We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1010 South Freeway at 22nd & Starr Pass, Tucson, AZ 85745   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #122 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I came here after spending the previous night at an extended stay hotel (Crossland) that came complete with prostitutes, drug dealers and a shooting. So maybe my standards were low but...

Extra large rooms, minifridge, good selection of TV channels...I liked the inside. The property itself was pretty dreary and beat up, the pool a joke...

Decent budget hotel and budget prices with above average rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    19
    36
    68
See reviews for
39
28
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Wy? I forgot my twins little pillows. I called the same day to see if I can have them back but they banish from the room. Is not fear!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

What do people expect when they want a low price motel? This Howard Johnson is just what I expected. The place is not new, some repairs to walls, etc. are poorly done, but it is a cheap stay. The breakfast consisted of cereal, scrambled eggs, potatoes, & various drinks; a little better than I expected. The staff was helpful. The location felt safe. If people want more - pay more! We stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

This hotel is not anywhere near as disgusting as the reviews suggest. It surprises me how some people view some properties just because they are older or run-down. Yes, the rooms could use a serious renovation, and the lobby some updating, but then I would be paying $50 instead of $35, and I don't want to.

Instead, for my money I got what I need, which was clean linens that were clear of bedbugs (contrary to other reviews), clean towels, free internet, and a place right off the Interstate to sleep. It was not anymore disgusting or dirty then any other low-budget hotel of this kind is, and the staff were extremely helpful and even friendly the two times I dealt with them. That was a pleasent surprise.

I will say that the location is a little seedy, so I wouldn't bring a family with kids. But for adults, it is fine. It is maybe a mile or two walk to downtown Tucson, so it's not too handy unless you have a car, but there are a few restaurants (Waffle House, etc.), gas stations and fast food places that are open late within 1/4 mile which is good for getting food and supplies.

The key to any place like this is to remember where you are staying and how much you paid for it. (In my case, $35 for two people - the cheapest hotel in Downtown Tucson that night). If you do that, you'll realize there are worse places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Arrived late in Tucson so booked a cheap hotel on Hotwire, thinking one night won't be that bad--yikes! Our non-smoking room was super stinky, old/new smoke who could tell. It was late so we didn't put up a fuss but I wish I had given that our pj's were so smelly we couldn't wear them the rest of our vacation. The room was about what you'd expect for the price, breakfast was just cereal and some toast with coffee/juice. Our room was located in the back so surprisingly we didn't hear any interstate traffic considering it is located right next to it. There is major construction on I10, be on the look out for the one exit early on that will get you to this intersection. Several other hotel options next door that look more inviting.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, AZ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2009

The hotel grounds were cluttered with tents used for a gem show resulting in very limited parking. The surrounding area leaves little to be desired. No security by way of cameras or security personnel are provided. My truck was broken into and the ignition destroyed in an attempted theft. The hotel staff was not concerned and offered no assistance in the matter. They refused to call the police.
The room was clean and serviced each day. The furniture was in need of repair and the chest of drawers was falling apart and could not be used. The lobby and main building area are in disrepair and cluttered. The whole area looks like a gypsy camp and gathering place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2008

If you only care about price...This place is for you! No coffee in the rooms. Breakfast OK at best. Clearly they recycle condiments as 3 of 4 butters where closed but empty. The 2nd day they didn't even provide condiments. Room was not maintained as only 2 of 4 lamps worked. Staff provided new bulbs but the sockets were broke.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — No coffe in room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown

Address: 1010 South Freeway at 22nd & Starr Pass, Tucson, AZ 85745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Tucson Downtown Hotel Tucson
Tucson Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Tucson Inn - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.