We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Plus Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Roseville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“a magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

my sister, my 94 year old mother and i opted to stay here for one night as part of our annual getaway together. we could not have been happier with every aspect. we were upgraded from a two bed room to a wonderful casita that had us astonished by the beauty of the furniture and interior layout. the vistas, the two patios, the comfortable nests of beds, the window seat for reading were such that we wanted to stay in the casita the whole time to enjoy it all. when we went to the restaurant for a delicious dinner, then later to the bar to hear spanish music, then walked the beautifully landscaped grounds to view the sunset (along with a dip in the pool), we knew we were in a special place. the hospitality from making the reservations to dealing with the staff upon arrival was top rate. we have to come back with our spouses to experience this unique and memorable spot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hacienda for your annual family getaway. Also thank you for sharing your thoughts on the experience. I am thrilled our staff was able to upgrade you to the Grand Casita and that this room fulfilled all of your needs and comforts. We are blessed to have amazing vantage points for the beautiful Arizona sunsets, kudos to the builder who put the pool in such a spectacular location for a relaxing dip under the evening sky. If you have a chance please do leave a review for the restaurant to share about your dining experience there. I am glad our "Spirited Southwest" Hospitality ideals were felt from making your reservations to the arrival process. We look forward to seeing you in the future for a spouse getaway, please contact me anytime if you would like the Casita again, this room isnt available online. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    65
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
52
196
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We came in for a family weekend and booked a Hacienda King Bed Deluxe for $309 plus tax per night for two nights. Also reserved table at The Grill. We had to sign an addendum that we would not smoke.The first night we got room 5. It smelled a bit like the last guests smoked. Not terrible but..... unfortunately the air conditioner blew right onto the bed all night so we alternated between sweating and freezing and the a/c compressor turned on and off all night loudly. That was bad. Like an old 60's style motel. Jennifer was at the desk and couldn't move us until the next day. She was very gracious and put us next door in Room 4. An upgrade to a suite without charging more. That room was perfect and comfortable. The staff is gracious and attentive. The rooms were clean and well decorated and its a beautiful desert location. I'll review the Grill separately but suffice to say the Grill was not that great but we went to the Patio the next night and sat outside to hear music and eat and that was really great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We appreciate taking the time to share your experiences. My apologies that your room was not up to the highest standards of smelling clean and fresh, whether the previous guest smoked or not it is our responsability to get the room back in proper order for your arrival. Given the age of our buildings the AC units were once in vogue, however this does not change the fact your were unable to find a comfort level both in temperature and noise level. I am glad we were able to take care of a complimentary upgrade to the Suite, great to hear this room worked much better for you. Thank you also for your review of the Grill, their management will also read and take your thoughts to heart. Safe travels back to California. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nicely decorated, beautiful landscaping, wonderful views the mountains and Tucson. The food is great and the service helpful without being intrusive. We were checking out the location, prior to a wedding. Confirmed the decision that this will be a lovely spot for all of the guests.

Room Tip: Choose from "classic" smaller rooms bordering a courtyard or casita rooms for more seclusi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Congratualtions on the impending wedding, we look forward to hosting this special occasion for you and your family. Thank you for coming to stay with us for a preview and for taking the time to write about your experience. I hope the decor, views and lanscaping you enjoyed will help provide the perfect ambience for a magical wedding weekend. If there is anything we can do to make your family and guests stays better please contact me anytime. Regards and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and completely enjoyed everything about this lovely place. The service is second to none. Everything is scrupulously clean and the whole property is beautifully maintained. I loved looking out our window into the gardens. The historic photos on the hall way walls were a wonderful touch. The staff is incredibly polite and helpful and you always had the feeling that they were pleased to be of assistance.
The food is simply delicious from the breakfasts to the patio for dinner.
I didn't want to leave. We will definitely return on our next Arizona holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on part of your holiday from Canada. We are appreciate the time taken to share thoughts on your visit. Our staff always aims to please with a postive attitude and it is good to know that you felt this and your needs were met and exceeded. Great to hear you enjoyed some southwest flavor with the cactus gardens and our displays of the unique history we are proud to be a part of. Thank you for staying in and dining with us in each restaurant, we tried a new breakfast program this year and the feedback has been great. We look forward to hosting part of your holiday next year and If i can be of assistance with your room or trip planning please contact me anytime. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We found this place in a guide book and were initially staying a couple of days but loved it so much that we extended our stay to five nights. Although this required a change of rooms the disruption was worth it as the hacienda is so stunningly beautiful with views over the mountains and Tuscon and the most glorious grounds. The restaurant is excellent for formal dining but we had a hot dog lunch one day and it has got to be the finest hot dog I have ever eaten!!! ( never thought I would write a review on a hot dog). Both rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable but it is the overall atmosphere of the Hacienda and its history that makes this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your visit from the UK. I am glad the guide book steered you in the right direction. There probably isnt a better testament to our efforts here than when guests like yourself decide they cant possibly leave and enjoy extended nights with us. I hope we did our best to keep you in the same room since moving can be a chore when your settled in. I am glad you were happy with both rooms and the disruption was minimal. I was not aware we served hot dogs but I must now go try the " finest hot dog" based on your recommendation. I hope to see you on next years holiday and safe continued travels back home. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed there for four nights in early October and really enjoyed everything. The grounds are beautiful, full of flowers, cactus and sculpture of all sizes and shapes are found all over. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The food was great too - everything we ate was very good. And the rates are incredibly low for something so nice. I liked looking at all of the old photos and memorabilia about the property throughout its history. Would love to come back sometime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank yor for spending 4 nights with us recently. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your stay. We take great pride in our grounds and I am so glad you enjoyed the variety of natural and man made beauty we are blessed with. Many of the sculptures and decorations are created by one of our owners here and they fit nicely in with the natural landscapes. It is great to know that we are providing value with the rates you were offered, we always hope we can offer something unique for eveyones price range. I will pass along your dining thoughts to our new chef and we just introduced a new menu Id love to have you try on your next visit. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, Ca.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Loved the place, loved the staff, had a fabulous casita on the edge of the property, well outfitted, huge, could have lived there!
Probably the nicest people ever encountered on a trip work there, what a delight!
The grounds are beautiful, old growth gardens.
The bed was very comfortable although a tad saggy in the middle.
For a Historical Landmark the resort is in wonderful condition.We also enjoyed a elegant dinner at the Grill, the formal dining room of the hotel. The waiters were very professional, and nice.
Will be my destination again when back in Tucson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for visiting from the San Diego area and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences. My apologies for the sagging issue in your mattress, we just replaced all of our queen mattresses and will be working on the same for the kings to make your next stay more comfortable. I am very happy that you found the Casita, grounds and staff to be of uttmost quality and I am thrilled to pass along to the staff your more than kind comments. Look forward to seeing you on your next business trip. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#2 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort’s private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.