We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   445 South Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Special
Ranked #39 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Hotel needs renovation. Tower rooms are to be avoided due to noise levels, rather go for rooms in garden. On the positive side, staff are friendly and efficient. Hotel is well located and the bar has a nice vibe.

Room Tip: Avoid tower rooms as they are noise and have very little closet space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLemon445, Director of Sales at Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear your visit was negatively impacted by noise levels. Your feedback is important and will be used to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your feedback on the need for renovation as well as the positive comments about our staff. All of your feedback is used to created better experiences for our guests. We hope you’ll stay with us again and tell us what you think about our improvements. On behalf of our entire hotel, we wish you a happy new year.

Sue Lemon
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    247
    88
    43
    18
See reviews for
176
111
54
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose this Doubletree for its location, but we were pleased and surprised with our choice. The hotel is not new but has been kept up and is clean and inviting. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, pleasant and guest oriented. Luis at the Front Desk checked us in and answered all our questions. I had occasion to meet John, Director of Rooms, he was quite friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast was a beautiful spread and contained everything you could possibly want for breakfast. David assisted us at breakfast and made the mornings quite pleasant. I need to comment on the Concierge, Elena, who helped us make dinner reservations. I would recommend this hotel as the friendly, attentive staff greatly enhanced our stay in Tucson.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dripping Springs, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here in December after a bad experience at another Tucson hotel. I would absolutely choose to stay here again. The hotel lobby is large and very well decorated. The room was clean and modern. The guest service at check-in was very efficient and friendly. The beds were comfortable, the sheets were soft, and the room was quiet. The room was clean and the location of the hotel was convenient. There are two restaurants attached to the hotel. There is an outdoor pool. There is plentiful parking with a security guard patrolling the lot at night. We paid about $120 and it was well worth the money. I definitely recommend staying at the Doubletree Reid Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree while attending our son's graduation. The service was excellent. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite, and the front desk person went out of his way to accommodate our location request. The room was quiet, clean, large, updated, and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was also very good. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las cruces, nm
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The location has really well manicured lawns, a nice pool, good beds, and large, if not a little old, rooms (stayed in the tower). I have visited twice with my family and have enjoyed both visits. The personnel working this location are very customer focused, and the breakfast buffet is really quite good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel quite a bit for business and am always impressed with the caliber of the staff. Without exception, everyone is friendly and helpful -- front desk, bartenders, restaurant staff, bellman...everyone!! It is a pleasure to stay here, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The decor at this location is up to date with current trends. The halls are reminiscent of places like the Driskill Hotel in Austin (golds, reds, crimson), and the king room was welcoming. I went for a stay-cation with my husband fro two nights & was glad I did. Sunday morning, starting at 10am they had the most amazing champagne brunch buffet I have eaten on US soil. While I didn't enjoy the champagne, I did enjoy the variety of fresh fruit, vegetables, fish, meat, and desserts. There were even soups, made-to-order omelets, and coffee, tea, juices, milk. Seating was comfortable and lighting calming. Our room overlooked the pool which brought question to my happiness when I noticed that around 9am the pool was covered in a film-like substance - they obviously hadn't cleaned it. It was nice size though and perfect weather for a swim, although I couldn't get past the film. I getting ready, it was unusual that the bathroom didn't have a fan - so be sure to bring air freshener when you go. It was also weird, and an inconvenience that the bathroom outlet was installed upside down. Normally this wouldn't matter, but when it's located within a few inches of the corner, and the hair dryer they supply has a three-inch plug, you cannot use the outlet to dry your hair.
I was also disappointed to realize that no one informed me when I made my reservation that every Friday & Saturday evening they have a magic show - couldn't attend as we already had reservations elsewhere. The service staff was wonderful and we always had clean fresh linens & towels. Two other important things to note: the computers in the business area won't allow you to "eject" your external drives unless you turn off the computer. Also, the television kept zoning out & would leave us in awe of what might happen next, blackness, silence, or normality. Still, it was close to home and centrally located. The zoo close by, as are a couple fo shopping centers & movie theaters. Certainly a lot of choices for eateries. Azian / Fusion Wasabi (Broadway & Alvernon), is now offering $1 sushi all day every day!

Room Tip: Ask fro a higher floor (5 or above) so you can see more of the beautiful mountains & city - espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park

Address: 445 South Alvernon Way, Tucson, AZ 85711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#24 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel features 287 guestrooms; outdoor heated pool and whirlpool in a lush courtyard setting, massage services, new fitness center, cyber center and three tennis courts. Dine in the Cactus Rose Steakhouse, Javelina Cantina or Lobby Bar. Enjoy weekend entertainment and take advantage of our award-winning Sunday Brunch. Across the street is Reid Park, featuring two 18-hole golf courses, 3-mile jogging track and 25 lighted tennis courts. Doubletree Hotel is located near attractions, shopping, U of A, DMAFB, airport and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Tucson - Reid Park Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Hotel Tucson
Doubletree Tucson
Tucson Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.