We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 127 hotels in Tucson
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was very comfortable with beautiful views of the Catalina Mountains and the sunsets over the Tucson Mountains. The staff was friendly, solicitous and helpful. The buildings appear to be decades old, which adds a character to the place that distinguishes it from its neighbors, while being very well maintained. The suburbs have grown up around the resort, which makes the location convenient while quiet at the same time. We would definitely choose the Hacienda again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us from the East Coast, I hope you enjoyed some good weather while here. Thank you taking the time to give us feedback on your experience. Our main building was built in 1929 while the other buildings have been added over the years giving the hotel both a rustic and modern feel while trying to maintain as much of the history and architecture we can. I appreciate the mention of our staff providing good service, our goal is always Spirited Southwest Hospitality. You are very correct in that we are lucky to have the luxury of being tucked away in a quiet, secluded location and yet having great dining, attractions and necessities mere minutes away. Safe travels home and Happy New Years. Look forward to hopefully seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    61
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
42
175
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

As an attorney I give modest weight to rave reviews however,Hacienda Del Sol more than met our quest the for a romantic get away. we celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary there. The staff is superb, our suite was charming and the food was special both at the outdoor grill as well as the indoor "Grill".HDC is a great value. It is a "can't miss" for Romance.

Room Tip: Defintely get a suite if it is your first visit. Ask for a room on the side away from the outdoor gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Happy belated Anniversary. Thank you for spending your special occasion with us. I appreciate you taking a moment to write about your experience here and pardon my delay in responding. Excellent to hear we more than met your high expectations in terms of accomodations and dining. Also, We take our # 1 romantic hotel ranking on here to heart and hearing reviews like yours make it all worth it. Please contact me to assist in any planning for your 22nd, we would love to have you back this coming year. Happy New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We originally reserved a "best rate" non- refundable room for 3 nights. The day before we left, my husband was having severe pain in his back & wasn't feeling up to the travel. I called to see if there was something they could do for us like either cancel or postpone the reservation. After a bit of back and forth, the gentleman that answered the phone stated that if we could fax a doctor's note by the next morning, he would LOOK INTO canceling our reservation. We didn't up end up getting a note and decided to go on our trip. We arrived at the resort to find our room cancelled. We were not even notified they did this. Luckily, the room was still available & they gave us the same rate. It was nice they still honored the price but it would have been great had they notified us of the cancellation.

Room was small but clean and quiet. Not sure why a Cisco phone is needed in the rooms but they are there. Hot tub and pool are somewhat segregated from resort & we had to walk through reception to get to it. Nice views though of the mountains from there. Staff was friendly.

All in all not a bad place to stay. I'm just not sure I would call it luxury or if it's worth the price that is typically charged for a room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMoritz, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write a review. I sincerely apologize for the confusion. I should have been more clear about the fact that given your husbands severe back pain, your non-refundable room reservation would have been refunded. Given the description you gave me regarding his inability to travel, along with the promise of a doctors note to be faxed, I honestly thought that you were cancelling your visit. I am happy that you were able to make the trip to Tucson and that we had availability to accommodate you. Hopefully, the relaxing atmosphere and historic charm of the hacienda was just the thing to make him feel better! We are proud of our tradition of spirited southwestern hospitality and I should have done a better job of communicating that to you. As a side note, the Cisco phones allow the hotel to provide complimentary local and long distance calls for our guests. I am sorry that you had to walk through the lobby to get to the pool, I hope the views and privacy were worth it! Please contact me directly if you will be returning to the Tucson area in the future so that I can personally handle the details of your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Very unique historic lodging with high marks for character! I stayed in one of the "Historic" rooms overlooking the beautiful courtyard. Booking early, I was able to secure a rate of $101. The room is very basic yet charming. Entry into the room is directly from the exterior with an actual key (no card keys at this historic hotel). There are blinds on the door. Hardwood floor; no rug. TV is inside a beautiful armoire. Queen size bed; comfortable mattress. Bathroom is small, yet functional. Nice tile work around tub/shower. Heated towel rack is a nice feature. Shower water temperature was nice and warm; good pressure. Being an old building, there are some "nicks and imperfections". But don't let this bother you. The room is well cleaned and nicely taken care of. Apparently each room is unique and there are different sized and decorated rooms to suit any taste and budget. Other rooms are more modern. The grounds of the property are truly well landscaped with desert vegetation, flowers, fountains, and character! Front desk personnel are very nice and helpful. Restaurant is connected to part of the main building. A definite Tucson desination which I hope to return to.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for deciding to come stay with us this winter, I hope you enjoyed unseasonably warm weather this early December. I am a big fan of the old style "real" keys myself, they always work and we love to decorate them each year to add some of the character you speak of. All of our room types are unique and within the Historic type you stayed each room has its own character with varying furnishings, color schemes and bathroom tiling. The armoire you mention is original to the 1940's and matches the headboards and desks in those rooms. I appreciate that these rooms may not suit all guests but great to hear you enjoyed the charming and comfortable qualities these endear. Thank you for mentioning the quality of our landscaping, the owner and our two gentleman crew work hard at maintaining and accentuating the natural gifts we were given. I hope to see you in the future and maybe next time you can try one of our other unique room options. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Hacienda is a must go place for dining. The atmosphere is great, the whole resort setting is a site to see in itself from lush gardens, the pool area, restaurant, outside grill, inner courtyard and resort rooms themselves. A romantic wedding location as well we would say. Staff is among the best in Tucson as are the meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for joining us for dining and taking some time to soak in our grounds. We appreciate taking the time to also craft a review of your experience. We are blessed with so much natural beauty and scenery but without a dedicated staff it is only half an experience, thank you for mentioning the high quality you recieved which we all strive for. Your preception of being a romantic destination is quite astute, we are the # 1 ranked romantic hotel on Trip Advisor. This creates lofty expectations which I am glad to hear from your review we have met. Hopefully in the future you can come experience the hotel side of Hacienda. Safe travels back to the Inland Empire. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for two nights last weekend and are only sorry we couldn't stay longer. The staff were so polite and friendly. They chatted with customers freely and seemed happy to be working there. Our room was lovely with beautiful wooden beams in the ceiling and a large comfy bed. We ate in Terraza on Friday evening. It was very busy and there was a popular band playing but we didn't feel rushed and the barstaff chatted away while serving. We ate in The Grill on Saturday evening and it was gorgeous. The sommelier Justin was wonderful and so friendly. Our meals were fantastic and dessert just topped off a great evening. We went horse riding with Valerie in the stables on Sunday......I would highly recommended doing this it's a great way to see the local scenery and Valerie has many interesting stories about the area. All in all a blissful weekend away !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for visiting us all the way from the Emerald Isle, what a beautiful country. Thank you as well for sharing your experiences with the travel community on our behalf. We definately try to keep a more relaxed, casual attitude with our guests while maintaining professional service, our Southwest Hospitality. We appreciate you taking advantage of our dining outlets and riding stables, it is great to hear that both were able to provide enjoyable and unique experiences. I will share your kind words with Justin and Valerie as well. Safe continued travels in the US and back home. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

my sister, my 94 year old mother and i opted to stay here for one night as part of our annual getaway together. we could not have been happier with every aspect. we were upgraded from a two bed room to a wonderful casita that had us astonished by the beauty of the furniture and interior layout. the vistas, the two patios, the comfortable nests of beds, the window seat for reading were such that we wanted to stay in the casita the whole time to enjoy it all. when we went to the restaurant for a delicious dinner, then later to the bar to hear spanish music, then walked the beautifully landscaped grounds to view the sunset (along with a dip in the pool), we knew we were in a special place. the hospitality from making the reservations to dealing with the staff upon arrival was top rate. we have to come back with our spouses to experience this unique and memorable spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hacienda for your annual family getaway. Also thank you for sharing your thoughts on the experience. I am thrilled our staff was able to upgrade you to the Grand Casita and that this room fulfilled all of your needs and comforts. We are blessed to have amazing vantage points for the beautiful Arizona sunsets, kudos to the builder who put the pool in such a spectacular location for a relaxing dip under the evening sky. If you have a chance please do leave a review for the restaurant to share about your dining experience there. I am glad our "Spirited Southwest" Hospitality ideals were felt from making your reservations to the arrival process. We look forward to seeing you in the future for a spouse getaway, please contact me anytime if you would like the Casita again, this room isnt available online. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#7 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort’s private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.