We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay here, get a room in the Tower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 South Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Offers & Announcements
Tucson Golf Specials!
Ranked #34 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“If you stay here, get a room in the Tower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

So this is another one of those tale of 2 hotel scenarios. The tower rooms are the room that have been remodeled, have interior hallways and are of a nicer quality than the non-Tower rooms. I was unlucky to get a non-tower room. These rooms are more like motel rooms - they are exterior rooms that face the parking lot. I was stuck in a room at the far end of the hotel which was a haul since I did not have a car. This hotel is in a sketchy part of town - not completely unsafe, but good to be on your guard.

The rooms are dated. The bathroom has been updated and feature these weird half enclosed showers with no shower curtain which means water basically goes all over the bathroom floor. The king bed was comfortable, there was a desk and flat screen TV. The A/C was noisy, but the noise doesn't bother me as much as it might others. There is a fridge and in-room coffee which was lousy.

There is an open patio with dated patio furniture. The pool looked nice although it was chilly on the day I visited. I briefly frequented the lobby bar which was nice.

My colleagues in the Tower room said the rooms were very nice. So if you choose to stay here ask for a Tower room and if you can't get one - get a room closer to the hotel lobby so you don't feel so disconnected from the rest of society!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    209
    67
    35
    15
See reviews for
145
92
46
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel hosted a Cardigan Welsh Corgi National Specialty (see complaint from h0telguest13) but my experience with the hotel staff and the hotel itself was fabulous.
I had no dogs with me but honestly, the barking was only during waking hours so I think the complaint may have been exaggerated..
The rooms are updated and were very clean. Housekeeping made sure they stayed that way. The beds were very comfortable with way too many pillows (LOL). The HVAC worked pretty well. The bathroom was impeccably clean.
My room was very quiet (in a first floor courtyard room with it's own orange tree- inhale deeply).
My only complaint would be the Hotel Cantina which had slow service and the Chicken Mole dish arrived cold and tasteless. The catered pasta dinner one night was excellent.

Room Tip: If you have pets, it makes sense to select a courtyard room. Business travelers should stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A nice facility, although the rooms are not large...the furnishings are up to date. Rooms were clean and well maintained. House keeping was prompt and friendly. Front desk personnel were indifferent, no cookie on check in (although others raved about them!), room not ready at time requested. Courtyard and pool area were very nice, other than the college kids drinking at the hot tub on Saturday night.... For the size and quality of the rooms this hotel is overpriced, so it is better if you can get rooms through priceline or another room broker! A variety of restaurants are within a 2 mile radius of the hotel, which is good because the hotel restaurants were really substandard, other than the Easter buffet. Too many loose kids screaming in the courtyard because of Easter, but I imagine it is a one time thing!

Room Tip: First floor room with patios were very nice! Although you will hear every screaming kid turned loose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel accepted a $50/night bid on Priceline the last week of March 2013. After my bid was accepted, I called the hotel directly to request that the room be located far from the elevator. On check-in, I received a room right next to the elevator. The room was not adequately soundproofed and the elevator bell and ice maker could be heard clearly. I went back to the front desk to complain and received another room away from the elevator as I had originally requested. Otherwise, the stay went smoothly. The hotel was clean, the room was comfortable, the pool area was nice, the gym was minimal. Free wi-fi in the lobby but very slow speed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Would have been nice had they alerted me that there was a Corgi Convention going on because I would not have stayed. Barking all day and night, no rest at all. Food at breakfast buffet terrible, cold, had to ask employees where the food is since they didn't care to replenish it. The majority of the employees are not very friendly and don't seem to care if you complain, they will not resolve anything for you. Does not feel like guests come first there. Lights out in stairway and outside, maintenance obviously not a top priority either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The rooms were average except that we could hear everything--TV's, conversations, etc. The hotel was in a great location--we walked to the zoo, and the breakfast was tasty. The staff was freindly and of course the cookie was fun.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We chose this hotel to accommodate family members ranging in age from 14 to 87. It was a great choice - the pool area was nice for relaxing, and there was a lawn for the teens to kick a soccer ball around. The staff was very, very friendly. The room was fine - plenty of space, clean, and comfortable. It took a little while for the rooms to get cleaned (late in the afternoon), but that was really our only complaint, and not a serious problem. Very nice zoo across the street.

Room Tip: Choose the Tower Rooms; they may be a little more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Address: 445 South Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#19 Business Hotel in Tucson
#23 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features 287 guestrooms; outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in a lush courtyard setting, massage services, new fitness center, cyber center and three tennis courts. Dine in the Cactus Rose Steakhouse, Javelina Cantina or Lobby Bar. Enjoy weekend entertainment and take advantage of our award-winning Sunday Brunch. Across the street is Reid Park, featuring two 18-hole golf courses, 3-mile jogging track and 25 lighted tennis courts. Doubletree Hotel is located near attractions, shopping, U of A, DMAFB, airport and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tucson - Reid Park Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Tucson
Tucson Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.