We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Hilton Standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport to your Saves list
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7051 South Tucson Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85706 (Formerly Radisson Suites Hotel Tucson Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double HHonors Point
Ranked #57 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Highland Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not Up To Hilton Standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is not up to Hilton standards. Stayed at this property for one night on 9/16/2012 and than again for two nights on 9/20 & 9/21. They have a problem with the card key room locks and they don't tell you about this when you check in. When you get to your room the card keys do not work and you have to go back to the front desk to have someone open your room. This was very frustrating on both stays, and they don't seem to care. Also the fitness center is in horrible condition. They had two treadmills, with only one working. Also one elliptical that was falling apart. Also the strength station was not workable. I reported this to the main desk on my first stay hoping things would be working when I returned a few days later. The only change was they removed the elliptical. Of course they never repaired the one treadmill that was not working. I spoke to the property manager and she said they have new equipment on order to arrive by the end of the year. If I would have know this before hand I would have never booked this location. If you're just looking for a place to stay close to the airport it's ok, but there are many other hotels close to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janki p, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear BCFeldmar,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review on Trip Advisor. We understand your frustration with the room key cards and truly apologize for all the inconvenience. I would also like to apologize about the fitness room equipment, and would like to communicate to you that the new equipment is in order.
We would appreciate any further feedback so that we can make the necessary improvements. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience by emailing janki.patel@doubletreesuitestucson.com, so that we can learn more in depth about your experience.

Sincerely,

Janki Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    96
    52
    31
    14
See reviews for
102
47
23
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel. Right by the airport and easy to locate. We had a two room suite which was spotlessly clean. Loved the courtyard and the kids enjoyed the pool, not to mention the chocolate chip cookies. Great place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janki p, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear CAm0m,

We would like to thank you for not only choosing to stay with us here at The DoubleTree Suites Tucson Airport, but for also taking the time to write your review. We greatly appreciate it. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our warm hospitality as well as our famous warm cookie. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Janki Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Every time we come to Arizona and fly into Tucson we stay here. It's so quiet and peaceful it just makes our trip a lot more relaxing. The staff is great, the food is awesome, the pool is always clean, the fountains are relaxing to listen to and we don't ever feel like we are stuck in a hotel. There is so much to do in Tucson and this hotel is kind of on the our skirts so it's quiet, no major traffic or people all over the place all the time. We will continue to stay here every time we go to Arizona.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room there. Every time we stay we are in a different room/ differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janki p, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Jhreview,

We thank you for the time you took to write your review, we greatly appreciate it. We would also like to thank you for your kind words, it is a great motivating fact to know that our team helped to make your stay very comfortable. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Suites Tucson Airport and we look forward to hosting you.

Sincerely,

Janki Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We live north of Tucson and had a very early departure from TUS. So we drove down to the airport and stayed overnight at this hotel. It saved a VERY early drive we would otherwise have had to make.
This is an older property that has been modernized nicely. It has central courts, one with a pool. No internal hallways. Beds comfortable, nice new TV. One thing if one person gets up before another, the sink is right in the bedroom, at least it was in our suite. So, kind of hard for one person to sleep later than the other.
Location is right at the airport entrance, could not be closer.
Front desk staff extremely eager to help.
Had a sandwich for dinner in the bar/lounge. It was completely adequate, but not a place to go for dinner, except for the convenience. They did give us a free drink! And could have had free breakfast if we had not been leaving so early in the AM. And of course free choclate chip cookies when checking in!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janki p, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear SedonaAddict,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is greatly appreciated. We would also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and had the opportunity to not only experience our warm, helpful staff but also enjoy a warm DoubleTree cookie. We look forwar to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Janki Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is so close to the airport you can literally walk there. It is so convenient and the hotel van is prompt. The hotel is getting revamped into the doubletree name after being a raddison. They are doing a great job modernizing the rooms and lobby. The breakfast is delicious and the food at the restaurant is tasty and reasonably priced. They have everything there to make the stay comfortable. The pool and hot tub are great also. The fitness center could use a little help, on one stay the air conditioning didn't work and on another stay the tv was broken, the machines were dated too. My only other complaint is the noise from the military airplanes in the morning, if you are on the side closest to the airport you will get an early wake up call! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janki p, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Chevaf8b,

We would like to thank you for choosing DoubleTree Suites Tucson Airport, and for taking the time to review us. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. We do, however, apologize for the inconvienence of our fitness center, it is scheduled to be renovated by the end of December. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Janki Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Major reason for 4 star being, hotel staffs are very attentative and went above and beyond to make my stay a very pleasant one. This is no 5 star hotel, but you get 5 star treatment. The hotel is located a stone throw distance from the airport. I arrived on a slow traffic night, and the shuttle came within 5 minutes. The ride to the hotel was less than 5 minutes. It is right off of the terminal. Some people said you couldn't hear the planes. But I did hear them. It's too close to the airport for one to not to hear anything, but relatively quiet considering the close proximity. I had no problem sleeping through the night. Shuttle driver was super nice, offered water and helped loading and everything (Paul?). It took me less than 5 minutes at the front desk to check in, everything was ready, inluding the actually warm cookie (thanks Brian). I guess all or most of the rooms are suites. They are good size, not excessively big. Fairly clean and well kept. The property has a big pool in the courtyard and hottub right next to it. Room service was speedy and courteous (food is average). So the second night, we decided to try outside restaurant. We didn't have a car and was planning on walking. The shuttle driver on duty (Mark) not only recommended couple of places close by, but also offered us a ride to the restaurant. He also picked us up after when we were done. The reason this is not a five star was I tried to do a late checkout on Sunday, but was told the maids need to leave earlier, so we had to leave on the dot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janki p, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Fewwolf,

Our team here at Doubletree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us as well as taking the time to write a review on us. We are pleased that you got to experience the warth of our staff as well as enjoy our warm cookies. We will let Brett, Martin, and Paul know that you were happy with their services and to keep up the good work.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you on your next visit.

Sincerly,

Janki Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here the hotel is next to the airport and never heard the airplane noise, the rooms were so clean and spacious. Everyy room is a suite 2 queen beds in the bedroom with a door and a nice living room with a pull out sofa. Nice bar area with a fridge amicrowave and a big table. Pool is in the center courtyard so all the rooms face it it does get noisy but they promptly close it at 10 pm, it is a small pool so gets packed and the ph and chlorine levels were off because it was a bit green during our stay and since it was Tucson in the summer the water was like taking a bath. The staff at the hotel were so nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Away from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janki p, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Carbmen,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review; we greatly appreciate it. We thank you for choosing Doubletree Suites Tucson Airport, and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am also glad to hear that our staff was helpful. I will make sure to share your comments with them. We hope to see you soon !

Sincerely,

Janki Patel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport

Address: 7051 South Tucson Boulevard, Tucson, AZ 85706 (Formerly Radisson Suites Hotel Tucson Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish architecture property in the high-desert environment of Tucson with open atrium in celebration of the exceptional year-round climate. All suite hotel with seperate sleeping area from living area, all suites have in room coffee machine, refrigerator and complimentary USA Today. Recreational facilities include outdoor pool/spa and exercise room with Sauna. Business services include High-Speed Internet access, and internet access via television. Wireless internet available. Additional business services available through Front Desk. Facilities also include Restaurant, Lounge, Room-Service as well as full-service Meeting/Banquet facilities - catering for 1 to 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Tucson Airport
Tucson Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.