We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place to stay in Tucson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Hills Casitas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mission Hills Casitas to your Saves list
Mission Hills Casitas
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5251 East Mission Hills Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nicest place to stay in Tucson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

'Hidden gem' may be an overused phrase, but I can't think of a better one for this place - I've lived in Tucson on & off for 32 years & I've never met a fellow Tucsonan who has heard of Mission Hill Casitas. It's barely advertised within Tucson - I think it's more of an internet search treasure. Anyway, we stayed there Labor Day 2007. It being the tail end of summer in the Az. desert, we basically had the whole place to ourselves - I think there was only one other unit occupied a couple rows up. Even management was gone for the holiday weekend, which was nice. So quiet. Of course, there was a number you could call if you needed anything. This is a group of 38 townhomes tucked away in the desert at the top of gated Skyline Country Club - 'old school foothills'. They look to have been constructed possibly in the late 60s, which is nice - mature vegetation & thick brick walls. You can choose different suite configurations depending on your needs. Since we were right under the wire to still get killer summer rates, we chose a 2-bedroom, 2-bath unit (I believe it was Cholla 3&4). It had a full kitchen, extremely well stocked with every imaginable item, a comfy living room with sliders to the balcony, and the main bedroom also had sliders out to its own balcony. You cannot possibly ask for better views of Tucson, better desert surroundings, more peace & quiet, or more genteel, classic southwestern luxury. Most of the time we spent out on the spacious balcony, either in the hot tub, having tea & reading at the table, or just endlessly staring at the incredible view from one of the chaises. Our units were on the very bottom row, which meant they were among the most unobstructed, but they were also closest to the tennis courts - but for the most part, the court noise was muffled & unobtrusive. At night the city lights view, night air & subtle desert sounds were so perfect that I slept on the balcony part of the time! There are nice (but hilly) neighborhood walks. For $10 each we got to go over & use the contry club fitness facilities. The pool is enormous - for my money, best pool views of any resort in Tucson - and we had it all to ourselves. The whole place felt like another, better world & it was with regret that we descended back to the comparatively noisy, humdrum 'flatlands' of town when our stay was over. And writing this makes me hungry to go back soon! Aside from Cholla 3/4, the next best-view units would be Palo Verde 7/8 & then Ocotillo 7/8 (see property map on their website).

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

What a great spot! private casitas on the grounds of a private and gated country club. Guests have full use of the country club which has great dining, golf, tennis on clay courts, pool, and first class exercise facility all at the club guest rates. The views from manzanita 3&4 are amazing looking down on the city from up in the mountains! This is a refined and not your normal golf etc. hustle getaway. I would highly recommend it to anyone who likes a country club environment with great accomodations.
The condo was great and felt like my own home.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

At first we were not going to make this reservation because of the two-day minimum stay, but after checking some other options we picked up on this place. We were delighted and opted to stay three nights.

We stayed in an Ocotillo Suite with an amazing view of Tucson. This place is in the foothills of the Catalina Mountains and is at the top of a gated golf community, with quick access to great restaurants and shopping centers.

Spotless and quiet. My wife loved the hummingbirds that whizzed about the deck.

  • Liked — seclusion and the view
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2005

This is a very lovely complex amidst spectacular Tucson homes. The scenery is exceptional. The access to the Skyline Club is a bonus. The views of the entire valley by day and especially by night are wonderful. Great birding right from the balcony. Suites are clean, attractive and very comfortable. A really great destination!

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2005

Wonderful, relaxing, quite getaway! We love staying at the Casitas year after year. The country club benefits are a plus, since we love to play golf! Check them out, they are a hidden treasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
1.8 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.0 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Hills Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Hills Casitas

Address: 5251 East Mission Hills Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mission Hills Casitas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These unique Casitas are individually owned and furnished Townhomes with GREAT views of the Tucson Skyline form your own private patio. Nestled up in Skyline Country Club with privledges to the Private Country Club to Swim, play Golf, Tennis or even work out in the fitness Center! We offer Housekeeping, Basic Cable, free local and long distance phone service. Full kitchens for longer stays then just a night! But most of all these offer peace and quiet, when you just need to get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Mission Hills Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Hills Casitas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.