We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Getaway, Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Encino, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Getaway, Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night. It's fairly remote, as it takes 25 minutes to drive from the freeway exit to the hotel. Nice resort style hotel on a large plot of desert land. Although the property is a bit older, the architecture is solid and the rooms are spacious with modern amenities. We had a problem with the TV and it took a while to resolve, but our second phone call fixed the issue quickly. The views are spectacular, night and day.

Staff is very pleasant, made us feel welcome - everyone from the valet to the restaurant service to the pool staff. The breakfast buffet was as expected, but they had an omelet station. If we ate a bit later on Sunday, we could have had the poolside BBQ brunch.

We didn't have time to check out the other parts of the property - there are other restaurants on site. I wish I had a chance to golf here, too.

The pool was nice and cool for a very hot day. No problem getting a lounge chair, towels, and water. I'm definitely coming back here. Would have easily given 5 stars if the TV issue was resolved a bit better, but I got an e-mail from their management apologizing for the lack of attention. Nobody is perfect, and I appreciate their gesture. Excellent value!

Room Tip: If you have a hard time walking distances, request a room close to the elevator. Our room was locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    333
    100
    49
    27
See reviews for
305
518
62
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We don't usually stay at 5 star hotels/resorts but this was a special birthday and I wanted it to be just that! My wife and I were very happy with our room, the setting of the hotel against the Catalina Mtns and the natural desert landscape and fauna throughout. The cascading waterfall near the restaurant overlooking the 18th green was very special too. I plan to go back and spend a few more days of pampering.

Room Tip: bring good walking shoes and treat yourselves to a stroll around the grounds, you won't be disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I took my two little girls (6yrs & 4yrs) and my parents for a weekend stay at this resort not knowing anything about it, AND it was Excellent. There are a few musts at this resort, the water fall and feeding the fish (kids loved it), the golf course and spa area were EXCELLENT. The girls were surprised and injoyed the cookies, M&Ms and milk that was set up to be sent to the room. The whole staff from top to bottom were amazing. Anytime I stay in Tucson or have friends or family that are staying in Tucson this resort will be the ONLY recommendation I have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a little get-a-way planned and very much enjoyed our stay. The associates were very helpful and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. Had a day at the spa and the atmosphere was so relaxing and the associates were very knowledgeable and friendly. Have stayed before and will stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main lobby area. You have beautiful veiws.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We did not intend to stay in Tucson, but thought we would do a few activities in Tucson after our week of vacation in Phoenix. There were however, several things we didn't want to miss in Tucson and ended up needing an extra day so a quick search on my iphone and I came up with a last minute stay at the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort. It was a great last minute price with food credit so we were tired and did not want to leave the resort. Good thing because it was pretty out of the way although you do pass a lot of restuarants and a few other resorts on the way out there. You will need a car though, if you want to leave the resort to find another venue. We arrive early afternoon and checked in no problem. The room turned out to be quite a way from the front desk but turned out after drive the car around the lot, we could park very close to the room so that was a plus. The kids went directly to the pool and we went directly to the adjacent Bill's Grill to watch them while sipping drinks and working on that food credit. They absolutely loved the pool (even though they had been in one for a week in a Phoenix resort) and we spend several hours enjoying our relaxing afternoon/early evening. We were not rushed off and the service was friendly and relaxed. We finally all went back to the room and the kids went to take showers as we adults went out to peruse the hotel in search of sweets/desserts. We ended up at the lobby bar and grill and sat down again with some coffee and listened to the live music they had, mellow and wonderful. We ordered desserts to go back to the room and the server was very good about timing it with our coffee so that they were fresh when we took them back. The kids wanted to go to the stargazing that night but I think we all fell asleep instead. It would be a nice place to return to when we come back to Tucson. Mostly they had the thing we look for most... friendly and relaxing atmosphere and professional and accurate service. They have it all at Loews Ventana Canyon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Myself and my family recently enjoyed an exceptional stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. This was our second visit to Loews and this one exceeded the first. We arrived earlier than the normal so we could enjoy the pool and had requested an early check-in which we were granted. The room/s (we reserved a suite) was fantastic. The balcony overlooked the pool and poi pond. The property is located in a beautiful location with a mountainside as its backdrop. There is a well maintained trail on the property that leads to a waterfall and is perfect for a pleasent evening stroll. On this visit we spent most of our time at the main pool where we received outstanding pool-side service from the staff of Bill's Grill. However, we did visit the lounge and the Canyon cafe where we recieved very good service and the food/drinks were excellent. The best part of the stay was treatment by all members of the staff. Every staff memeber we encounter at Loews was extremely curtious and professional, with a sincere desire in ensuring our stay was the best. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Arrive at pool early to get the best seats. Take advantage of resort events such as the evening sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My colleague and I went to this resort for a conference. Things that we enjoyed about the resort: a spacious and comfortable room with 2 double-beds and a balcony and spacious bathroom, the staff was very polite and at your service, the pool-side activities (movie night, star and planet gazing (we saw Saturn, ...), the cleaniness of the property, the landscaping, our visit to Sabino Canyon (8$ prperson for a 45-minute trolley ride), the access to a ride from the hotel to Sabino Canyon and restaurants. Things that I would have changed: more choice for restaurants, the price of alcohol beverages at the conference (10,25$ for a glass of wine), the water in our Kerig coffee maker in our room!

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view on the pool side (not on the parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.