We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful and Delightful place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Hotel Expansion
Ranked #3 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A Beautiful and Delightful place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We love to stay in historic hotels and this one is outstanding. The displays in the hallways give the history of this girl's finishing school turned guest ranch turned outstanding hotel and restaurant of today. The rooms are carefully maintained and kept to have the feeling of the original rooms. We were in the historic rooms and they are medium to small in size with dark red floors (paint over adobe or cement etc -- not sure but probably from earlier times) and clean new painted walls. The bathroom is a little dated but the dated sent my imagination flying as I thought of the girls who would have been primping in that earlier time and getting ready for the day as I got ready for the day. Nice soaps/lotions and fluffy towels. Bed was very comfortable and the AC was divine as it was hot for this Maryland girl. The grounds are just great -- beautiful landscaping that is desert appropriate and very well done. The courtyards are especially pretty. What a place for a wedding!! One night we carried sandwiches and drinks to the patio surrounding the lovely big pool and had one of the most special evenings watching the sunset over the beautiful golf course and city of Tucson. This is a special place to stay. Different from the chains and luxury resorts but wonderful in its own special history.
I will review The Grill on it's own. Our package from I Prefer brand of hotels gave us a lovely breakfast each day and the food was excellent and the view even better. Be sure to check out the gift shop for wonderful (and often expensive) items that are well chosen and unique.

Room Tip: Historic rooms are smaller and probably noisier (hallways can echo) but good value to be on property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Historic hotel to stay at, I love your first few lines, they really illustrate our commitment to maintaining our historic qualities while allowing for some modern comforts and blending the two. Our Historic rooms date to the 1930's when 2 girls shared each room, eventually the middle wall was brought down to expand into the current hotel room.
Great to hear your ac kept up with the somewhat abnormally hot temperatures recently, a cool 96 today, a few of our housekeepers are from Maryland and attest to the heat everyday. I really enjoyed your "desert appropriate" comment, we simply try and blend the natural gifts that were here with some more modern sculpture and touches in.
Thank you also for being I-Prefer members, we appreciate the loyal business to our brand and I hope we had your member number and you received your welcome gift on arrival. I may have to steal one of your lines for future marketing, "different but wonderful" quite sums us up nicely. I look forward to reading your restaurant review and please come see us again next time in the west. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    64
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
45
187
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We drove 80 miles from our home just to stay here for one night. An absolutely beautiful historic hotel dating back to 1929. Walls decorated with old photos of dude ranch times. Rooms are all well appointed and comfortable--and all are different. We had lunch, dinner, and then breakfast, all of which were delicious and well presented. The view from the dining room is stunning. Our host, John, led us on a walk of the grounds and talked about the various flora and fauna--very interesting. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful. We're going back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dennis, we really appreciate the long trek to stop in and see us for a night. I love your line that our rooms are all different, we take pride in not being too cookie cutter and having guests experience subtle unique touches in each room. Thank you for taking the time to dine with us for all 3 meals, I am glad you enjoyed them all and the restaurants appreciate your patrionage. Great that you took the nature walk with John, Im always hearing guests learn interesting tidbits on our landscape and having a relaxing fun time doing it. Look forward to having you return anytime, let us know what room you had this stay and we can have you try a different one. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The staff was great. The physical plant is in need of repair and upgrading. There weren't enough chairs by the swimming pool, and when my wife asked for a chair she was told that they were "on order." The traffic noise from our terrace outside out suite was very loud. When you pay as much as Hacienda Del Sol charges, you expect a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
We appreciate your coming to visit all the way from the Green Mountain State. Thank you also for sharing a review on your experiences here. My apologies we did not meet your expectations and that you did not feel value was received for the price you paid. There is no excuse for us not to have proper levels of furniture by the pool, especially moving into the warm season. It is a shame we did not get our new loungers in time for you to enjoy full relaxation down at the pool. I know it does not mitigate your experience but your review was what prompted us to restock our pool furniture, these reviews and comment cards are listened to and taken to heart. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The cacti planted around the grounds and the artful wrought iron and stained windows are so charming! We were just smiling as we explored the pathways to the lobby and the hotel rooms and the pool area. The hot tub was cozied into a little corner with terrific views inspiring a peaceful, relaxing aura. Freshly painted walls were colorful, unique and reflected the southwest fell at it's best. People came from everywhere it seems to eat at the restaurant so you better reserve ahead. We didn't so even as a guest we could only try the casual restaurant one night. We highly recommend the nacho chips with salsa and guacamole! The rooms are convent to the parking spots. The beds were comfortable with good sheets. The bathroom was ok. The water took awhile to heat up but then it lasted. The water pressure was a little better then ok. The sink was unique, colorful ceramic and the tiles surrounding were a handsome dark blue...Hard to hide water spots but uniquely fun. We liked this part of Tucson and the access it affordedus to Sabino Canyon and Mnt Lemmon. But you should get a location closer to downtown if you plan to visit further south or west to Tombstone as crossing the center of the city is slow and traffic filled.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
First off thoughts and prayers to you and all of the Boston community on the tragic events of this past week. I hope all of your family and friends were unharmed. Thank you for a very detailed and informative review of your experiences with us. I appreciate your mention and enjoyment of some of the details which often go unnoticed like the iron works, painted nooks and the stained windows. Our hot tub is located exactly for seclusion away from the day to day hustle. My apoligies we were unable to accomodate you in the Grill, I am not sure what happened but we have a policy of always accomodating in house guests no matter how busy, I do hope we exhausted all efforts in trying to get you a table. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the chips and guacamole though. To the bathroom, our water pressure with our older buildings can be an issue as noted, I hope you added a few minutes in the nice hot lasting water to overcome the delay. I hope staying at the Hacienda is worth the extra few minutes drive to some of the activities but we are lucky to be situated in a more high end area with access to all conveniences and our own activities/attractions. I hope we have exceeded such a savvy travelers expectations and please contact me anytime if I can assist with a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel is very pretty with beautiful gardens. It's quirky and has character and we had a great stay there. The views from the restaurant where we had breakfast were amazing. We had a suite which was large and had a patio with a table and chairs. The room would have benefited from updating (especially the bathroom) but it was very comfortable. The a/c was very noisy. A great place to stay with very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting us from jolly ole England, in a first I had to google your location, I hope you enjoyed our warm weather while here. My apologies first that our bathrooms and AC were not up to the high standard you found elsewhere on property and restaurants. Always a constant battle between preserving the historic charm with modernizing some of the needed areas mentioned. These comments always help us identify places to improve and are taken seriously. I am glad that you really enjoyed breakfast, the West Patio does allow for very relaxing, tranquil and scenic comfort to start the day off right . Safe travels back home and hope to see you in the future. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hidden in the hills you will find this charming historic hotel surrounded by 34 acres of natural desert in the Santa Catalina foothills. There is a reason why such perrsonalities such as John Wayne, enjoyed a true taste of the old west when it became the magical guest ranch in 1948. Clark Gable, Katherine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy also recognized the Hacienda's warmth and beauty and frequented it as well.

Today, its owners and caring staff continue to preserve the spirited southwestern hospitality.
Our visit included a hacienda overlooking the city with a warm dip in the pool and jacuzzi after hours. Truly a romantic getaway ~ its quiet, discreet and craftfully hidden in the hills.

Room Tip: We were in a hacienda that was very private at the southwest corner of the property - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for dropping in to see us from our northern half. I also appreciate the little history lessen you began with, helps provide context to guests and is just plain interesting as well. Thank you for mentioning the care our owners take in preserving both the amazing place we have been given but also our standards of hospitality, it has been an almost 20 year labor of love since purchasing the about to be torn down Hacienda. Hopefully you can make the trip down on a regular basis for some more relaxing or any occasion. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came from Seattle for a romantic anniversary. The casita we were lodged in was wonderful, the staff helpful and friendly and the happy hour excellent! Then we went for breakfast. Expensive, very slow, and served either wrong or incomplete for each of the three days we were there. When I mentioned waiting for an hour for breakfast our last day to the restaurant Manager, he curtly thanked me for my advice, comments he clearly did not want to acknowledge. I commented again while checking out to a very concerned staff member who took notes. There is work to be done! The entire grill is waited on by one very frazzled, hurried and clearly unhappy girl, who is not at fault. The Management is. Enjoy the location, the sun, and Tucson, but be warned, take breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay in a "casita" if you can. Private and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Congratulations on your recent anniversary. Thank you for coming to stay with us from the Pacific Northwest, we have seen a lot of business from the Oregon and Washington areas this season. I would like to extend a huge apology for the lack of service and quality you experienced during our breakfast service. We all understand mistakes happen on orders however there cannot be an excuse made for a lack of accuracy three days in a row, this is not a mistake more a pattern. Also the lack of concern or at least a bare minimum apology and acknowledgement of the issues by the morning manager is alarming. Yours and some previous reviews have made quite an impact and I heard in a management meeting this afternoon that this area is of critical need and steps are being implemented immediately to correct. The staff member you mention at the desk did in fact send emails to all of us managers detailing your concerns.
I hope we made a good enough impression in our rooms and staff that we may host your special anniversary in the future. I also hope we can have a 4th chance to earn you back at our restaurants. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#8 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort’s private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.