We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thoughtfulness at every turn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Like a Local
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“thoughtfulness at every turn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is exceptionally well-run. It offers the very best of the desert's charms, and the property is beautiful. The furnishings and amenities were lovely. I never write hotel reviews, but I wanted to give this one a special commendation for being awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtfulness in being our guest and taking the time to write such a nice review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back soon. We have great summer packages available.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    376
    119
    60
    30
See reviews for
361
588
71
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Gorgeous! My only regret is that my visit was so short that I was unable to take advantage everything the resort had to offer. The rooms are a little larger than average. The decor needs to be updated. Although that could just be personal preference...Southwest decor looks dated to me. (of course, the resort is located in the southwest, quite literally in the desert, so the decor fits. I just don't like it).
The view from the balcony was breathtaking. Believe it or not, there was a waterfall in the distance. A waterfall in the desert?? Yes. Granted, it was small, but beautiful nonetheless.
Room service was quick and delicious. It was pricey, (what room service isn't?), but the portions were large.
I'm not a fan of Arizona in general, but I'm really considering going back just to stay here again. Treat yourself, you won't regret it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for your recent stay. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit to Loews Ventana Canyon, in Arizona no less. Please do come back when you can stay longer.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our local Safari Club Chapter has been holding our annual fundraiser at the Loews Ventana Canyon Resort for the last 7years and there is a reason we don't try anywhere else! Very, very knowledgeable and helpful staff starting from the Managing Director, Brian Johnson on down. We truly enjoy the entire weekend of relaxation around the pool with friends and family in between the busy times and really have no desire to look elsewhere for our fundraiser needs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Our room, while nicely appointed, lacked the knockout views of our prior stay, facing a far away parking lot, and quite a hike from the front desk, fitness center and pool. Loews, you need to work on your signage too, as we got lost 3 times, finally relying on a bellman to escort us. Top notch pool and bar service made up for this inconvenience. The restaurant, one of the area's best, prepared a delicious meal too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Native
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I would like to add to other reviews that the food and drink at this Lounge is really very good. My husband and I enjoyed immensely, my favorite dessert, flourless chocolate cake, in a very comfortable candlelit lounge. I just love this cake and am delighted that I've found a venue in Tucson that serves it. The waitress that served us, Alisha, was pleasantly attentive and her suggestion to try the vanilla, cinnamon, hazelnut whipped cream topped decaf coffee, was an excellent one. My husband said his plain black decaf was very good too. This is a nice late night place for dessert and coffee. I know I will be back for more cake!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A once top-notch resort hotel has been neglected and long, long over due for a remodeling. It's sad to see a property slide down-hill. My room during the last visit in May was "decorated" with pealing
paint above the bath tub and rusted tub stopper. Also, I requested an upgrade, but was assigned a
run-of-the-house room with the above noted problems. There was a charge for the "upgrade" which
I had reversed. This is not the sign of a four or five star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Sadly, I am disappointed in this resort. Since age 16, I have always wanted to stay here. Don't get me wrong, the grounds are beautiful, but I'm not sure worth the cost it was to stay here. They charge a fee for everything. A fee for internet, a fee for parking, a fee for the use of the gym....and, they didn't even have a wine opener or cold fridge in the room. We also were stuck in the far east wing so we had a view of shrubbery and a long walk to our room from the parking lot.

A bonus was a short running trail within the golf course. I enjoyed that a lot, especially running in the morning. Also was a quick jaunt over to the canyon for hiking.

Room Tip: Make sure you include all the added fees in your budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.