We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay after your wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Perfect place to stay after your wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Loews in a king-bedroom overlooking the city after our wedding this past weekend. It was very romantic, and everything was literally perfect! The staff is so friendly and helpful, the restaurant is great (live band too), we had the hot tub to ourselves, the rooms are spacious and the huge tub in the bathroom is unbelievable!

We paid $144 a night for the prepaid price, self-parking was free and the restaurant prices were reasonable.

This hotel is definitely a 5-star.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    333
    100
    49
    27
See reviews for
305
518
62
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

This was our second stay here, and there was a noticeable difference in service from 2009. Front desk staff looked and acted like newbies, very young, inexperienced and rude to us on checkin. We were paying full rate for 6 nights or a 1-week stay and expected a room nicer than what we had, a king bed regular room, no balcony. Housekeeping staff seemed overwhelmed but by tipping them in person $5/day our room was cleaned before noon. The dining room in the main building has been closed, leaving guests to choose between the Flying J or the bar - Flying J is still very good, and there are good restaurants within 20-30 minutes drive from the hotel. The hotel had several convention groups staying there, obviously paying less than we were, but also straining staff's ability to provide everything for them and people like us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safford, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Since it is summer time and very hot in Tucson we decided to go the Priceline route for the Lowes Ventano Canyon Resort. We had stayed here about 10 years ago for a convention and paid full price for the room. That time my stay was fine. But....this time right when I walked up to the front desk and gave my name I was greeted with" Oh, you are a Priceline customer! I replyed, "Yes, I am." The clerk said, "Then you are going to have to fill out this paperwork and we are going to charge your Visa card $100 for incidentals. What you don't spend we will refund." I replied, that would be fine. I was asked if we needed an honor bar key and I stated no, we don't drink. The couple next to us was given tons of information on what was going on at the resort, what time dinner was served, about the entertainment etc. I was only handed my key. The room we were given couldn't have been further away from the lobby and the parking lot. There is only one entrance to the rooms and that is through the lobby. We were quite concerned with fire safety at that point as well. Our room was very warm when we arrived, we turned the air conditioner to 70 degrees and left for dinner expecting the room to cool down by the time we returned. The room remained at 80 degrees throughout the night. It was very hard to sleep with it being so warm. The next morning I notified the desk that the air needed to be checked. We left for the day and it was repaired by that evening. During our stay there we had internet service one day and rented a movie one day. No other incidentals were charged. However on check out day I received an email with charges for 61.50. There was a extra $36.00 charge on the bill. When my husband called the office, they told him we had bought a bottle of wine from the honor bar. Funny thing since we didn't have a key to the honor bar and don't drink. When we brought that fact up to the desk clerk the charge was removed. We found the staff to be very unfriendly our whole stay. LaPaloma down the street is much nicer. And much less expensive. I would not reccomend Venatana Canyon Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed here for a summer conference and I can honestly say that the service at Loews VC is second to none....every single staff member from the housekeeping staff to the banquet servers asked each and every time they saw me " How is your stay and what can I do for you?" . The rooms were spotless, the grounds immaculate, the food at the conference and the Flying V, the Lobby Bar and Room Service was wonderful. The workout facility was great! The resort is a Tucson Gem!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northport, n y
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Not the most luxurious hotel but it has some great features...great kids club.....nice pool...Flying V was delicious and romantic for sunset....great location to get to parks-not secluded at all..........basically acceptable for the price

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Ventana Canyon Resort is "as advertised" (this being our highest compliment). There were no surprises and we found everything to be top-notch.
However, it was the staff that made our honeymoon special. Their cheeriness was not faked; they truly like their jobs and, more important, they enjoyed working with their customers. Each of them found a way to offer us even more service and more kindness.
Staying there in the first week of June, it was quiet enough for us to get to know several staff members. We will always remember the easy-going Nick, the pool attendant who is studying to be a director. And Angela, our favourite waitress who has two degrees and a lifetime ahead of her, but, for now, she is really enjoying working in the lounge with her friends. Then there is Victoria, the elegant and passionately helpful concierge, who is equally passionate about the Wildcats' chances in the Women's College World Series that weekend. And there was Peter, the Bell Captain who handled some frustrating travel arrangements for us with more grace than I ever could have managed.
For those who have heard of high prices in the restaurants, do not worry: the portions are huge, and the staff gladly offered us two plates and arranged the food in such a way that you would never know we were sharing ... and we still couldn't finish those tremendously delicious meals.
We were concerned at first that there was no way to recycle our garbage, but it was explained to us that guests do not have to sort recyclables ... all of this is done for us.
As for the location, we were truly impressed that the resort blended so well with the beautiful mountains and desert. Indeed, it offered tribute to the nature with lots of signage and detailed displays to be enjoyed everywhere we turned.
We enjoyed a "perfect" honeymoon here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed with our dog and 2 year old. A nice but very dog friendly hotel. They even have a room service menu for dogs that has steak on it. Hiked ventana canyon which is right off the back of the hotel. Beautiful. Saguaros are in full bloom right now. We ate every meal at the hotel and were not disappointed. The last night while we ate dinner outside they played the movie Up poolside and had tons of snacks, popcorn, and sodas set up.
During the day at the pool the staff was very attentive. They even passed out ice cream and granitas periodically. I had stayed here years ago for a conference and always wanted to come back. It is very relaxing and a beautiful setting.
My only complaints are that there are only 2 elevators in the hotel. Depending on where your room is this can get annoying. (especially with a toddler and a dog!) The 9 dollar charge for parking is a bit excessive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.