We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Another great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was a very BUSY weekend and they figured out how to handle the crowds and still give great service.

I will return again whenever I am in Tucson.

golf course is in great shape also.

Do not confuse this with the Lodge At Ventana Canyon, a second rate copy of this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    331
    100
    49
    27
See reviews for
305
516
61
310
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palos Heights, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Loews Ventana Canyon for 5 nights. Getting in quite late it was a relief to have the valet, Garland, waiting for us. After an easy check-in we went over to the Flying V restaurant for a late snack. Their tableside guacamole is a MUST. The non-traditional version had kumquats chopped into it. The kitchen split a burger for us since we were not that hungry. It was the perfect end to a hectic day.
Throughout our stay we found the resort to be lively with live music, games, and pool activity. When we wanted quiet relaxation, it was easy to find. Several times we sought out the quieter pool by the tennis courts. The staff was very accommodating, bringing a mini-fridge to our room at our request. One suggestion, why not just have one in each room. Especially at a desert resort most people would want that convenience.
We will surely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pullman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The entire experience was wonderful from the valet services to the conference facilities. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious and easily temperature controlled. The food in several different serving areas was superb, a class act chef. The pool and golf facilities and personel were outstanding. We would recommend Lowes without hesitation. Visited in March. The whole staff has been expertly trained to enhance your experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just had 3 wonderful nights there for a family celebration. The pool area was wonderful and the staff was fantastic and very attentive. Great experience. The walks around the resort were awesome. So different for Florida and the golf course was amazing and very challenging. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Definitely would go back there again. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked Loews Ventana at literally the last minute for a Spring Break trip. The hotel manager was great about getting our room ready for a semi early checkin (had traveled the previous 12 hours to get here). The hotel is in a gorgeous spot at the foothills of the mountains with breathtaking views. The pool is beautiful and the service from the restaurants to the lounge/pool staff is some of the best I have ever experienced. The rooms are comfortable and each room has a private terrace. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. You cannot go wrong.

Thank you!

Michele Thompson

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your last minute stay and for taking time to write such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you found the resort to your liking and mostly that the service level was the "best" for you. Please come back again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort because my husband's business conference was there. The day we checked in, they told us that they did not have a room with a king bed even though we had requested one. So we had a room with two beds. They said they would have one available for the next evening if we would be interested in moving. We went out for dinner and came back to the room to a strong sewer smell. Luckily, the weather was nice so we had the doors open to remove the smell. The next morning, my husband called to report the smell. Maintenance checked it out and could not find anything. They offered us another room with the king bed so we took it.

If you like outdoor activities, there is a waterfall, a trail for walking and the resort is located near Sabino Canyon.

It's a drive from the city so if you want to do sight seeing, you should rent a car. They even have a Hertz office on-site.

There is an observation deck where you can look out over the city at night. We sat up there for a little while. The weather was great and it was beautiful. There are also benches around the water feature in front of the hotel. I sat out there one afternoon reading and watching the golfers.

The food at the first dinner was disappointing. The steak was overcooked and dry, I noticed quite a few people did not eat the meat. We decided to patronize local restaurants during our stay. The second meal that was provided to conference attendees was good but not anything spectacular.

Unfortunately, we did not take our laptop. The business center charges for use of the computers. However, you can print out boarding passes for no charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon and for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed the views and the Windowwalk Nature Trail. I am also sorry to hear about the room issues and the banquet food quality, you mentioned in your review. We are reviewing your comments with senior management and I am hopeful that you will come back again in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent three nights here and enjoyed every moment. Beautiful resort tucked into the mountains. The pools, hot tubs and walking paths are all well maintained. Our room was clean, peaceful and comfortable. We observed beautiful sunsets each evening from our balcony.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We very much appreciate your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. Thank you also for your Lovely review on Tripadvisor. You have a nice way with words and I appreciate the way you describe our pools, nature trail and the sunset views. Please come back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.