We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast
297 North Main Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701 (El Presidio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Helendale, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Perfect Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent four nights at El Presidio and were very pleased all the way around. The location was convenient to restaurants and downtown sites. Our rooms were cute and comfortable; the courtyard and gardens were a great place to sit and read or relax. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully served. Patty is a charming and accommodating hostess. Thank you Patty, we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
110
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Shangri-La is a fictional place from the 1933 novel Lost Horizon and it fits El Presidio perfectly. It is an earthly paradise surrounded by mountains, a happy place, isolated from the outside world with a beautiful garden, and a lovely water fountain. You can sit and relax there after a long day of sightseeing. The owner Patti, is a wonderful hostess, and the accommodations are excellent. The Breakfasts are out of this world delicious. Bravo Patti!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of spending a week in the Tucson area, and were delighted to have been led to El Presidio, without doubt the loveliest B&B where we've ever stayed. The charm of the place lies not only in its beautiful inner courtyard garden, or the comfortable and tastefully appointed rooms, or even the delicious breakfasts - never two the same over a 7 day period -, but mainly in the attentiveness and genuine warmth of Patti Toci, the inn's owner/manager. She has the gift of really making a guest feel at home, and there were many little extras - water, juice, and sodas in the fridge, trail and nut mixes in our kitchenette - that really made us feel welcome. Patti is also very knowledgeable about the city and the many attractions in the Tucson area, and provided excellent advice - as well as books - about making the best use of our limited time to visit as many sites as possible. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

.Fully restored bed and breakfast with charming atmosphere. Patti the owner has been blessed with the gift of hospitality. Fabulous courtyard with historic fountain we even saw a hummingbird bathing while eating a delicious breakfast. Walking distance to excellent dining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochise, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was recently wisked away for a stay in downtown Tucson. Who would have thought that a place so restful and charming could be found so close to where I had worked for many years!

The patio filled with trees and flowers is so colorful, you almost feel like you are in Mexico. There is so much to see and do within walking distance or you can just sit on the patio and relax, read a book or visit.

Our suite was pleasant with everything you could think of provided.

Patti is a most gracious hostess, a great cook and a lovely person all rolled in to one!

Deb S

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a beautiful property in the historic district of Tucson, within easy walking distance to downtown and historic sites. The owner/ hostess, Patti, is very warm and welcoming. There are only 4 units and guests eat at a common table for breakfast, which makes for a cozy atmosphere. Patti's breakfasts are tasty and generous. Our room was much larger than we expected, consisting of a living room, bedroom, bath, and kitchenette. The building is over 150 years old but well preserved and features a beautiful patio full of plants and flowers. The rooms and entire property are immaculate. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent two nights there and had a wonderful time. The garden would be worth it on it's own, but the rooms and breakfast were also top notch. The innkeeper is efficient and helpful.Great location for exploring downtown or attending an event. After a play at the music hall we were able to stroll back without having to worry about driving and the traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 297 North Main Ave., Tucson, AZ 85701
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson > El Presidio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Presidio Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list