We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Happy with the resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a wonderful anniversary vacation at the property. From the staff at every service level, to the waterfall trail, to the observation deck to dinner at the Flying V and drinks, lunch and breakfast at all the other on-site restaurants, every meal and drink was great! The junior suite was a wonderful size for our holiday and afforded us great mountain views. Would certainly stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

Green Features: State of the art. Built in 1984, it lead the industry in ecological site design.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review and for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us at Loews Ventana Canyon! I am thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time during your stay and were able to relax and enjoy your special time together! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again very soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    365
    114
    59
    30
See reviews for
343
560
69
357
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Loews Ventana Canyon is in a beautiful, natural location. We did a golf package and aside from a very slow round of golf (Canyon course) it was all very good. The golf course was very nice and fun to play. The room was spacious, quiet and had a great bed. All sort of understated pretty.

Room Tip: Room at the back take a while to get to but are very quiet - so if you like quiet that is a great lo...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is built into the canyon and seems to have an emphasis on the natural environment.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your TripAdvisor review and for choosing to stay with us recently at Loews Ventana Canyon! It sounds like you had a wonderful visit and were able to enjoy our Tom Fazio championship golf courses as well as the beautiful desert surroundings! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Fatah was a fantastic server. He went above and beyond our expectations by giving great service. On our annual safari banquet dinner to Tucson, AZ, I was pleased to find the service so great. This server deserves a promotion!
susan tattoo

Green Features: A/C temperature set to save energy Indoor temperature set at a minimum of 72 F during the summer
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! I am thrilled to hear that you found the service Fatah provided you during your annual safari banquet dinner service to be truly fantastic and worthy of mentioning him by name in your review! I will be sure to share your kind words with Fatah and his supervisor personally regarding the outstanding service he provided you during your annual banquet so that he may be recognized for his hard work and wonderful customer service! I thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again very soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Loews Ventana Canyon for four nights in May, 2014 and were very impressed. The hotel is striking, and the grounds are beautiful. The landscaping and gardening staff do an amazing job. We appreciated the close attention to protecting the environment. The service was excellent, and the food was exceptional and reasonably priced. The staff (Victoria, the concierge; Debbie, a breakfast server; Naomi and Adam by the pool; Maria at the Flying V) were terrific. The housekeeping likewise was excellent. The room was good (not exceptional), but there was so much to do we did not linger in it. The flowers and gardens, the hike to/from the waterfall, the koi in the ponds, and the overall good vibe of the hotel and its staff exceeded expectations. We have stayed at several Capella properties, and from the resort's website, I had a thought that the pool/pool area and perhaps even the hotel itself might be dated-- not so.The resort-arranged limousine service was terrific; Louis and Marshall were dependable and safe drivers, and Louis was quite a character. They drove us to the Arizona-Sonoran Desert Museum (excellent); the sculptures of desert creatures at the entrance by Tuscon sculptor Mark Rossi are impressive. We arranged a trip to his studio; Mark was gracious, and we purchased several of his bronze pieces. The Tuscon Botanical Garden was good but not as good as I had expected. The Pima Air Force Museum and Hall of Fame is a must-see. When we wanted to drive to (and from) Sabino Canyon, the bell captain immediately and graciously drove us there in an immaculate Tahoe and gave us his cellphone number for an immediate pickup; this can-do attitude was typical of the employees.
In summary, this is an exceptional resort, obviously well-managed, and staffed by professional and skilled employees. I look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Keep the fan on the A/C on; if you don't, the A/C's cycling on/ff will disturb a light sleep...
See more room tips
Green Features: The architects did a great job nestling the property on the site. The signs along the easy hike to the waterfall outline the care taken to be environmentally responsible-- Kudos to the Tisch family for their leadership in this regard.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Wow!! Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review! I am truly pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon and found our staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and professional! It sounds like you had a great time while in Tucson and were able to experience many of the excellent attractions around the city including Sabino Canyon, the Arizona-Sonora Desert and Pima Air & Space Museums! It would be my sincerest pleasure to share your incredibly kind words with each of the Team Members mentioned by name in your review as well as our entire staff! Thank you again for your amazing TripAdvisor review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again very soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I had asked a question on the forum trying to compare the Westin to Loew's and was met with a 50-50 response-so we picked Loew's. The setting is absolutely gorgeous with architecture that fit in so well with the terrain. The pool was great, the Flying V was excellent, and the personalized service was over and above what one would expect. We usually stay in small boutique hotels. Yet even with its large size, I would stay here again. One other compliment: We asked for our room to be made up and turned down in the evening.(this is not done as a matter of course)When we returned to our room, nothing had been done. I called the front desk and they sent fresh towels up immediately. At 11 in the evening ,we didn't want more done. Upon check-out they deducted $50 from our bill. Now, thats care!. We would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon and the way the property was intentionally build around the natural surroundings to avoid taking anything away from the beautiful desert landscape! It sounds like you had an excellent time and experienced nothing but the highest level of personalized service from our Team Members! I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations, but I am glad that our talented team was able to swiftly recognize the error on our part and rectify the situation! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Great service and food. Lots of birds and plants in a natural setting. Has a waterfall (supplemental pumping in the dry season) and great venues for private events.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! It sounds like you had a wonderful time while staying with us on business at Loews Ventana Canyon and were able to enjoy the many nature trails throughout our property as well as our beautiful 80-ft waterfall! Your comments are very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Loews Ventana Canyon again soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the resort many times. This May we happened to stay on the weekend UofA graduated. The hotel was booked but we still had a great time. We went to the beer barbecue and the Sunday Brunch. The food and staff were wonderful. We also had a great time at the Flying V. The guacamole is a sure thing to order.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek M, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for once again choosing to stay with us at Loews Ventana Canyon! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and experienced nothing but the highest quality food and customer service over the busy UofA graduation weekend! We are extremely lucky to have Executive Chef Ken Harvey and his talented team with us creating outstanding culinary events like our Beer Garden BBQ Dinners and our award winning Blues, Brews & BBQ Brunch, and it sounds like you were able to enjoy both during your recent visit! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Derek H McCann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TravelClick, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.