We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel, scenic location near Mt. Lemmon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Save Saved
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel, scenic location near Mt. Lemmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We found this hotel by chance on a quick overnight trip to Tucson. Its located in a pretty area just north of the city and has great views of the city and surrounding mountains. Our room was really nice, and backed on to desert and mountain views. We could even see the waterfall from our patio. Great bathroom - the bathtub was HUGE. Coffee maker was a single serve Keurig - much better than the usual hotel coffee. The prices are also very reasonable...I would have expected to pay double
The grounds of the hotel have several little walking paths which are illuminated at night.
The hotel is located near the Catalina Hwy which leads to Mount Lemmon (which was the purpose of our trip) so it would be handy if you are planning to go skiing for the day, or it also makes a nice day trip in the summer since the temps are much cooler up there. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel, and would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    751
    283
    91
    47
    25
See reviews for
257
442
47
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

I accompanied my husband to a conference here. The hotel is beautiful all around with great views, a very beautiful decor throughout. The lounge area near the lobby is nice with comfy sitting areas and some tasty cocktails. Our room was amongst those facing the desert mountain, beautiful view with private balcony and a small waterfall in the distance, apparently powered by the hotel giving a nice effect outside our balcony... there's a sitting area and desk in room with bed angled ...bedding was lightweight.. mattress ok nothing great..TV moved out and swiveled for easy viewing..a huge square tub(not jetted)... room enough for 2 people...An odd thing was the one glass shower door?? hard to position right to keep water off the floor..huge fluffy towels..his and her robes available in closet.The hotel had a wonderful spa where we enjoyed some pampering services. There are golf and hiking trails.....Concierge services were very friendly and helpful about areas of interest in Tucson. Food at the poolside restaurant and grill was especially good with beautiful view of mountain and pool area.. 2 pools temperature controlled. There's a crochet area that can be seen from the lounge lobby area...nice shops for clothing, souvenirs, and necessities.. spacious meeting and conference areas...pretty much everything you need with staff that was polite, friendly and attentive to every need.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

So, the weather was perfect. The accommodations could not be faulted. Nice pool. Nicer poolside beverages. The concierge and support staff were helpful, helpful, helpful. And the location could not be beat -- right up against the national forest -- a great trail leads up Ventana Canyon right from the parking lot and the Sabino Canyon, #3 thing to do, is three miles away. As others have written, they nickel and dime you a bit (internet and work out facilities) and it is expensive, but what do you expect? If you are a Loews First member (level Blue, whatever that is), they comp the work-out facilities and give you late check out and, if available, a room upgrade. I have had my share of miserable experiences at 4 star or 5 star resorts and my wife loves them (especially the Four Seasons), and I really do hate them for the most part, but this one I liked a great deal. I was traveling with two toddlers and it was a safe, fun place to spend some leisure time with the family. And, I was even able to recharge my batteries a bit, which I am told is the whole point of a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, s.c.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Not much not to like here. Great lounge, pools, wild areas, bathrooms, beds Would recommend and come again

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

The resort has nice common spaces and large rooms. It looks new. My room had a bed area, a separate seating area, a desk area, and a foyer. The bathroom was very nice with large tub. The only issue was that the room made a whistling noise occasionally and it started to drive me a bit crazy. another guest told me this could be solved by turning off the thermostat - but what if one wants to use the thermostat? There was an easy hike from the hotel with pretty views, and we also enjoyed the hot tub. They set up a fantastic buffet lunch for us outside our meeting room. Overall, I had a great time and I enjoyed the resort. The staff was professional and the overall experience excellent

  • Liked — large room wiith beautiful bathroom
  • Disliked — whistling noise in room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott_Man
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel a few months ago while visiting family in Tucson. It is in one of the nicer areas of Tucson which is a big plus. This hotel is very spread out and mostly is open-air. When we stayed here we brought along our two cocker spaniels, which was a treat for them. This hotel pays special attention to animals, and ours were greeted with "gift baskets" including assorted treats, a "tag" and a bowl. Our room was quite spacious and included a couch and chair in addition to two beds. The bathroom was a real highpoint too, it included a 5' by 5' shower/tub combo. The tub was definitely the way to go however. The pool was very crowded the whole time we were there so we only went once at night, the hot tub was very nice however with its waterfall, however it was far too hot for that. Overall we had a very nice stay, and play to again!

  • Liked — The large room, the bathroom and the special attention to pets
  • Disliked — The walking paths you had to take around the resort in which we encountered a rattlesnake
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

This was our second stay at Ventana Canyon Resort, and we were not disapointed. We were greeted warmly by the desk staff and the bell man who assisted us with our luggage was personable and very helpful. The room was lushly finished with extra pillows and quilts, and the bathroom was spotlessly clean with superb offerings. The roll-away bed was in place and made up to use immediately. Calls to the desk staff for a new mini-bar key were answered promptly, and cordially.
The surrounding landscaping was thick with cacti and palm trees, all adorned with lights for the holiday. Our view from the balcony in our room was spectacular; the city of Tucson at night.
We did not know about the Christmas day brunch, which we found was sold out, but the staff offered us a reservation anyways, saying they would be happy to accomadate us. The food was excellent, although our only meal at the resort.
We had a very early flight to return home, and were leaving at 4am, but the bell staff promptly and cheerfully assisted us with our luggage.

  • Liked — the location and excellence of the services provided
  • Disliked — had to pay for wireless internet
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.