We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!!!!!! As long as your not going on a budget.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Save Saved
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Palmyra, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!!!!!! As long as your not going on a budget.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

My wife, kids and in-laws stayed and really enjoyed the stay. The service was incredible and the suites with the sky line views were very nice. The Flying V restaurant on premises was incredible. The trails are awesome, as well as the pond and waterfall especially at night and just the whole setting was well worth it. Only thing as it is a very nice place ther was a weddings with lots of people and a business convention, so it was crouded at one point but really it was so worth it. We will definately be staying there again!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just don't go with the thinking of a budget etc.. and get shocked when you check out. You pay for what you get which I consider it top notch service. Well done Loews we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    751
    283
    91
    47
    25
See reviews for
257
442
47
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

When my family pulled up to the curb in front of the hotel, a man instantly opened the doors to let us out. The man was very friendly and told us were the check-in desk was. The doorman then opened the door to the hotel and we walked up to the desk. Check-in went smoothly except for one thing. They said: "Due to the 4th of July Weekend high occupancy, we are unable to give a refrigerator. We will though, be able to deliver you a fridge later during your stay". That made me made, mainly because I specifically I badly need one during reservations, plus, we checked in on that Friday at almost exactly check-in time, so it couldn't have been from the weekend! Our room was large and had a giant patio that looked out upon the saguaro cacti, flat faced prickly pears, and other plants. Outside, you can also hear owls hooting. The bed was very comfy, and the bathroom was gigantic. It had a small TV which didn't have all the welcome to the Loews Ven... stuff. The bathtub, I swear, was the largest I have ever seen in my life! One con about the room though, was that the TV remote wasn't always working. You had to clearly point it to the television and hope that it went through. The room was also very clean. If you want to go to the only 5 diamond restaurant in Tucson, only 5 diamond southwestern cuisine restaurant in the world, and you came in the summer, your out of luck! They close in the summer, because not enough people come then! I though that that was kind of cheesy, but the prices were through the roof! The Cascade Lounge had very decent food for a very reasonable price. They also have themes every few nights, such as movie night or what not. The Flying V Bar and Grill was also good. It was more expensive, but nicer food! Try the burger! We didn't have time to go to Bill's Grill, but it looked good. Canyon Cafe had very good food, but was very expensive. And after a long day's touring, you may want to swim in the huge hotel pool, play tennis, play basketball, play croquet, or play table tennis as the sunset goes down. They never delivered our fridge, and at check-out, we were especially angry when the bell boy wouldn't let us take the luggage cart! He HAD to do it! He took it to our room and wanted to take it IN the room until we created an excuse. Then he wanted to wait for us, until we finished loading, so he can take it to our car! We said, it will be a while, so he left and told us to call the bellboys to bring it to our car! Ya right! I would highly suggest this hotel if you want to relax a lot, eat a lot ($100 food credit for 3+ nights/$50 food credit for 2 nights), and discover a lot.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darke Co. Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

A wonderful place to stay and a great value during their 'offseason".
The staff could not have been any friendlier or more helpful, the grounds remind you of a nature preserve.
The room was very nice and well cleaned, all in all a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

The people at Loews in Tucson certainly know how to run a hotel. Their customer service is the best I have ever experienced at any hotel/motel/resort I have stayed at in my entire life. I seriously can't recall a time I was treated with such respect at any other resort. Pick up the phone to call down for the car it was always Yes Mr. Burchaski how can we help you Mr. Burchaski, certainly Mr. burchaski, do you need fdirections Mr. Burchaski? It was amazing service. Dennis got our bags for us showing us all of the features of the resort on our first few minutes there. The normal Valet (who I forgot his name I think but I am almost positive it was George) would greet us with a smile, get the doors, ask where we were going, and just was extremely friendly. This guy was absolutely amazing.

The rooms are gorgeous, nice and large with a super comfortable king size bed, a loveseat, desk, chair and an nice patio with a wonderful view of the mountain. The bathroom has a small flat screen which was a bit over the top but I used it! The tub...the tub...the tub...you seriously could fit a family of 4 into the tub. My wife loved it. It was just another one of those amazing things you just don't think about.

The grounds were beautiful. The landscaping made you feel like you were miles away from the city and everyone. The Window Trail was a great way to start out the morning and gaze at the beautiful waterfall. The pools were clean and refreshing. The waterfall pool was really neat but wow is that water cold! Perfect for a quick dip after hiking in 100 degree weather.

The dining options really didn't want to make you leave the resort. The Flying V was amazing as was Bill's poolside where Edmundo was by far one of the best servers we ever had. Both had the best Guacamole too! Actually better than all of the places we ate at in the area outside the resort. We only caught a couple of drinks at the Cascade room, but cocktails, live entertainment and the big screen how can you go wrong?

Would I stay here again? Absolutely 100% YES. Loews knows how to treat their guests. I just wish I had more time to do all the fun stuff around the area. This location is perfect. There are things to do for the whole family 5 minutes away or at most 30 minutes away if you want to hit the casino.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We live close to Tucson and a weekend at Loews Ventana Canyon is just a nice local weekend treat for my family. The way that Priceline "Name Your Own Price" is set up, if you select a resort hotel in this part of Tucson, you will always get Loews Ventana Canyon as it's the only one (careful not to select 4-star, or you might get The Lodge next door, which charges a $25 per day resort fee and has no facilities unless you like golf), and we usually pay around $60-$70 per night.
As another reviewer said, they do nickel and dime you (charging for parking etc.), but other than that this is my absolute favorite hotel, the setting is just so beautiful, the pools are great, the nature walk and waterfall are charming, the food is good and reasonably priced for a good hotel, the rooms are really nice, all in all you leave feeling pampered and happy but it's not snobbish in the least (my pet hate) which is more than you can say for The Lodge next door.

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed 5 days here. I thought the rooms were very comfortable and appropriate. The housekeeping was very good. I was surprised at 2 things at Lowes. One, no turn down service. Two, while they had a mini bar, they didn't offer the key at check-in. We didn't bother going down to ask for it, I just found it rather odd. They do have $6 water bottles. I bought at a local grocery and kept it in the room. The pool looked lovely but we didn't use it, nor any of the restaurants, because we had a list of favorites from a local. I did use the spa, which was very nice, although the masseuse was a bit hurried in the treatment. The treatment was in the middle of the day, and they are open till 8:00PM. The grill overlooking the golf course is a very nice feature for a late dinner (sunset) or evening drinks- which we did take advantage of.
There was no resort scheduled activites, or if there was, there was no mention, or daily newsletter. We had planned outings everyday, so we wouldn't have participated. So, if you are planning on Lowes for entertainment, don't. So, I find it difficult to call it a resort. More of a nice upscale hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

Our room had a view of the golf course - which I highly recommend. The staff was absolutely fabulous - from check-in to bartenders - everyone was very friendly and made sure we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.