We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at its finest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Beverages!
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful grounds, great staff, fun entertainment, free tram to great local hiking. I would recommend this resort to everyone - families, singles, or couples. My wife and I went with our two adult daughters and had a fantastic time. Play, exercise, hike or just relax, it is all here for you and the staff is friendly and helpful!!

We can’t say enough good things about our visit!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms - book and enjoy! You can get wilderness views or city views - just tell th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Ventana Canyon, and that you discovered our hiking trails. Please come back again, with or without your grown daughters. I am sharing your kind comments with the staff as well.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    331
    100
    49
    27
See reviews for
305
517
61
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I never write reviews, I always read and go by the rating. My husband and I visited this hotel with our 4 month old, we were suppose to stay 2 nights and ended up leaving a day early. We got the most expensive room with a spectacular view. That was the only great thing about it. We found a huge roach in our room, two spiders, and another small bug. I live in Tucson, AZ. I totally understand bugs getting into the room. But come on. 4.5 star hotel should not have bugs in the room. They should be cleaning it better. I'm a complete clean freak!! What if my baby got bit by one of those spiders. Then to top it off, our room smelt like cigarette and from the time we entered the room, until we checked out, we had allergies so bad. Sneezing and blowing our noses. It was disgusting. Who knows what they don't clean. I am so disappointed in spending my money on this room. Front desk apologized, charged, and let us on our way. Every women there had an attitude. They told us that there were no pets allowed in that room, but we have a dog, I know what dog hair looks like. Do your research before you stay here.

Room Tip: Upper levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkingGuy, Director of Sales at Loews Ventana Canyon, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and I am so sorry about your experience. We are committed to cleanliness standards and have several levels of housekeeping and inspections in place to ensure that guest rooms and public areas are clean. Clearly, we did not meet your expections. I have shared your comments with key management and hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Sincerely,
Mark Lindsey
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just visited the Loews Ventana Canyon last week...This is not a typical Loews hotel. The carpets are bubbling in the halls, wall paper is peeling off, and the housekeeping will through the linens out of the room when they are cleaning - so watch that you do not get hit! The food was good, nothing spectacular. Yes there is a nice walking path that takes you about 5 minutes to complete. I was just expecting more from a Loews brand hotel...VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Wow, this was a great trip. Second time there for my wife and I. We live in Phoenix and will make this our go-to spot in Tucson. Dinner the first night on the patio at their lakeside restaurant, The Flying V. Really great food and service. Breakfast by the pool the next day was terrific. Wife had a massage during the day while I went into town, she said it was "really relaxing" and loved the spa. I golfed last time I was here and the course looked great but didn't make time for it.
The staff here was everything you would hope for, they we're really all fabulous but I want to especially mention our front desk guy, Arvind. Made us feel extra welcome. Look forward to going back...

Room Tip: Both sides of the hotel have great views, we faced the mountain, pool and the waterfall which was wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent two nights over Labor Day at the Loews with our 2 month son and had a wonderful time. The staff from the desk clerks to the bell hops and room service was top notch, the best we've ever encountered. The hotel is in a beautiful location at the hill of a mountain with a waterfall. There is a nice walking path around to the waterfall with signs for various vegetation. There was also an old par course if you wanted to use that. We stayed in a king room with a view of the waterfall. It was large, the tub was massive and could fit our whole family if we wanted. A fridge was nice as well. They had fireworks at night, animals from the zoo there during the day, movies at the pool at night, smores, etc. It was a great family place. Again, the location was beautiful. Driving by some other hotels, I think Loews has them beat with location and being right at the bottom of a mountain. The rooms have large balconies with chairs to take in the view.

There was a pool for kids (a little small) but there was a bounce water slide, free magazines, sunscreen, water, etc. There is a small pool for adults as well. As the hotel was full it could be hard to find a chair at the kids pool. Room service was great. We did the buffet one night and it lacked a bit on choices, maybe this was due to they moved it in doors for weather purposes.

They delivered a crib to the room for us complete with travel sized Johnson and Johnson baby items which was great.

Overall we had a great time at Loews and would go back any time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I'm a native, but haven't lived there for a couple of decades. We got the AAA deal for two nights which wa great. It is a wonderful resort - good food - exceptional service - lovely rooms - great pool. We had a second floor (but on the ground facing the mountains) with a patio. Ate in two restaurants - wanted the fabulous brunch but they were sold out. If you want the brunch - reserve ahead of time. No free Wi-Fi which is unheard of at even cheap motels.

Room Tip: Unless you have a top floor room, ask for a mountain facing room. Make brunch reservations at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The website notes the wonderful views. Perhaps they exist. But apparently not in the Deluxe Room or at least not in our Deluxe Room. Instead our view was of the parking lot and a watered lawn. This was particularly irritating since the hotel appeared to be half empty.
But it was consistent with a pattern.

The hotel is in a wonderful location and is physically nice, despite some quirks, but there is little attention to detail and despite the pretentions lacks the execution that makes for a great hotel.

None of these things is a major issue but they illustrate the point:
--Some rooms receive free morning newspapers. Ours did not.
--No bathrobes in the rooms, something routine in a hotel at this level.
--The facility is sprawling with very limited signage in the halls and maps that are less than clear.
--The breakfast buffet is unexceptional and the menu a better choice. But no one explained to us that the “bed and breakfast” package includes the option of ordering off the menu.
--At 9:30 pm a two foot high pile of linens and towels was piled in the hallway just down the hall from our room. It was still there the next morning, nearly 12 hours later.
--Any hotel that charges for base internet service is clearly stuck in the 20th century and will not be a choice of business travelers, or these days much of anyone. I’m not sure how much they charge as neither the instruction card in the room nor the website for signing on specify that. Given what they were charging for other things, I assume it was non-trivial. Many hotels give free basic service and charge for bandwidth for streaming videos, but here any access required a fee.

The rooms and beds are pleasant and the staff friendly but overall this was a disappointing experience given the cost.

Room Tip: If you want a view find out exactly what view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tucson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Green Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.