We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Save Saved
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Birds & Bees Package
Ranked #7 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful location and very friendly staff. We booked a standard room through Hotels.com and was promptly upgraded to a luxury room with mountain view free of charge and without request. The view from the probate patio was stunning. The bathtub was almost the size of a hot tub. Our only "complaint" (if you can even call it that), was with the pillows. They were too firm for our taste. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    662
    258
    87
    47
    25
See reviews for
237
403
44
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Only stayed one night at this facility. It was a surprise how nice the rooms and surroundings were. The room was modern, clean and spacious. The bath tub was large enough for 4 very large people to bath. I have seen smaller hot tubs. The pool area and lobby were very extensively decorated with stone and seasonal themes. The paved pathways above the hotel were paved and much of the flora and fauna are illustrated on placards place along the walkways. No breakfast included but down the road is a Whole Foods that serves a great breakfast with a nice outdoor eating area. Also close to Sabino National Recreation Area which makes for a great hike or run at sunrise.

Room Tip: Many good rooms in the hills above the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This resort is beautiful, and in a great location. My husband and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary while on our first trip to Tucson. There is lots to explore close by (the concierge, Pam, offered great suggestions based on our likes and dislikes), or plenty of relaxation options available at one of two pools or at the spa. The service was overall, hands-down, the best we have received in recent memory -- from the front desk, to the servers, to the gift shop staff! We enjoyed the food at the Flying V and Canyon Cafe and appreciated being greeted by name. Our servers were quick to offer dining suggestions, and were very focused on making sure we had a pleasant dining experience. We enjoyed coffee on our balcony each morning, as the view was beautiful and peaceful. We look forward to returning to this resort, as well as using other Loews resorts for future travel.

Room Tip: Talk directly with the staff. They will steer you in the right direction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazenovia, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

great hotel, rooms clean, staff friendly, but it is a huge hotel and lots of walking
overall a great resort. 2 great golf courses. conference area was ample for over
250 attendees. meals were served for all attendees efficiently and were pretty good
tasting. The bar was open and enjoyable, but on the expensive side.

Room Tip: was upgraded to suite, so didn't see their standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon for the IES ALC Fall Conference and for your review on Trip Advisor. We try to create an experience for conference attendees and leisure guests alike. Again, thank you for taking time to write the review (from the perspective of a conference attendee). Please come back and see us if ever your travels bring you to Tucson.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful location, the rooms are private, quiet and clean. I stay here regularly when I am in Tucson on business. The staff is always so courteous and professional. They refer to me by name and the service is unmatched. I really enjoy using the fitness center, the restaurants and the food are exceptional. I would highly recommend this hotel and commend them on setting themselves well above the standard in their industry in taking care of their guests.

Room Tip: I always book online and it's very simple. Sometimes they run great promotions here too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your loyal patronage and for the nice comments on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your business and hope you keep coming back, to Loews Ventana Canyon. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance here in Tucson.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This must have been a great resort once upon a time but clearly needs an serious overhaul. The setting and views are outstanding and the road and entrance were gorgeous and inviting but it was all downhill from there. The refrigerator in the room ended up being a weird "cooler" with a key that looks like it was purchased at a used mini-bar sale (it even had a random typed note in it saying it wasn't cold enough to safely store dairy products). The "early american" style dresser/tv cabinet simply did not fit in and all the furniture in general screamed yard sale. The views were breathtaking and the staff really tried and were sincerely accommodating but they could only do what they could with what they had.
I'm a fan of Trip Advisor and made my reservation based on the reviews but the ratings for this Lowes were either fabricated or written in 1984. Biggest disappointment I've encountered in a long time. We were booked in for a week and checked out early. Total bummer.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We very much appreciate you recently visiting Loews Ventana Canyon. We strive to provide an outstanding customer experience for our guests and never "fabricate" a review. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I am sharing your comments with senior management. Please give us another try if your travels again bring you back to the Tucson area.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently registered for a conference that is to be scheduled in November at this hotel, i consequently called the hotel about availability and i called before the date when the allocated rooms for conference attendees would be made available to the general public. I contacted the hotel and the hotel told me that the rooms were unavailable and directed me to a hotel employee
who would wait list people and inform attendees when rooms were available. I kept calling and i was told rooms would open up i there fore waited to see if this would happen. The hotel employee
never bothered to call me ,by waiting i lost out on other properties that were close by and i may have to settle less favorable sites. I am certainly going to make this an issue with the conference organizers. I THINK THIS WHOLE PROCESS IS ABOUT MONEY OBVIOUSLY WHY
GIVE IT TO CONFERENCE AT A BARGAIN RATE WHEN YOU CAN RAKE IN MONEY FROM THE GENERAL PUBLIC

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry for your experience over sold out dates. Believe me; we would have loved to have you stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. Conference attendees are every bit as important to us as the 'general public'. The issue over these dates was simply a matter of the hotel being under departed during your preferred dates. I have shared your comments with senior management.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews
Loews Ventana
Lowes Ventana Canyon
Ventana Canyon
Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#10 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.