We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tired Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Beverages!
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Tired Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A once top-notch resort hotel has been neglected and long, long over due for a remodeling. It's sad to see a property slide down-hill. My room during the last visit in May was "decorated" with pealing
paint above the bath tub and rusted tub stopper. Also, I requested an upgrade, but was assigned a
run-of-the-house room with the above noted problems. There was a charge for the "upgrade" which
I had reversed. This is not the sign of a four or five star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    315
    98
    48
    28
See reviews for
295
496
59
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Sadly, I am disappointed in this resort. Since age 16, I have always wanted to stay here. Don't get me wrong, the grounds are beautiful, but I'm not sure worth the cost it was to stay here. They charge a fee for everything. A fee for internet, a fee for parking, a fee for the use of the gym....and, they didn't even have a wine opener or cold fridge in the room. We also were stuck in the far east wing so we had a view of shrubbery and a long walk to our room from the parking lot.

A bonus was a short running trail within the golf course. I enjoyed that a lot, especially running in the morning. Also was a quick jaunt over to the canyon for hiking.

Room Tip: Make sure you include all the added fees in your budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had the most unique dish while waiting for a colleague at this hotel's Cascade Lounge. "Avocado Fries" are perfectly ripe wedges of avocados, smothered in mesquite flour/tomatillo salsa, fried and served with a yummy, refreshing sauce. Very creative and equally delicious. The snack was even better with the highly professional and friendly staff. In particular, Alisha provided awesome service. Thanks for the cool experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family stayed at Loews Ventana Canyon for a weekend and had an amazing experience. The room had breathtaking views of the desert. The room was ample and elegant, the bathroom was roomy and had beautiful slate tiles. The beds were comfortable and the linens were of high quality. We then went for breakfast and enjoyed the friendly and courteous staff. They had a great selection of fruit, pastries, omelet station, bagels, lox, cereals, etc. They had very unique and exquisite fruit spreads. The bar is fun and chic and a good time is guaranteed. We loved our stay at Loews and will come back soon for another relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Loews Ventana is beautiful and my husband and I love that it is built into the nature with respect for the environment. It is also close to the Ventana Canyon trailhead which is great for hiking/running. I spent a day at the spa which had all the services an amenities you could need to help you totally relax, and behind it is the adult-only pool which is calm and where you can have room service delivered (a few more chaises would be good though). This brings me to the best part of the resort tied with the location which was the staff- everyone is friendly and provides great service. Bernadette gives a phenomenal massage and will really work on whatever issues you have. She was worth every penny and I felt like a new person. Do get 70 min or more. You won't regret it. Our server at the poolside restaurant on our first evening was Alisha Nichols. She was very attentive and made great suggestions. When the bar did not have espresso vodka to make our favorite martini, she talked to Rebecca Carlson who whipped up her own creation with on-hand ingredients and hit the nail on the head. The two were fantastic.
We only give 4/5 because of the following reasons. The room was a bit noisy from hallway traffic (even the sound of flip-flops) walking down the hall and doors closing when we were trying to sleep in for some much needed recuperation. Also, for the Memorial Day party, we felt the music going all weekend was somewhat excessive and out of character for this tranquil setting. With the acoustics of the hills, the volume could have been lower and still entertaining. Last, the room service menu was not very sophisticated- your standard fare (chicken fingers, etc). Adding a couple of exciting appetizers or salads with fresh ingredients would have classed it up and been healthier. They do have an wonderful breakfast buffet though with a lot of tasty offerings. We will be back in the future but hopefully on a quieter weekend to enjoy the peace and beauty of the locale. Overall, a great weekend at Loews Ventana.

Room Tip: We loved the second floor looking out to the mountain and waterfall. The hotel is built into the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This resort is beautiful with good food and service. One petty and tacky thing which kept us from giving them a excellent was charging for self parking of our car. Would be better if they included the charge in the room price

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have been in many resorts and spoiled by the Four Seasons level of service, for the first time ever when arriving at the hotel, we carried our own bag and luggage out of the car. Room was not vacuumed for a couple of days. Level of service here is something to be desired. WE WOULD NEVER SPEND OUR MONEY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Otel, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.