We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find. An excellent property.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful find. An excellent property.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and completely enjoyed everything about this lovely place. The service is second to none. Everything is scrupulously clean and the whole property is beautifully maintained. I loved looking out our window into the gardens. The historic photos on the hall way walls were a wonderful touch. The staff is incredibly polite and helpful and you always had the feeling that they were pleased to be of assistance.
The food is simply delicious from the breakfasts to the patio for dinner.
I didn't want to leave. We will definitely return on our next Arizona holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us on part of your holiday from Canada. We are appreciate the time taken to share thoughts on your visit. Our staff always aims to please with a postive attitude and it is good to know that you felt this and your needs were met and exceeded. Great to hear you enjoyed some southwest flavor with the cactus gardens and our displays of the unique history we are proud to be a part of. Thank you for staying in and dining with us in each restaurant, we tried a new breakfast program this year and the feedback has been great. We look forward to hosting part of your holiday next year and If i can be of assistance with your room or trip planning please contact me anytime. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    73
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
62
233
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We found this place in a guide book and were initially staying a couple of days but loved it so much that we extended our stay to five nights. Although this required a change of rooms the disruption was worth it as the hacienda is so stunningly beautiful with views over the mountains and Tuscon and the most glorious grounds. The restaurant is excellent for formal dining but we had a hot dog lunch one day and it has got to be the finest hot dog I have ever eaten!!! ( never thought I would write a review on a hot dog). Both rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable but it is the overall atmosphere of the Hacienda and its history that makes this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your visit from the UK. I am glad the guide book steered you in the right direction. There probably isnt a better testament to our efforts here than when guests like yourself decide they cant possibly leave and enjoy extended nights with us. I hope we did our best to keep you in the same room since moving can be a chore when your settled in. I am glad you were happy with both rooms and the disruption was minimal. I was not aware we served hot dogs but I must now go try the " finest hot dog" based on your recommendation. I hope to see you on next years holiday and safe continued travels back home. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed there for four nights in early October and really enjoyed everything. The grounds are beautiful, full of flowers, cactus and sculpture of all sizes and shapes are found all over. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The food was great too - everything we ate was very good. And the rates are incredibly low for something so nice. I liked looking at all of the old photos and memorabilia about the property throughout its history. Would love to come back sometime!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank yor for spending 4 nights with us recently. I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your stay. We take great pride in our grounds and I am so glad you enjoyed the variety of natural and man made beauty we are blessed with. Many of the sculptures and decorations are created by one of our owners here and they fit nicely in with the natural landscapes. It is great to know that we are providing value with the rates you were offered, we always hope we can offer something unique for eveyones price range. I will pass along your dining thoughts to our new chef and we just introduced a new menu Id love to have you try on your next visit. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, Ca.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Loved the place, loved the staff, had a fabulous casita on the edge of the property, well outfitted, huge, could have lived there!
Probably the nicest people ever encountered on a trip work there, what a delight!
The grounds are beautiful, old growth gardens.
The bed was very comfortable although a tad saggy in the middle.
For a Historical Landmark the resort is in wonderful condition.We also enjoyed a elegant dinner at the Grill, the formal dining room of the hotel. The waiters were very professional, and nice.
Will be my destination again when back in Tucson.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for visiting from the San Diego area and for taking the time to write a review of your experiences. My apologies for the sagging issue in your mattress, we just replaced all of our queen mattresses and will be working on the same for the kings to make your next stay more comfortable. I am very happy that you found the Casita, grounds and staff to be of uttmost quality and I am thrilled to pass along to the staff your more than kind comments. Look forward to seeing you on your next business trip. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The setting of this hotel is so close to The majestic Santa Catalina Mountains that you feel as though you are not really near any major city. The gated mission style entrance is where you go to check in to the lobby, on the way is a tranquil garden. The grounds of The Hacienda are just beautiful. From 1930 to 1941 the property was a college prep. for 28 girls.
In 1948 the property was opened as a guest ranch.
There are only 30 rooms available. If you are not able or don't want to climb stairs beware of rooms 29-32, as these require stair climbing.(these are the historic rooms) The pool and hot tub also require stair climbing, but they are open 24hrs.
We had a deluxe hacienda room, which had two queen beds(although they felt smaller). The room had a great private patio with a table and chairs. The room itself was very spacious. The bathroom shower was bigger than ours at home, really nice.(no tub in room 2) Complimentary bottled water is in the refrigerator below the TV in a cabinet. The in room coffee was not very tasty.
We utilized the complimentary in room wireless internet with no problem. There is also a public computer for guest use in the library area, if you don't bring your own laptop/tablet,etc.
The Terraza patio/bar was great for Happy Hour(M-F from 3pm to 7pm). We also enjoyed The Grill for breakfast and dinner.(winner of the 4 Diamond Award)
Some of the rooms are difficult to find from the parking lot, the signage is shown once and then you loose it. Moore signs pointing the way would be great or go find your room without luggage first.
If I am in the Tucson area again, I will not hesitate to stay here again. Very relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: We liked the bank of rooms 1-3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for venturing down south to come stay with us and providing an in depth review of your stay and our property. Great tip on our upstairs courtyard rooms, we try and always inquire if stairs would be an issue for any guest booking a room up there. On your next visit I hope we can show you the second stairless way to get to our pool and hot tub facilities. I am glad you found the intenet access to be problem free, we have been working to increase the access around the property after finding some weak spots.
Thank you for taking the time to enjoy both of our restaurant options, our newly extended Happy Hour seems to be popular and the new to 2012 breakfast set up in the Grill has been a very pleasent addition. I appreciate your thoughts on the parking singage, we have always wrestled with adding more without taking away more of the landscape but I will address this with our management team. We hope to see you again for another relaxing stay. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place is majestic. It's has history, and the grounds are gorgeous. You can tell the staff loves working at this special place. I will surely return and I've already told my family and friends that they must stay here someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to the Hacienda and taking some precious time to write about your thoughts. Thank you for such a ringing endorsement to your friends and family we appreciate it especially since it means we have done our jobs and you had a stay worthy of such praise. I will share your kind thoughts with our staff and we are in the middle of winter grass planting in order to maintain the gorgeousness of the grounds. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a wonderful week in Tucson.
We stayed a few nights at Hacienda Del Sol, mostly for some horseback riding in the desert.
We were not disappointed. Hacienda del Sol is loaded with charm, Our room had outstanding views and a great little patio. Live music most nights, and the Sunday brunch is a must.
Location works really well for shopping trips.

Finally the riding. Our guide, Valerie, could not have provided a better experience for us. The horses were in good shape, well behaved, and happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianBattaglia, Front Office Manager at Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for joining us all the way from Canada. It was a pleasure having you and your daughter for the week. Your room # 1 does have some of the best views in the hotel I am glad you enjoyed the patio, which we recently had renovated. I will pass along your kind words to our wrangler Valerie. it is great to hear our new stable operator is providing such fine service, care of animals and making rides memorable. Hope to see you again next Summer and make sure to bring some of your daughters crafts. We may have some space in the gift shop to sell her wares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
4.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#5 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#18 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#14 of 129 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
4.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort

Address: 5501 N. Hacienda Del Sol Rd., Tucson, AZ 85718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#3 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#12 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience resort luxury with authentic, southwestern ambiance in Tucson, Arizona. Discover the romantic and vintage style of Hacienda del Sol Guest Ranch Resort. Rich in Tucson history, the resort resides in the foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains on 34 acres of natural desert landscape. Botanical gardens envelop the resort’s private casitas, guest rooms and suites. Authentic adobe structures and hand-carved, wood-beamed ceilings circa 1929 are just a few of the preserved details amidst modern day amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Hotel Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Tucson
Hacienda Del Sol Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.