We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Airport Lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6971 South Tucson Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85706   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save!
Ranked #13 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Airport Lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrived late evening at the Tucson Airport, called, and the complimentary shuttle was there in less than 10 minutes. Very short ride to the hotel. It's been renovated to one version back of latest standard Hampton fare, but our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Didn't use the outdoor pool or exercise room, but both looked inviting for what they were. All of the staff was eager to please. Of note however, if you do not have a car and will need to get dinner, there aren't a lot of dining options within walking distance. There's no casual chain restaurant in an out lot, as is the norm in limited service chain hotel clusters like this, (though there is a lot for sale ready and willing for a developer). The only option I am aware of is to walk across the street to the full service Four Points Sheraton that has a restaurant. Otherwise it's pizza delivery, or, the shuttle would probably take you somewhere within a few miles--they are eager to please.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and your comments. I was pleased to read that your recent stay with us was very good. Please note that the R&R grill across the street from us is very good. I do hope that you visit us again next time you are in Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    96
    30
    4
    4
See reviews for
72
73
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, good service

We can’t complain about anything with this hotel at all. They were great, the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly, the location was great, very close to the airport, and price was reasonable and the breakfast was ok.

I am not sure what else to say, if you are considering a hotel near the airport I would choose this one. Have stayed at Hampton Inn’s many many times and have never been disappointed.

The only suggestion I have with this hotel is to beware of the A/C. If you stand in front of the thermostat when you try to adjust the temperature the air conditioner will not respond. Apparently it using an infrared sensor or something and if you stand in front of it then the A/C cannot get the information. Stand to the side, do not block it with your arm either. I had to call the front desk to ask why it wasn’t working and then they told me about this issue. So keep this in mind.

There is ample parking in the back of the hotel, finding a space should be no problem, there is also a shuttle to the airport if you need it. We dropped our car off the night before our flight, took the shuttle back to the hotel, and then the next morning arranged for a shuttle to the airport so we didn’t have to deal with the car return in the morning and carting our luggage around. It was more convenient.

This hotel also will accept packages, we had several packages sent to the hotel to pick up during our visit about 2-4 weeks in advance of our stay, they kept them for us without charge and brought them up to our room on request. The hotel offers free Internet as well.

One of the better hotels we have stayed at in a while. Have really no complaints!

Room Tip: Probably don't really want to be near the elevator, a little noisy, it's old, but it works g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and your comments. I was so happy to read that the hotel and the staff exceeded your expectations. I will make sure that I pass along all your comments to the entire Hampton Team. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Tucson Airport August 16, 2012 in room 200. This is a business hotel. It is literally five minutes from the Tucson airport. It is not near to downtown or to what passes as attractions in Tucson. It isn’t close to any noteworthy restaurants.

There is nothing particularly special about it. The staff was very nice. The room was clean but uninspired. The breakfast was ok… eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, toast, fruit, etc. There was a swimming pool and hot tub… there was a little store in the lobby for water, beer, etc. There was a small business center.

A couple of complaints. The air conditioning was just ok but I never thought my room got very cool. The light in the bathroom was insufficient. I didn't think the bed was particularly comfortable. Otherwise, everything ok. If you need to be near the airport this is a good place to be, otherwise, I’d look into other hotels in other parts of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your reveiw and comments. We do have a great breakfast and pool area. Please note that starting next month we will be installing brand new beds in all our guest rooms. Room furniture will be replaced as well in the first quarter of 2013. I do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again next time you are in Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for two days and were highly pleased with their customer service. The employees were very helpful and the morning breakfast was superb. I highly recommend this hotel if you need one by the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and comments. I was so happy to read that you saw the value in our hotel and that the brekafast was top notch. As the new General Manager, we will continue to work hard to provide a great place to call home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at this Tucson location on two different occasions during a road trip from Texas to California--once on the way and then again during the trip home. Both stays were wonderful. The staff was very pleasant, our rooms were everything we expect from a Hampton and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. The location is very convenient to IH-10 and several restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review and your comments. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us twice. I will pass along your comments to my entire team. We hope to see you again next time you are in Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Dang Verne! Nastiest Hampton I have been too. Never again. Dirty room. Dirty bathroom. Enough said. Don't go!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Colorblind123,

It is unfortunate that you were not pleased with your recent stay with us. Given that many of our reviews point out the cleanlines of our rooms, I am surprised that this was not the case during your stay. If you would like to take the time to contact the hotel directly, I would be more than happy to see what expectations we did not meet and fix them. As we pride ourselves in our guest satisfaction I would hope we would have the opportunity to redeem our hotel in your eyes.

I would like to point out that during this August and September we will be replacing all of our bedding and furniture in the rooms. We will also be updating all of the carpet in the rooms and hallways. Hopefully on your next trip to Tucson you can give us another shot and see all the updates we have made.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff was incredibly nice, remembered our first name, made our stay as good as they could, they care! Thanks all of you.

Room Tip: Best place by the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher S, Assistnt General Manager at Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
tmcqueeny,

All I can say is thank you for the praise of our staff! It has been a deep focus of ours to really reach out and make our guest stays personable and memorable. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport

Address: 6971 South Tucson Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.