We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay with Kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3930 North Smokey Topaz Lane, Tucson, AZ 85749   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 Tucson B&B and Inns
Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay with Kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Double K with our kids, ages 7 and 3. The caboose itself was beautifully done and a fun place to stay. The setting was gorgeous, with naturalistic desert landscaping and views of the surrounding mountains. It was like a wonderland for the kids, with two extensive train sets, one big enough for them to have a ride on, a big sand box, bikes and trikes, little paths to explore, horses and burros to feed and pet, very sweet dogs. Mary took us on a very interesting walk through the property, pointing out the remains of an ancient Hohokam village and sharing her wealth of information about the local vegetation and wildlife. They couldn't have been better hosts and really added a lot to our trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Stayed two nights in the Caboose. The proprieters have turned their home on the very outskirts of Tucson into a miniature railroad, and everywhere you look has something to do with historic railroads, from the garden railways to the Caboose sleeping accommodation. We even had breakfast with railroad plates and cutlery! The hosts, Mary and Ken, have created a unique B & B, and even if you do not share their interest you would be hard put not to be amused by the experience. In my case I found their interest quite infectious. Great hospitality and a very enjoyable experience. RECOMMENDED

  • Liked — Uniqueness and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2007

The Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast is a rare find - wonderful hospital in a beautiful setting *and* which allows kids! My wife and two young children (aged 3 1/2 and 1 1/2) absolutely loved the place. Mary and Ken were amazing hosts and it was great sharing stories with them and getting some advice on things to do and places to eat in Tucson. Their train theme B&B is located in the beautiful Tanque Verde area on the east side of Tucson (in between the eastern section of Saguaro National Park and Mount Lemmon). It is also very close to Agua Caliente Park, an absolutely beautiful desert oasis with grassy areas and duck-filled ponds. They cooked up a great breakfast each morning and served it out on their beautiful back patio. It served as a great place particularly for the kids, who had plenty of toys to play with when they were done eating. I highly recommend this place, particularly for those of you traveling with kids.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

During our USA Tour we choose to celebrate our 25 th Wedding Anniversary at the Double K Ranch and what a good decision we made. Not only is the caboose a unique accomodation, it´s also spacious, stylish and comfortable. During the evening we had a visit from javelinas and birds of various kinds kept visiting us right in front of our windows.
The Ranch itself offers everything you might expect, starting with a beautiful swimming pool, a lovely garden with several garden railways, all different kinds of cacteese and lots of animals like dogs, horses and a burro.
But how can we describe our hosts? Mary and Ken are so caring and warmhearted, that you feel like staying with your own family. Our morning coffees were followed by the most delicious breakfasts you could imagine and then one of our hosts would give us good advice of how to spend the day.
It must have been the combination of the wonderful place, the incredible accomodation
and our lovely hosts that made our stay the best time we ever had in a B&B.
We will be back, that´s for sure!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2006

In February 2006 my husband and I stayed in a restored caboose at Karrels Double K Ranch B& B. It was fabulous! I was worried that it might feel claustrophobic, but it was very spacious and included a double bed, a cute bathroom with tub/shower, a set of bunk beds kids would love, and original train chairs and table. Ken Karrel is into garden railroading in a big way, with tracks, trains, and miniature historic buildings wending their way all over the property. The Polar Express comes to life! This is a B & B where kids are welcome and will go nuts in the train yard, as well as learn some railroad history painlessly. Further, Ken and Mary Karrel were the nicest innkeepers we have ever had, and we have known many wonderful ones. We went in for breakfast, where the table faces a large window through which you can watch quail and other amazing birds as you dine. We were given fresh fruit and hot blueberry muffins, tea and juice. And then Mary said, "What would you like for breakfast?" I was taken aback. Usually you get a set meal, however wonderful, but here you can pick just like in a restaurant! The property is very close to Agua Caliente Park, an oasis that will confuse you; with its swans, beautiful stretches of water and palm trees you'll feel momentarily transported to Florida instead of sunny Tucson! I can't wait to go back, hopefully with my grandchildren in tow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

This is certainly the quirkiest B&B I've ever stayed at... and not in a bad way! It's a MUST for any train enthusiast! We stayed in an actual caboose, which the owners have turned into a cute room, complete with sitting area, bedroom, and bathroom. I have never stayed in anything so unique. Have no fear, it was quiet and comfortable and had everything you'd expect from a B&B room.

The owners are great. Ken will delight in taking you on a tour of his HUGE model train set in the backyard. There are trains within the main house too. Basically, the whole place is a museum of train memorabilia. So, if you're into trains or model trains, seriously, you need to stay here.

There are also many friendly animals you can pet... several dogs and horses, but most notably, Brighty, the mule, who is a delightful creature.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3930 North Smokey Topaz Lane, Tucson, AZ 85749
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double K Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.