We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel. I keep coming back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Globe, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great motel. I keep coming back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I really enjoy staying at this motel when I have to go out of town on business. It's near the city center and the university. Great service. Staff is very professional and strive to please. Lounge and restaurant on site. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I haven't used the pool or exercise room but both look very inviting. I'll be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Debby,

Thank you for taking time in writing this wonderful review regarding your most recent stay. Thank you for being a frequent guest of our hotel. We truly appreciate the business & your loyalty to our hotel.

Our staff appreciates your kind comments as this is one of the ways for us to feel appreciated. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 520-622-8871.

Thank you also for being a loyal Best Western Rewards member.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    200
    66
    31
    16
See reviews for
180
218
58
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is in a seedy part of Tucson. Clientele seemed to be a bit on the rough side.
Half of the rooms face directly to the pool, and on a Sunday morning when the pool is supposed to open at 8am, I was awakened by squealing, yelling kids at 7:15. I called the gal at the front desk, she said she'd take care of it and nothing happened, kids were noisy until normal pool opening time and after.
If you don't want the noise of the pool ask for a room in a wing away from the pool.
WiFi was inconsistent and pretty slow. Don't count on being able to stream anything that requires lots of bandwidth.
My gal friend wanted to watch some adult content online, their system blocked it.
WiFi requires frequent re-logging in.
Tried to get evening FD gal to print a boarding pass, she was inept at printing a PDF from a thumb drive.
Housekeepers seemed okay, competent enough, and the rooms have plenty of outlets for charging things, nice beds and towels. But the CFLs used for light are a bluish white light, not a warmer soft white / yellow, so having the lights on was annoying.

Breakfast in the restaurant on property was okay, cooked to order, but limited menu. Not great but passable. Restaurant is a little nicer than the hotel.

Hot summer weather, the AC was fine.

Room Tip: Parents with kids, please take rooms near pool. Don't want pool noise, let the FD know. Buy bot...
See more room tips
Green Features: The use shampoo dispensers in shower to save on tiny bottles, that's okay.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Cheong Yei,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

As the General Manager of best western royal sun it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, since we care so much about our customers and want to provide value and satisfaction for every one of them. However, I believe we can always improve, so I will share your thoughts with our team to see how we can enhance our customer experience in the future.

We are currently working on looking to install dual pane windows in all the rooms & hope to have them installed in coming months. We truly appreciate your input.

Respectfully,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Service was excellent, the employees were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served at a Restaurant adjacent to the Hotel which was a great surprise, you get your choice of 10 different food items for breakfast, not continental style. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Beverley,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

Thank you for your compliments to our staff and I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cooked-To-Order breakfast & dinner at the Royal Sun Restaurant. We have just renovated our restaurant & lounge & I am happy to hear that you had a great time.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I cannot say enough. This is an older hotel that has been completely renovated and modernized. The room was spacious and clean, the grounds were beautifully landscaped, the pool was clean and sparkling and the staff was a joy. The complimentary REAL, cooked to order breakfast was excellent. Little touches, like privacy screens between room doors, and quiet fountains around the grounds, made it even better. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Thomas,

Thank you for taking time in writing this wonderful review regarding your most recent stay.

We are extremely happy to hear one of the best compliments we can get from our guests. Our team works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations. Comments like yours are very assuring for our entire team.

Once again, thank you for the business; we truly appreciate it. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safford, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great food--great service--great location. The whole staff were very helpful--especially in the restaurant. The hotel is within walking distance of the Fox Theater, where we love to go to when we come into Tucson.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Carlos,

Thank you for your compliments to our staff and I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cooked-To-Order breakfast & dinner at the Royal Sun Restaurant along with our convenient location close to downtown. We have just renovated our restaurant & lounge & I am happy to hear that you had a great time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I truly enjoy staying at this BW and it has become my regular hotel in Tucson for business. The complimentary breakfast in the hotel restaurant is fantastic. Also the bar is friendly and welcoming. Bartenders Morgan, Kylee, and Macey are all wonderful. As a diamond level member I always get upgraded to a King suite and it is quite comfortable and spacious. The front desk staff is also very friendly. Th location is close to UA, downtown, and right off I-10. I've stayed at several other properties in Tucson but this has become my home away from home.

Green Features: I always buy a half-case of bottled water when I arrive in AZ (much needed) and the hotel room has a separate container for recycling of the bottles and other materials.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hi Jim,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Every day we count our blessings that our hotel attracts such nice and kind hearted patrons like you. That you would take your time to so generously honor our staff is totally appreciated. We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the time & your loyalty to our hotel.

Thank you for coming back to stay at our hotel & making us your "home away from home". We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

In that most of the Best Westerns we have stayed in recently are nothing more than overpriced Motel 6's, this BW has been a quality operation since I began staying here in 2004 (for both work and pleasure). An added bonus is that each room has a table and chairs for sitting outside your room when the temperature permits. The rooms are clean, large and well apportioned. The swimming pool is always clean and crystal clear. The staff is attentive and good food and drinks can be found in the onsite restaurant and lounge. For a good central location and a nice clean property, the Royal Sun Inn is a good choice.

Room Tip: The property consists of three buildings and a detached restaurant. An alley separates Building 1 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Mark,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Every day we count our blessings that our hotel attracts such nice and kind hearted patrons like you. That you would take your time to so generously honor our staff is totally appreciated. We are believers that within each review one gets a glimpse of the character and quality of the reviewer as well as that which they review. That being the case....we can only hope that our hotel is near the quality that you represent.

Thank you for coming back to stay at our hotel. We truly appreciate the business & your loyalty to our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#16 Business Hotel in Tucson
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#21 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.