We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding anniversary stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Save Saved
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates as low as $89!
Ranked #4 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Outstanding anniversary stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort. We live about 8 miles from the resort and have stayed there twice but visit many times for meals and to entertain our guests. I had to reserve our standard room from a lobby phone, but then advised Wes Summer at the check-in desk of my hopes to arrange a special weekend for my wife. She is employed full time as Manager of Adult Probations Sex Offender program (the days leading up to Halloween are exceedingly busy for her and her staff of 12) and is a full time graduate student. In short order, he reserved a suite, arranged for comped champagne and chocolate strawberries, in a quiet area, and enabled us to arrive as early Saturday morning as we desired, and to leave at up to 4 o'clock Sunday afternoon. We also set up a therapeutic massage for a convenient time on Saturday afternoon. We had dinner in the Flying V, and the Hostess and our Waiter, Nick, assisted greatly in helping me surprise my wife with two gifts. We were impressed to be greeted by name in many places. Much of the rest of the time we spent relaxing by the pool where we had lunch both days. We were very impressed by our waitress, Kathleen, who even remembered our drink preferences. Her suggestions for lunch turned out to be hits. Since we live in Tucson, we appreciate having such a great place, so convenient, where we can literally get away form it all. Among the best aspects is the fact that we had only a 15 minute drive to get home after our stay. In a resort acclaimed for its efforts to blend into the environment, so wonderfully kept, it is nice to know that its setting and design is second only to the efforts of its staff.

Room Tip: Wes reserved a suite (Rm 4235) on the fourth floor at the end of the east wing. That put us as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    765
    287
    91
    47
    25
See reviews for
264
444
47
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at Loews Ventana Canyon for two nights on business - my first time in Arizona. What a great place - stunning scenery, comfortable rooms and a standard of service that really stood out. The restaurant staff in particular made this a really memorable stay.

Room Tip: don't be afraid to let your imagination run wild at breakfast - they
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the resort for a conference last week. The facility was very nice and service was excellent. Olivia at the front desk was one of the best that I have dealt with during my travels. The food at the Flying V was excellent, would have liked the restaurant to have longer hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed at the Lowes and it was one of the top 3 experiences I've ever had. Friendly staff, great food, all around great time! Loved the huge tub in the bathroom, the butterfly garden, the walk to the waterfall, the ambience in the bar/lobby, and the fact that the hotel is pet-friendly. With all the dogs around, I was able to get my doggie fix since I had to leave my own at home. I will be back, but for a vacation next time!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevators, or you might find yourself in for a long walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have stayed here many time, and it is always the same great place. The food is great, we had room service and could not believe how good it was. Tell the desk what you want and they will try to give it to you..

Room Tip: Try to get on 4th floor and join the club before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's a very nice hotel but it has a relaxed atmosphere, not stuffy at all. The service from the staff was probably the best we have ever experienced, especially from Tate at the front desk and Oscar the bellman. Our room had a lovely mountain view and overlooked the pool. Noise from the pool was not a problem for us but may be an issue other times of the year. We will definitely be staying there during future trips to Tucson.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland USA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and attended an on-site trade show. The resort is located about 30 minutes from Tucson. I rented a car but did hear the bellman quote $55 for a ride to the airport from the resort.
I was not charged for parking and internet. This may have been due to the fact that I was attending a show and staying on the property.

My room was on the 3rd floor and quite a distance from the elevator. If you have trouble getting around, make sure you ask for a room close to the elevator. Being far from the elevator also meant a hike to the ice/vending machine which is located right next to the elevator.

Room was spacious and quiet. All rooms had a nice deck with sliding glass door with screen and a couple of comfortable chairs on the deck. The room as well as the whole property was well maintained. Had two queen size beds with a nice desk to work on in between. Plenty of light and plenty of outlets. TV was 32" LCD. Keurig type coffee maker in the room which was always a challenge to do every step in order to get it to run but managed. Fridge in room meant for mini-bar and lukewarm. You need to order off a menu for the mini-bar and then it is stocked. HVAC worked well and plenty of hot water. Plenty of towels. Tons of TV channels.

Internet worked well. Everyone was pleasant. Did not golf or use pool but did walk the grounds and there is plenty to see. The whole property is maintained to be as close to the natural environment as possible.

My only complaint was the ultra thin toilet paper found both in the room and in the public bathrooms around the property. This is a first class property where they remember the little things (good lighting for example), yet the cheap out on the TP.

I would stay again in a hearbeat but bring my own TP!

Room Tip: Ask for your room to be close to the elevator if you have trouble getting around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.