We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another nickel and dime experience...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Ventana Canyon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Loews Ventana Canyon to your Saves list
Loews Ventana Canyon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arizona/England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Yet another nickel and dime experience...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2008

Haven't read all the reviews but in case this hasn't been mentioned...we ordered room service and not only did they add a 21% service charge, but also a $3.00 per person charge. So a breakfast of cereal and coffee for my husband, and a croissant egg and avocado sandwich for myself was over $40.00. The $9 a night parking charge was outrageous. Why not just charge you more for the room?

The room was okay. The bed was very comfortable and the tub was HUGE but the shower was pathetic and there were no vents in the room. Also only half a glass shower door which made it rather cold to take a shower as all the heat and steam from the shower wasn't contained. The heating/air conditioning system made a loud clicking noise everytime it shut on and off loud enough to wake you up at night. The balconies were constructed so that looking out each side you could see into every balcony down both sides of the hotel. We paid $20 extra for a premium view and had a wonderful view of the parking lot.

The Flying V restaurant across the parking lot had great food and friendly service. All the hotel staff were very friendly. There is also great shopping in the area. I highly recommend La Encantada shopping center. Great stores and good restaurants.

Overall, we felt like we paid way too much and will not be going back. We didn't get around to using the spa so can't comment on that. To be fair, some of these issues could have been resolved if we had complained but we were only there for 2 nights and didn't want the hassle of changing rooms.

  • Liked — Close to great shopping.
  • Disliked — Nickel and diming you to death
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    365
    114
    59
    30
See reviews for
343
560
69
357
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

We stayed at Loews Ventana for the Dec 7th weekend. The other reviewers have it bang on. The place is very nicely situated in the Tucson hills with 100 foot cactus' everywhere. We did their spa services and it was first rate and worth the price. The food was pretty good but pricey. The entire resort was a bit pricey but overall we had a good enjoyable stay. The staff were especially good. Always very friendly and eager to help.
Security Problems? Some of the reviewers have commented on how some of the property is poorly lit. This is indeed true. Some of the rooms have 'open air" hallways with stairs leading to street level. These hallways are very dark at night. During our stay... I pushed out our cart (which the roomservice came on) for pickup by the staff. This was about 10PM at night. In the open air hallways (poorly lit) a lady came out of the shadows and approached me asking for "help"; she looked semi-scary so I quickly closed the door and locked it. I contacted security and the came right away and began patrolling the hallway. I then noticed they patrolled the hallways from there on. I dunno what the deal was with that lady but it sure didn't seem normal.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

Believe the reviews you read about being nickel and dimed for everything. I needed to check my email and didn't have my laptop with me so I went to the Business Center where they charged me to access my account. The charge for valet parking is outrageous and so is the cost for food (plan to eat offsite). All of this really cheapens this place; otherwise it would be a really great property. The refurbished rooms are very nice except for the crazy shower door configuration (for the rates this hotel charges, it seems impossible to believe they couldn't afford a full shower door instead of a half one) and the location, in the foothills of Tucson, cannot be beat. However, I don't see any of the negatives changing anytime soon; the hotel seems to really want to cater to the corporate conference meeting crowd (Mary Kay and Raytheon were there during my stay), so individual people on vacation really aren't the hotel's primary focus.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — Being nickel and dimed for itmes other hotels provide for free
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Wow is Tucson stunning! And this property sits high on the foothills overlooking the city, surrounded by rocky hillsides and big saguaro cactus. The hotel is really beautiful and well landscaped, and the lobby and interiors are very spacious and open as they take full advantage of the mountain, golf course and city views. The room is well equipped and HUGE -- the bathroom and tub could fit my whole family! I'm here for a conference (which is being held at another hotel) and I am very glad I chose this place over that one (Westin La Paloma). The Loews is definitely off the beaten path, and it is a drive to get to restaurants and shopping, but the location is well worth it for peace and quiet. The spa services were very good and combined with some time by the pool in the sun, I am feeling rested and relaxed and ready to tackle my business meetings. The food -- hmmm -- maybe because this is not their high season, but it could be a lot better. Pretty standard stuff and I expected more from such a nice property. Very friendly staff have made this an enjoyable visit. I think I'll come back with the family -- the kids will dig the pool and activities.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The restaurants
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

The Loews Ventana Canyon is a very nice property overall. My wife and I stayed four nights. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and well-appointed, with quality products to boot. Its main restaurant, the Ventana Room, is excellent, although a bit expensive. Its wine list is remarkable, but they make you pay for it at a premium. In fact, they charge a lot for everything. E.g., a 20 oz. bottle of Fiji water costs $6.00 in the room, $8.00 at the restaurant.

Our private balcony faced the parking lot, so we did not have any kind of view, but it was in a very quiet area of the hotel, which counts for something. The lighting all over the property should be much better. Many areas, including entrances and hallways, are quite dark to walk at night Renting a car during your stay at the Lowes is almost essential. The hotel is nestled at the foot of the Catalina Hills, so it is quite a distance from anywhere you may want to go in Tucson.

The single most memorable experience at the Ventana Canyon, however, was a massage at the spa. The spa is immaculately clean, the staff was very attentive, and the masseuse, Jennifer in my case, was exceptionally professional and effective.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — Petty pricing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

I stayed here 2 nights in November. The room was large, with a separate sitting area, very nice bathroom and private balcony. I had a mountain view room and thoroughly enjoyed the desert scenery, especially at sunrise. The grounds are well-maintained and for the most part environmentally "in sync" with the surrounding countryside. I was there on business so was unable to take advantage of a number of their amenities and restaurants, and cannot comment on those (although the restaurants were all quite busy and popular with the locals). They do have a spa/small gym/beauty salon, but I was disappointed to learn that the use of the gym was not complimentary for registered guests - in fact it was $12.00 per day. As an alternative of sorts I would recommend the short nature walk up to their waterfall and upper grounds, which is very nicely done and is informative as well. The rooms are equipped with the standard coffee makers and mini bars, but be advised that the bottled water (the tap water is pretty undrinkable) is $6.00 per bottle (20 oz. or so). I was in a room on the 4th floor of the west wing, and found that there was no convenient way to get to the ground floor (lobby, ballrooms, restaurants) - instead one had to walk quite a distance, some of which was outside the building. In addition, at night the paths are not particularly well-lit. These factors were not problems for me but I could imagine them being issues for others. All in all, I would definitely consider going back there sometime, preferably on vacation.

  • Liked — The setting, the room, the view
  • Disliked — Cost of water
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

Because it was off season (and hot) we got a good rate. Stayed 10 days. Never stayed at a Loews property before and never been to Tucson. Location of the hotel is terrific, right up against the mountains. (Recommend a mountain view room.) Enjoyed getting up early every morning (still on EDT) and sit out on the balcony watching the sun touch the top of the mountain. The downside of being out in the country is that you are a ways from most Tucson activities. The room was nice, and especially the bathroom. The location of the TV was not comfortable for viewing from the bed and the remote wouldn't work because of the angle. But the worst thing was the exorbitant price of everything from coffee ($3.75/large cup) to a small bag of caramel popcorn ($4.00) to a draft beer ($7.00). Maybe if you stay in a resort like that you expect those prices, but I was shocked. Another sore spot, the resort advertised high-speed internet access but neglected to divulge that it cost $11.00 per day! Per day! My internet bill for a full month is less than $30! I can't recommend this place and we would not go back.

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — Prices
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loews Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Ventana Canyon

Address: 7000 North Resort Drive, Tucson, AZ 85750
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucson's spectacular 'Ventana' or 'Window' to the Soul of the Sonoran desert-is Loews Ventana Canyon. Discover a magical perspective high above Tucson's Catalina Mountains, where this stunning natural retreat offers a variety of activities, signature services and experiences to relax, energize and inspire guests. A playground of visitor delights includes: the luxurious Lakeside Spa & Tennis Center; Canyon hiking; professional stargazing; 2 Tom Fazio-designed PGA golf courses and lighted tennis courts; 2 swimming pools; a fitness center; nearby riding trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Loews Tucson
Tucson Loews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loews Ventana Canyon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.