We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4th of July weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Kids Under 5 Eat For Free
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great 4th of July weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have now made Ventana Canyon a yearly family event on the 4th of July. The location is wonderful and the events that are planned are fabulous. This year our trip was made extra special due to outstanding service provided by Oscar. He truly made our stay more pleasant by his smile, politeness and genuine concern for us. He attempted to assist us in any way whenever we had questions.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! I am so happy to hear that joining us for our annual 4th of July festivities has become a favorite family event and that Oscar was able to make your recent visit even more memorable! Your comments are very much appreciated and I will personally share your kind words with Oscar and his supervisor so that he may be recognized for the outstanding service he provided you with. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Loews Ventana Canyon again very soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    356
    113
    57
    28
See reviews for
325
553
68
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff at this resort is welcoming, polite and determined to be of service to you. They are positive and helpful, and make your stay more than you could ask for. The shower/tub is amazing and easy to access, the towels are both full and soft. The room stayed clean for the five days I was there. The attention toward children and their needs was wonderful ( I did not have any with me, but was impressed).

Wait staff at restaurants was amazing, and smiled and remembered you as you were in other parts of the facility. Plan on going back!

Room Tip: Many views - pool, waterfall, mountains - no really poor views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon and found our Team Members to be welcoming, polite, and very helpful! Your comments are much appreciated and I thank you for taking a few moments to share them with us on TripAdvisor! It sounds like you had an amazing time and I sincerely hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon at Loews Ventana Canyon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Impeccable, warm, and helpful service. Extremely clean. Wonderful pool, grounds. Unique atmosphere. Truly a great 4 days. I know this review sounds over the top, but it was truly a great experience. I highly recommend this resort to anyone considering staying there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for spending four wonderful days with us recently at Loews Ventana Canyon! It sounds like you had a great stay and I am very pleased to hear that you found the service from our Team Members to be impeccable, warm, and helpful! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, az
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

wife and i did a quick 2 day getaway (from phoenix), and being it is summer in the desert and we are just up the road in phoenix, i really didn't expect to be too impressed. i was WRONG. great property in beautiful setting. much nature on and just off the property including a waterfall behind the property coming down the canyon wall. plenty of desert flora, birds, lizards and even bats harmlessly fluttering about. this is a higher end resort, so be prepared to pay for the extras like an $8.00 bottle of water in the room which is about a buck at walmart and about a 50 dollar bill for two for breakfast (it was tasty though). restaurants on property with plenty of eating options not to far away, but you may never want to leave the pool area!

Room Tip: we asked for a quite room on the upper floor and ended up with quite a walk from the main lobby. bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Loews Ventana Canyon on TripAdvisor! I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay, and were able to experience our beautiful desert surroundings. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon the next time you are in Tucson!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I go to a lot of resort destinations, my wife would describe me as a travel snob... This resort has staff that are truly amazing at customer care, not just service as each of them seem to go out of their way to make you feel like you are their only guest and that they truly care about you and your stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! Our goal is to provide the best service possible to each of our valued hotel guests, and I am thrilled to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. I will certainly share your kind words with the team, and we look forward to your next visit to Loews Ventana Canyon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We visited on a holiday weekend, a large group of us flying in from the East coast. We were given a wonderful room facing the pool and mountain side where we could just make out the waterfall. Our room was spacious and featured a beautiful shower and huge tub! Such a spacious shower deserves at least two shower heads, don't you think? Lots of plush towels were provided and sheets were soft. Sometimes even at luxury resorts, I find the sheets to be scratchy but these were very nice. Housekeeping and the front desk were very courteous and attentive, even in the early hours. They also brought up a mini fridge at my request.

My family and I enjoyed the beautiful grounds, taking several early morning walks around the paved trails and enjoying all of the singing birds flying around. So many hummingbirds! If you're a wildlife lover, you'll be pleased at this family-friendly resort. Everywhere we turned we saw various birds, lizards, butterflies and well fed koi. During the weekend, there were weddings and bands playing at the hotel which we could hear very loudly through our hotel room. We could also hear kids screaming from the pool. Serves us right for staying during a holiday? Next time you plan to stay during a weekend, you are better off calling the hotel to make sure there aren't too many weddings and reunions going on. The week days and nights were much more pleasant and peaceful. A little tip: there is a hiking trail head you can access on the left side parking lot (as you face the hotel).

One more note - we dined at the Canyon Cafe which should be a separate review. It was hit or miss on the dishes. Breakfast was delicious but lunchtime tacos were bland.

Room Tip: Mountain view, away from ballroom/conference rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Loews Ventana Canyon on TripAdvisor! I’m glad to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy the grounds, and the natural beauty of the desert. We strive to create a relaxing environment for each of our guests and I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. Your feedback is truly appreciated, and I hope you will be back to enjoy Loews Ventana Canyon on your next trip.

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I have never considered staying anywhere but at Miraval when in Tucson. However, after my last stay at Miraval in 2011, they told me I was no longer welcome there because I had written a 3 star review. Miraval suggested that I seek another destination resort. Best advice they ever gave me! LOVED Loews Ventana Canyon Resort so much more ( if it's okay to say that) Here is why I loved it so much more than M...... The spa at Loews is excellent. One of the best massages I ever had (ask for Omar). So good I booked another one for the next day and made sure my friend booked one with him too. You get a bottle of Fiji water after your massage. They really pay attention to every detail. I have stayed at many spa resorts and at best they give you a cup of water. The grounds at Loews are beautiful and there are so many more exquisite hiking trails there not to mention you are a stone's throw away from Sabino Canyon. The staff is very attentive and genuinely friendly. Nothing pretentious about this place. My view of the mountain and waterfall was spectacular. A little ground squirrel came to visit with me in the morning! It was the 4th of July and Loew's really put on a great show! We had our own fire works, cotton candy, snowcones, popcorn, the works! I am sure all this was for the kids, but the grown-ups got in on the action too! If you don't want kids around, no worries, there is a serenity pool for 18 and over right behind the spa. Loew's thinks of everything! I spent half of what I would have at Miraval and got so much more for the money. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask if could have a view of the waterfall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful TripAdvisor review! I am very pleased to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon and were able to enjoy many of the excellent amenities offered over the holiday weekend! I very much appreciate you taking the time to share your comments from your recent trip with us on TripAdvisor and will personally share your kind words with Omar and his supervisor at the Lakeside Spa! Again, thank you very much and I look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.