We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorktown, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great place for a family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have been here before and the hotel has stood the test of time - it's still great. (maybe it needs some minor tweaks, but those don't detract). Memorial Day weekend and the place was packed and the entire staff was up to the task. Everything - service, food, facilities and organized acivities took place without a hitch. Be sure to catch the evening stargazing program - absolutely worth it. The food and service was excellent in every restaurant and at poolside, special kudos to the Flying V. Don't tell anyone about serenity pool - keep it to yourself.

Room Tip: Chose your view - a city view is dramatic but I like the mountain view looking west. Great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    369
    118
    60
    30
See reviews for
354
569
71
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Loews Ventana Canyon was wonderful. Andrea worked with me ahead of time to be sure that my family's needs were met. We had 6 rooms, to include a suite for gatherings. We also had some special aspects to deal with (elderly family members). Andrea was so kind and helped book the rooms ahead of time so that everything worked out great. We had a couple of blips at the beginning, but everyone was as kind and gracious as could be. The rooms were clean and nice and were quiet! I highly recommend Loews for your family trips. Oh, and don't miss the brunch on Sunday - fabulous. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Mountain views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My family and I made the bi-annual trek out to Tucson for extended family and this trip decided to stay at Ventana Canyon. I went to school back in the day at UofA and remember when this was built. The Architecture and site are quite pleasing - it sits in the desert comfortably and has spectacular views. The interiors are a little dated, but perfectly fine. They're really only relevant while prepping to get back outside, although the beds were quite comfortable and waking to sit on the terrace and look up at the mountains was a joy.

The vistas from the pool and outdoor dining are exquisite as well.

We made much use of the pool (all of us up and in as soon as it opened every morning) and enjoyed breakfast (surprisingly good for a hotel) daily. Back to the room to prepare for a quick hike. Perfect way to start a day.

Great place to come back to after running around all day. We had a room that was on an upper floor and as far up north as possible - as a result, the hikes to and from dining, etc. were long, but again - it's beautiful.

Have stayed at most of the luxury properties and spas in Tucson and yes, there are fancier, more lux offerings to be had, but Ventana hits all the right notes for a reasonable price. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Upper Floor with Northwest facing views. Go for the long walk and get one far from check-in. Totally...
See more room tips
Green Features: Liked their green initiatives, but one anomaly are tubs in the room that are 60"x72"x24". We only use them as showers, but kind of weird to have something with the capacity for an immense volume of water in the desert. Go figure.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for taking a few moments to share your recent experience at Loews Ventana Canyon with us on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and were able to relax poolside and enjoy our beautiful desert surroundings during your stay. I appreciate your comments and I hope to welcome you back to visit us again after the resort undergoes a complete refresh this summer!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A very nice property with terrific views, wonderful grounds and a lovely natural setting. The hotel itself is getting along in years, and the corridors and some public spaces need sprucing up, but overall, the restaurants, bar, lobby, pool area are fabulous. The "V" restaurant has terrific food. The only complaint I had was the lack of any casual dining on site for those evenings when a formal restaurant is not desired. My wife and I found the resort full of conferences, but that was not a problem at all because of the fact that we had the place mostly to ourselves for most every day. We tended to go off site to some wonderful restaurants in Tuscan that were close and more affordable. Overall, the experience was fabulous and Tuscan is a wonderful city with a lot to see and do. Countless natural wonders, and the desert at its most beautiful time. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Take a City view. You can't see anything in the desert at night--the desert side may be a litt...
See more room tips
Green Features: Seems to be recycled, water conservation, and suggested environmental practices in every room.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for joining us recently at Loews Ventana Canyon. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay and that you were able to enjoy the many amenities available both on property and nearby. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon after the resort undergoes a complete refresh this summer!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a surprise birthday trip planned by my boyfriend and it was amazing. Great location, close to hiking, restaurants and even downtown Tucson. The room was great and so was the pool area. There were very few food options: a cafe, lounge and restaurant -- all had small menus and high prices (but it's what I'd expect of a resort) We ordered pizza one night and it was super easy and no judgement -- which I love. Not much to do in Tucson other than chill at the resort!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! I am so pleased to hear what a fantastic visit you and your boyfriend has with us recently at Loews Ventana Canyon to celebrate your birthday, and I appreciate you taking a few moments of your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Happy Birthday once again from all of us at Loews Ventana Canyon and I hope to welcome you back to visit us again very soon.

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We decided to spend a long weekend in Tucson to include a stay at Leows Ventana Canyon. I had stayed at this resort years ago and remember the overall experience being exemplary. We arrived on a Friday night and had difficulty parking at the entrance to check in. There were no baggage attendants present, and a long line to check in. Once we checked in, we were instructed to park over close to our room at the east parking lot. While we entered on a second floor entrance, I noticed this entrance area was in bad shape. It was dirty, the tiles in the area we're pulled up and the area looked tired. The room was nice and the view was good but rather than looking over the lake, city and mountains, we looked over a parking lot. Also, the rooms need to be rewired to assist it all of today's charging issues. The property is nice, the restaurant service was good but this property is not operating at the level that you would expect from a Leows property. I beleive today you could probably find a higher standard at another resort in Tucson.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies that we were unable to fully meet your expectations during your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. I have messaged you privately to learn more about your experience so that we can continue to improve the overall experience our guests receive and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again in the future.

Derek McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

As a local we decided to celebrate our anniversary/start of summer here over memorial weekend. It was busy and we couldn't get a chair at the pool (put our name on a list, by 4:30 we gave up and swam, piling our belongings in a corner) we also picked up our meals from local restaurants as the onsight restaurants are too expensive for families ($30 a person poolside bbq/$42 person for brunch...our children don't eat enough to justify spending that much!) needless to say we piled up a bit of takeout trash in our room, by 3 the next day our room had not been cleaned! We ended up putting our trash on the balcony, didn't want to call the front desk because we weren't sure how long we would be in the room (on the waiting list again for a poolside chair). Overall I think I would rather drive to Phoenix, many more family friendly options in newer hotels with better prices on food and amenities.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for taking the time to share your comments with us from your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. We strive to provide the highest levels of service to our guests and I sincerely apologize that we were unable to fully meet your expectations and to deliver the quality of service that we are known for. Your feedback is very important to me and I have messaged you privately to further discuss your experience. Thank you again and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again in the future.

Derek McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.