We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Best-Ever Short List” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Like a Local
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
“On the Best-Ever Short List”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The world is large and there is much to see so rarely do we ever plan on returning to a specific hotel but it's different for this one. This is now one of our favorite resorts on the planet. Besides being located in a particularly beautiful area of Tucson, everything about GM Brian Johnson's operation is superlative. Without exception, the customer service was superb. Architecturally it has the feel of a Frank Lloyd Wright structure, most all rooms seem very private, and the eco-focus means the grounds, gardens and native flora & fauna are just wonders to the senses. Loved the size of the place--large enough to be interesting on numerous levels and small enough to feel exclusive. Rooms nicely appointed and love the private balconies/areas it seems every room must have. cant imagine a better pet-friendly spot. Visited Tucson and resort for first time to celebrate our 20yr anniversary and staff went out of their way to acknowledge and make it extra-wonderful. Restaurants, pool, golf, hiking the canyon, we loved everything about everything. Cannot say enough about what a special spot this place is and we know special spots, traveling from beautiful Colorado. Thank you & see you again.

Room Tip: depends upon what you like, city/golf or mountain, patio or balcony. due to the architecture there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    383
    121
    63
    31
See reviews for
367
598
76
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eastern US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

There are some reviews......Older reviews.....That seem to emphasize the negative at this resort. Yes, it was built in 1984 and can appear dated in some small ways but it's a first class hotel and resort. Here's a tip for those who hear every noise......The room air conditioners can be adjusted to your favorite temperature and there is a "low" fan setting. It masks all sorts of distractions. The hotel is busy, conventions, weddings, golf tourists, live entertainment. It's not silent. But it was quiet enough for me and relaxing. Weekends are busy with midweeks the most serene. If your desire is great food at the "V" restaurant and the best staff imaginable then Loews will not disappoint. Be sure to attend the Sunday brunch. You HAVE to attend the Sunday brunch. I actually scheduled my trip for the brunch. Many special "events" for kids and adults. Some evenings there is a star-gazing event. I actually saw the rings of Saturn through a telescope. What resort will provide a guide with a telescope to see "the stars". There are movie nights by the pool for families with kids. Pets are welcome. Every staff member greats you with a simple "hello". During breakfast I was asked if I wanted a complimentary coffee "to go". Self parking is free and plenty of it. I can't say enough about this resort. Stay, relax, enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a "waterfall" room or pool view toward the rear of the resort. That will be in hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Not being in their league, I'm not sure what the "A" listers get but this has to be close. From check in to check out we could not have asked for more. I learned long ago (years on the road) to NEVER accept the first room you are assigned. Using that rule, as soon as we arrived in our room I complained. Sure enough, while our first assignment was superb, the second room exceeded our wishes by a wide margin. The view of the waterfalls, pool and mountains was breath-taking.Our meals were all great. Menus cover a vast array of tastes. Service was almost TOO much. We are hoping to get back there again many times. UA beinging our almamater and all.

Room Tip: Inside-pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

For many years now I had been telling my wife about this incredible hotel that I had stayed at during a business trip. For our 40th anniversary I had the opportunity to revisit the hotel and it was everything I had remembered and more. The grounds are as beautiful as anywhere we have ever stayed in this country or around the world. The staff, from the young man who brought us a gift to our room, to our waitress Alisha who was so kind and attentive to our needs, exceeded all of our expectations. Many times in life we retain an unrealistic memory concerning which reality can never meet. Not so with Loews Ventana Canyon. If anything the remembrance fell short of our incredible stay.

Room Tip: The mountain views are amazing in both the daylight and the moonlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort for a business conference. We took the cab from the airport, approximately 30 minute ride and a cost of less than $50.00.

We were pleased with the appearance of the hotel, it blends in very well with the desert surroundings. Our room was city facing and outside the door was an open walkway that had a view into the desert mountainside. Both were great views! The room was very nice and the staff was extremely accommodating. When I asked what was the chance that we could play 18 holes at the course the bellman picked up the phone in our room, called the pro shop and got us a tee time within an hour. The tub was gigantic, plenty big for more than one if you were so inclined.

The golf was wonderful, beautiful, challenging desert course. After golf we cleaned up and then enjoyed dinner at the Flying V restaurant on property. We walked in at about 8:00pm and were seated almost immediately on a Friday evening. We were very pleased with ambiance, food, and service, would highly recommend the tableside guacamole.

The next morning we took the approximate 5.0 mile roundtrip hike, literally out the back of the resort, up the mountain to Maiden Pools. Beautiful and challenging hike with spectacular scenery.

The pool area was wonderful with excellent wait staff, umbrellas, towels, misting water, Italian ice, you name it and they provided for you with a smile on their face. Drinks and food arrived quickly when ordered.

The conference area was very accommodating for our business needs.

This is the type of resort and experience that you walk away from and say "How do we get back here and how soon can we make it happen" Hats off to you Lowes Ventana Canyon, well done!!

Room Tip: 3256 was our room number and it was one of the rooms that has a city view off of the balcony and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Beautiful pool and settings with awesome desert surroundings and the majestic background of the Catalina Mountains. Bill's Grill is the outlet / restaurant that caters the main pool at Lowes Ventana Canyon. Friendly and efficient staff make this the perfect spot to relax and enjoy delicious dishes and refreching and creative cocktails with daily specials and much more. Guest at Bill's Grill can also enjoy the sunday Brunch "Blues, Brews and BBQ" along with Live music. If you stay at Loews Ventana Canyon, dont miss Bill's Grill, see for your self how this beautiful pool and awesome staff make this location feel so exclusive and down to earth.

Room Tip: Just ask, all Team Members are ready to take care of your needs so that you can relax and enjoy your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We just returned from another delightful visit from Loews Ventana. The setting is beautiful with fabulous views. The staff is most pleasant. Breakfast and lunch can be enjoyed outdoors with nice mountain views. The rooms are very nice; however, some can be quite a distance from the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
18.6 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
7.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
4.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
3.8 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
13.9 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotwire, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.