We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up in the hills paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Eat, Drink. Our Treat!
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Up in the hills paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went there for a long weekend golf trip with son. When we arrived early morning Thursday room was ready for checkin! Headed to golf course and off we went! Staff at front desk and Pro shop are very helpful and friendly. Had dinner at the Flying V and despite a small wine spill episode- food and service was also great. With two good golf courses and friendly people, it will be a return trip back to Ventana Canyon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    315
    98
    48
    26
See reviews for
295
495
59
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am still reeling from the festivities and events surrounding our recent stay in Tucson, Arizona. What a fabulous weekend it was. All the more special thanks to the great staff at Loews Ventana Canyon resort. Not only is the hotel very beautiful, set against a majestic backdrop, but the staff is so professional, so gracious. Every employee we interacted with was just wonderful, very genuine in their demeanor and comments.

I cannot begin to describe all the little details and personal touches that the team attended to which made our stay so fantastic. Please pass on to your teams, from one professional to another, “job well done”. Take pride in where you work and the people you work with. Loews Ventana Canyon resort sets the bar for the rest of us to aspire to achieve.

Room Tip: Fourth floor East wing with a city view was very special. Very large private balconies where you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our group held a retreat here in May 2013. The resort is beautiful, the staff were professional and anticipating our every need. They think of everything! Group dinner was excellent at the Flying V, Spa Services were amazing and our Jeep team building event was a great exercise for the money. We will definitely take our group back there next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

First, I must commend manger Donald Robinson. He assisted us in making arrangements for our stay, which was not for a happy occasion. He was very sensitive to our needs, and because of him we actually plan to visit more Loews properties and return to this one soon. We would also like to thank banquet server, Sean Mott, for recommending this beautiful place.The Sunday brunch was fabulous and extensive, with every food offering imaginable. We highly recommend it. Tina, our server was attentive without hovering and seemd to know just when our champagne needed refilled! Matthew and David,our pool servers were great as well. The nature walk to the waterfall and the butterfly garden were lovely, and the koi pond had the biggest and most beautiful koi we have ever seen. The grounds are meticulously kept. The outdoor fire pits at night with cocktail/food service were festive and fun. Our room had a private balcony with a great view of the infinity pond and golf course with the mountains in the background. Our room and the hotel were very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. Unfortunately we did not visit the spa this time, so I cannot comment on it. We will definitely be back soon and will stay here every time we visit Tucson!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Went for a week to the U of A graduation. Decided to stay with many parents at the Loews. The property is beautiful and well priced. The food is a bit expensive and underwhelming.

The restaurant and bar service leave MUCH to be desired. We had run in's twice with Katrina in the restaurant. Each time we came for breakfast, she would say "it would be a short wait" for a table, even though the restaurant was empty! Then she would disappear. Several times I asked her or a manager if I could clear a table ... many were empty with dirty dishes. I was told I had to wait for a staffer.

In contradistinction to this the pool servers were great, particularly Matt and Dave. They were prompt, efficient and very friendly. Matt has a smile that lights up.

Our room was cleaned adequately but the amount of dust was overwhelming. After a call to housekeeping, Curtis, the housekeeping manager came up and apologized profusely for the room ... he saw the dust balls. He told us to call him when we were out for he day and he would supervise the room cleaning. When we returned it was spotless and dust-free like a hospital room. In addition he gave us a credit on our stay for our inconvenience. He handled this so well. It's wonderful to deal with staff like Curtis. I commend him.

The night bar staff was great as well at the outdoor fire pits. Good service, excellent bar snacks & food.

All in all I would say other than the dust in the room, the flies at the pool [natures fault, LOL] and Katrina, the stay was excellent and I would return.

Room Tip: Ask for an "outdoor room" that overlooks the desert or a room overlooking the pool, both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is our favorite in Tucson. Nestled in the mountains, the scenery and golf course views are incredible. We enjoyed the restaurants, live music, ping pong table at the pool, waterfall trail, and spa. I attended a business conference and decided to stay two more nights for fun with my hubby. It was a fabulous decision to lengthen our stay!!!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room you'll want to back up to the mountain. If you want great views, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A group of Tucson locals met for dinner and drinks at the Flying V where we were given a warm greeting by the manager, Daniel Anders. He became the highlight of our evening. During his rounds he would stop by our table to check on the service and leave us rolling with laughter and wanting more. What a wonderful asset to Loews!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.