We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice facility with a beautiful view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Save Saved
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates as low as $89!
Ranked #5 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A nice facility with a beautiful view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort because my husband's business conference was there. The day we checked in, they told us that they did not have a room with a king bed even though we had requested one. So we had a room with two beds. They said they would have one available for the next evening if we would be interested in moving. We went out for dinner and came back to the room to a strong sewer smell. Luckily, the weather was nice so we had the doors open to remove the smell. The next morning, my husband called to report the smell. Maintenance checked it out and could not find anything. They offered us another room with the king bed so we took it.

If you like outdoor activities, there is a waterfall, a trail for walking and the resort is located near Sabino Canyon.

It's a drive from the city so if you want to do sight seeing, you should rent a car. They even have a Hertz office on-site.

There is an observation deck where you can look out over the city at night. We sat up there for a little while. The weather was great and it was beautiful. There are also benches around the water feature in front of the hotel. I sat out there one afternoon reading and watching the golfers.

The food at the first dinner was disappointing. The steak was overcooked and dry, I noticed quite a few people did not eat the meat. We decided to patronize local restaurants during our stay. The second meal that was provided to conference attendees was good but not anything spectacular.

Unfortunately, we did not take our laptop. The business center charges for use of the computers. However, you can print out boarding passes for no charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon and for your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed the views and the Windowwalk Nature Trail. I am also sorry to hear about the room issues and the banquet food quality, you mentioned in your review. We are reviewing your comments with senior management and I am hopeful that you will come back again in the future.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    755
    285
    91
    47
    25
See reviews for
259
443
47
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently spent three nights here and enjoyed every moment. Beautiful resort tucked into the mountains. The pools, hot tubs and walking paths are all well maintained. Our room was clean, peaceful and comfortable. We observed beautiful sunsets each evening from our balcony.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We very much appreciate your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon. Thank you also for your Lovely review on Tripadvisor. You have a nice way with words and I appreciate the way you describe our pools, nature trail and the sunset views. Please come back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I haven't been on a vacation in years...As I live in Tucson, I looked at several options for a local "break" from my house. I researched online like mad, and saw several reviews that gave great advice about rooms, location, and amenities. It paid off. I made my reservation online, (during a daylight savings sale, a $400 rack rate room was $119 per night, for the next day check-in, for a two night stay). I joined the Loews YouFirst club, and packed my bag and dog. At check-in, I advised the receptionist that I had read some bad reviews about older furnishings and parking lot views. He mentioned that he would put me in an area of the hotel where dogs were accommodated. First, I thought, great, crummy dog rooms...NOT SO!!! I had a King room in the West Wing, with a desert view! This is a VERY dog friendly resort, but I saw very few dogs. After check-in, I was surprised to see my room had already been accommodated for my canine friend. Treats, water and food bowls, bags for picking up, and a little Loew's dog tag too. They charge a $25- Pet fee Per Stay. The room was impeccably clean, nice white linens, desk, HUGE bathtub, and a fabulous balcony that overlooked the desert mountain terrain and flora, and very quiet. Exactly what I wanted! (That bathtub was divine.) I was midway down the hall where the exit to the right went into the Loews on-site desert trails, to the left an outdoor "hallway" with rooms that come out to a vast green grass lawn for dogs to run and roll around in luxury, overlooking that parking lot I was concerned about. The resort is beautifully landscaped and has quiet lighting at night. There's a "faux" stream and waterfall that is at the end of the trail, a lookout vantage point to see the lights and mountains of Tucson too. The trails are not for avid hikers, but actually gave me a good workout as they meander up and down the mountain behind the resort, with stairs here and there, and sitting spots. For non-desert people, there are signs with flora and fauna identification, that were tastefully incorporated into the land. It was very pleasant, and my Jack Russell loved the walks too! When I first went to the Loew's website and saw the architecture, it reminded me of Paul Rudolph's work that can be harsh. Not so. The resort blended well into the desert, and the rooms, restaurants and public areas were tasteful and refined, with just a touch of "southwest" influence. The "public" pool area was a bit cramped, but I found a nice spot by the jacuzzi that drowned out any noisy kids. Water, food service and towels were plentiful. I had "dinner" at the Cascade lounge during Happy Hour, and the food and service were excellent. Breakfast at the cafe was pricey for a muffin and coffee, and the waiter was not the greatest. He passed me by to offer a coffee refill, and neglected to offer butter or jam. He was a bit rude. However, the waitress who served an out-of-town couple sitting next to me, was extraordinarily friendly. I never made it into the Flying V, but it is a favorite of locals, and I will be back. One tip: I brought a flashlight that was very handy for the trails, and nightly dog walks. Overall I highly recommend Loews to anyone coming to Tucson or for locals who just want a quick getaway!

Room Tip: West-wing mountain-desert view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are so glad that you chose Loews Ventana Canyon for Tucson vacation! Thank you also for writing such an informative review on Tripadvisor - you covered so much about the resort. Come back in Summer when we are still a great value. One tip: Avid hikers will find the Ventana Trail head in our West parking lot which leads to a beautiful wilderness trail.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I attended a party at Ventana on March 9th in the wonderful Ventana room. Wow! There was a cocktail hour in a room right around the corner to start the evening and from start to finish the entire affair was simply brilliant. No detail was too unimportant to be attended to, and the view from the room was magnificent. Brian Johnson and his staff were incredible, from the valet and concierge, to each and every waitstaff there. A remarkable evening all around!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for attending an event at Loews Ventana Canyon in March and for your kind remarks on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your being our guest and thank you again for your review. Come back soon.
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This property is over 25 years old yet it is very well maintained and not at all shabby or dated. The staff are very friendly, the setting is beautiful and relaxing, the pool is nice and the restaurants are very good. The rooms were large and well appointed. The only downside was we had a room with a parking lot view, but we didn't spend many daytime hours there so it wasn't a big deal. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for pool or mountain view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, General Manager at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon and thank you for taking time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your recommendation about requesting mountain or city view rooms can truly enhance the experience of staying at Ventana Canyon - good tip! Please come and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Brian Johnson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I always go to Ventana Canyon for any special celebration. The resort is beautiful the staff is friendly and helpful. They always help make every celebration a little more special! We had a lovely dinner at the Flying J, food and service was excellent. We would never consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingSlsGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay at Loews Ventana Canyon and congratulations on your celebration! Being your favorite Tucson Resort is music to our ears and we hope you come back often. Thank you also for the kind words.
Warmly,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosendale, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was in Tucson for business recently and I got a great deal on this hotel through a third party booking company. It is a lovely place with beautiful grounds. It is situated in a quiet, high end residential area in the foothills,about 20-25 or so minutes NE from downtown. I hiked every day--you can access the longer hiking trail through the parking lot. Ask anyone at the front desk-they are helpful and friendly. While the rooms were very clean and spacious,I thought they were a bit dated and average. I had a really deep, nice tub in my bathroom which was so nice. I used the spa services and they were very good. The pool area is lovely and the view on either side is gorgeous. My room was so quiet, and they are had room darkening shades so I slept very well. If I were to go again, I would probably ask for a room near the waterfall in the back. I highly recommend a car if you stay here-it would be pricey to use a car service often unless you just plan to stay at the resort for relaxing,and not explore the area. I did not each dinner here, so I'm not sure what the dinner food is like. I had breakfast once and a snack by the pool,both of which were good. Breakfast was a bit pricey, but they usually are at resorts. They serve Starbucks coffee and have a counter where you can get lattes all day....I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in this part of Tucson

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.