We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at it's finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Relaxation at it's finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Loews is a beautiful resort tucked into the mountains. It's a bit of a drive from the airport, but well worth it. I stayed with my wife and daughters and we all had a fantastic time. The dinners at the cafe were all very good, including the fish tacos! We also had the brunch one afternoon and it was also fantastic. So much to choose from, all of it very good and a great atmosphere to relax and enjoy. The wait staff was very accomodating and very quick about refreshing drinks.
The rooms leave a little to be desired as they look a little tired, but the mountain views more than make up for it.. The outdoor space, including the pool, and waterfall are lovely. We did go to a restaurant down the street and the concierge had all the info and was very helpful.
I also had some business to take care of and the business center was quick and easy to navigate. We will definetly be staying here again, when we come back to Tucson.

Room Tip: Both the mountain views and the City views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    333
    100
    49
    27
See reviews for
305
518
62
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights for a quick get-away and were very pleased. The location and setting for the resort are quite lovely. Rather than being built on the desert mountains, the resort is built INTO the mountains. Nice architectural design - definitely not a cookie cutter design; reminiscent of Frank Lloyed Wright styling. Great attention seems to have been paid to preserving the surrounding natural areas. The pool area is ample but became extremely over-crowded during Saturday - - not even enough chairs for us to sit there. They have nice Happy Hour specials and the food was pretty good.

Room Tip: Definitely ask about view options when checking in (city or mountain); city views might include park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

So, we needed a quiet, restful weekend sans our children. We had heard about Loews and decided to try it out. Glad we did! It is tucked in a nice area of the hills. Scenic, peaceful. Everyone is super friendly and really does go out of their way to make your stay welcoming. (minus a gal that worked the check in desk Friday evening, she didn't appear to be an extrovert) You are greeted by your name when you call the front desk, or the valet, or bell hops, and wait service
The rooms are a nice size, clean, and your typical southwest influence in the decor. Loved that their bed was super comfy and the bathtub is Huge! Each room has a 1 cup Keurig as well with coffee/tea provided.
We loved the large lounge downstairs (excellent service) and the lounge areas outdoors by the pool was nice. We even walked their trail to see the waterfall that's on their property which was bonus! We tried room service and the Flying V Bar & Grill. The food is very tasty!
I would just advise that the walls are kind of on the thin side (we could hear the tot next door crying, whining, etc..) and this resort is pet friendly - so you may hear some barking (as we did). However, we did enjoy this location very much - and hope to return in the near future. It was truly a great value/affordable resort stay. Next time..we will make sure we request a hall "without small children" however :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The resort and the views were amazing. We also ate at the resort for 4 meals and they were all wonderful, and well worth it.

One thing that stands out the most is the staff. Everyone was courteous, polite and hospitable, however one person in particular we felt went well above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. That person is Executive Chef Ken Harvey. He took time to tell us about the different restaurants, recommendations, events around the city, etc. He is down to earth, made us feel at home and an exceptional chef! He is the reason we will make this resort one of our favorites!

-Tricia & Phil F.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at Loews in a great area of the US.
The hotel was in a beautiful setting with stunning gardens and outside areas.
The hotel was kept in good condition and the decor really suited the area and architecture.
Room was a decent size with a great view, clean, well kept, and had a balcony which is great for sunny Tucson.
Enjoyed the bar and the food which was all good value and high quality.
Would have been a 5 but get annoyed when everything is extra on the bill.
For example paid for parking here, but it was in the middle of nowhere?
I tend to find the more expensive the hotel the more extras you have to pay for, how does that work out?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Chad went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. He was polite and very professional. Even before we asked he tended to our needs. There were three of . US traveling together and we all agreed he is a gold star employee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We recently (last night) got back from a 4 night stay at this beautiful resort. Every employee was beyond nice and accommodating. We had a few minor room issues that were taken care of promptly and followed up with a call from the front desk. If you can, have a Sunday brunch there. It was one of the top brunches I have ever had and, trust me, I love brunch and have been to many brunch buffets. The setting is great and close to Sabino Canyon for hiking in addition to the canyon you can walk to, Ventana Canyon. Great star gazing and my husband loved the golf. Every day there were "pool treats" which were fun. The pool and pool staff were wonderful. Really loved having all the newspapers every morning! Definitely want to go back.

Room Tip: we were on the second floor facing the pool. I would ask for a second or third floor room so even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.