasure, there is an Arbys and McDonald's across the street - the hotel "restraunt" was closed for all I could tell. Even if it was open, it looked so sketchy I'm not sure I'd want to eat anything that came out of it.

I've stayed in worse, but I've also stayed in MUCH better. Maybe request a room that has been recently occupied or cleaned before booking here. My guess is they rent out the room that's been sitting the longest first in order to try and cycle them, but wow, must have been a long time since someone slept in the one I was in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
318 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Although the room was quiet, it was clearly worn out.
The bed was all lumpy and uncomfortable and appears to be as timely as the 70s decor in the room.
This place is just worn out, and in bad need of repair and restoration.
Although 'functional' the room and amenities were barely acceptable for a stay here. Unfortunately we had booked 2 nights and it made it worse to stay here the additional night.
The breakfast is barely that, instant egg sandwiches from Costco to heat in the microwave...thin coffee (barely brown), and a very limited assortment of rolls (mostly Costco sweet rolls and bread slices).
The restaurant on site it closed so you'll have to find somewhere else to eat.
The hot tub had 'black' water in it...I'm not kidding, it had a black tinge to it...I couldn't imagine what it was but judging from the rest of this place it was probably corrosion from the piping system.
The hotel staff was nice enough, but they obviously didn't have much to work with. I asked about the WiFi and was given the "maybe it'll work, maybe it won't" story...in my room (183) it did work, but very slow.
This place used to be the Palo Verde Inn (according to the desk staff) and is in the process of being renovated (couldn't convince me of that, I didn't see anything being worked on). The sign out front was covered by a cloth Comfort Inn & Suites sign...
I can't recommend this place unless you have absolutely no where else to stay and don't mind the run down conditions.

Room Tip: Go to a different motel or ask to have a room in the main building, not one of the sections they cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not sure what all the negative reviews are about... I've stayed here twice and found it to be quite acceptable, especially for the low price that I paid for my room. This is a good place to stay if you are traveling with a pet (although there is a $10 fee for pets).

Pros:
-clean room
-breakfast included
-pet friendly
-hot tub
-very affordable
-easy access to airport, I-10 freeway, AMARG/Boneyard area and Pima Air Museum

Cons:
-wireless internet didn't work
-bathtub was a bit dirty and didn't have a plug for the drain
-phone in my room wasn't hooked up.

The hot tub in the main pool area was out of service during my stay, which was initially a disappointment - until I walked over to the other side of the complex (across the parking lot) and found a secluded second hot tub that was much larger and nicer than the one in the main area!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I Had poor service and the run arounds from staff there from March 18-20th 2012.

This hotel had NO WIFI CONNECTION, STAFF are RUDE. Towel rack was falling out from the wall. No working light bulbs. The heater was blowing out cold air every 2 hours. Plus, My reservation was in a week in advice for a SMOKING ROOM and they put my family and i in the wrong room. The HOTEL staff DOES NOT take responsibility for they're mistakes AT ALL.


Nothing has been resolved to refund my money.

PLZ..
NO ONE TAKE A CHANCE ON THIS HOTEL. Not worth the pain and money.

Room Tip: Don't take a chance on this hotel. I did and i wish i didn't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Airport North

Address: 5251 South Julian Drive, Tucson, AZ 85706 (Formerly Palo Verde Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites Airport North 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-friendly, pet-friendly, free WiFi, free parking, complimentary airport shuttle, new renovations description = The newly renovated Palo Verde Inn & Suites is an authentic Southwestern, adobe-style hotel in Tucson, Arizona nestled among native Palo Verde trees and saguaro cactus. We are centrally located to all Tucson area attractions and the business district--minutes away from Tucson International Airport (TUS), downtown Tucson, University of Arizona, and Davis-Monthan Air Force Base. Whether traveling for business or leisure, the Palo Verde Inn & Suites is the perfect location to enjoy genuine Southwestern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palo Verde Hotel Tucson
Palo Verde Inn And Suites
Palo Verde Tucson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Airport North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.