We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Petworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Booked an overnight stay just after New Year whilst visiting the nearby Biosphere, Missile Museum and PIMA 'Boneyard'. The glowing reviews of this hotel are right on target. I booked this hotel as I wanted to stay somewhere with history and somewhere that felt 'of the place' rather than just another perfectly faceless hotel that could be anywhere in the world. Our room was spacious with a lovely view of the mountains and was spotlessly clean. We dined in the restaurant and the staff were kind to reserve us a table by the window so we could enjoy the view. The food was imaginative, delicious and beautifully presented. However, it is really the staff that make the stay so special as they are welcoming and eager to help from the second you arrive. The staff in the restaurant are particularly good but we thank all the team for making our stay so special. I hope we will return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 41, which is set apart from the main hotel, offering tranquility and glorious view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hacienda to stay at during your city adventure. Looks like we fit in well with your other historical sight seeing stops which I hope you enjoyed. Glad you enjoyed Hacienda # 41, as your room tip suggests, the room does offer fantastic views and seclusion while being only seconds from the main buildings. We are only as good as our staff and it is wonderful to hear that from our housekeeping, front office and restaurant departments you recieved the top notch service guests deserve and expect. We look forward to hopefully hosting your next Southwest adventure. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    72
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
56
217
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in a king room. The arrival experience was good as John described the facilities and delivered our luggage quickly to the room. What impressed us is how this property has managed to keep its solitude amongst the urban area that has grown up around it. John took us on a tour of the grounds and described in detail the various plants that are cared for on the grounds. The restaurant is fantastic. We ate there for every meal. The views at sunset from the dining room is one of the best we have experienced. The food was excellent and imaginative. Try the corned beef hash for breakfast and the chicken and waffles for dinner. Also try to stay in one of the rooms with a patio facing West for a glass of wine at sunset. Definitely worth the rate charged for the room. If I could change one thing it would be quieter air conditioning.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing 3 nights with us recently, I appreicate the effort in writing a review of your experiences. First impressions being everything, great to hear that information and service provided by John was prompt and helpful. We do let the world grow around us, hard to imagine that only 40 years ago there was nothing for miles in the area. We were here so early the road was named for us. Glad you enjoyed our morning nature walk, this is a great way to learn about the diverse vegetation and wildlife we are blessed with. Thank you for joining our restaurants throughout your stay. Great to hear positive feedback on the chicken and waffle dish, the Grill recently added it to the menu and seems to be a pleaser already. My apologies on our excessively noisy AC units, I am hopeful for new units or central air in the near future. I hope the experience was worthy of a return visit, please contact me if I can assist with future reservations. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed one night here in early January. The grounds are beautiful and were nice to walk around. The room was nicely furnished and the view we had was a nice mix of the city and the mountains. We definitely recommend this place!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for staying the night with us recently. I appreciate you taking the time to provide thoughts on your experience. It is always encouraging to have guests recommending us, positive word of mouth in this industry cannot be beat. I am glad our rooms, grounds and views afforded you and your wife an experience worthy of sharing. Continued safe travels and Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, HI
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

New Years Eve and we had a outstanding experience at the hotel and the restaurant. The staff is eager to accommodate and this is the best place to experience Tucson. Meals were 5 star and the service impeccable

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Mahalo for joining us on the mainland to celebrate New Years Eve. We strive to be the best and being the best way to experience Tucson is lofty praise indeed. Alot of the credit goes to the natural gifts we have been given but I also am appreciative that our staff added to your experience in a positive manner. A big hand to our restaurant as well for creating a stellar dining experience for you. I will of course be sharing your thoughts with them as always. Safe travels back to the islands and Happy New Year. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights over Christmas. We had a lovely room with beautiful views. The breakfasts were outstanding, as was the Christmas buffet. The staff members were all polite, professional, knowledgeable, and bent over backwards to help make our stay special. The hot tub was a treat on a cool day, and the grounds were just incredible. I thought the room rate was an excellent value. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for spending your Holidays with us here at the Hacienda. Thank you also for sharing your feelings on the experience and for such a lovely picture showing the courtyard view you had enjoyed. Many thanks for acknowledging the hard work and dedication of our staff, it is our pleasure to bend over backwards for you and all guests to make stays special. Glad you enjoyed the hot tub, it is a highlight with its secluded location, fantastic views and we even keep it open 24 hrs a day. Before your next visit contact me anytime if I can assist with rates and reservations. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I go here twice a year when visiting Tucson. Beautiful surroundings, gracious staff and excellent food. Live music there adds to the fun ambiance. The team there is always friendly and attentive. A must see if inTucson and you want an excellent dining experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for coming to dine with us over the Holiday Season and for sharing some thoughts on your experience. I will pass on your review to our restaurant management. If you havent already I would encourage you to post a review to the Grill and Terraza trip advisor pages so their staff can see your wonderful thoughts and get a little ranking credit. If I can assist at all in making your future reservations you can also contact me anytime. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was very comfortable with beautiful views of the Catalina Mountains and the sunsets over the Tucson Mountains. The staff was friendly, solicitous and helpful. The buildings appear to be decades old, which adds a character to the place that distinguishes it from its neighbors, while being very well maintained. The suburbs have grown up around the resort, which makes the location convenient while quiet at the same time. We would definitely choose the Hacienda again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us from the East Coast, I hope you enjoyed some good weather while here. Thank you taking the time to give us feedback on your experience. Our main building was built in 1929 while the other buildings have been added over the years giving the hotel both a rustic and modern feel while trying to maintain as much of the history and architecture we can. I appreciate the mention of our staff providing good service, our goal is always Spirited Southwest Hospitality. You are very correct in that we are lucky to have the luxury of being tucked away in a quiet, secluded location and yet having great dining, attractions and necessities mere minutes away. Safe travels home and Happy New Years. Look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
#21 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort’s private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.