We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Believe Everything You Read!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't Believe Everything You Read!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Royal Sun Inn for a week in June 2013. I had read a few disturbing reviews regarding the poor breakfast and the train whistles at night. I even noticed the ear plugs in the room when we first arrived. My experience could not be better. The room was clean, the breakfast was good and hot, and although I could hear the train whistle while awake, it didn't bother me during the night. If you need a place to stay for a few nights close to the University, this is the place!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for such kind words & your wonderful compliments, which I have shared with our staff.

We are always working on keeping our hotel at the highest standards of quality, cleanliness & especially customer service. Our entire team works very hard in achieving these goals. Comments such as yours are truly encouraging for us & we truly appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    201
    67
    31
    16
See reviews for
181
223
58
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Arrived after long drive from palm springs.We were allocated a room on 1st floor. I asked for a quiet room as the hotel was very close to a busy road.on arrival at the room it was clear that it was probably the noisiest room in the hotel- the room closest to the busy traffic intersection and the reception staff must have known this.i complained immediately and to be fair we were without argument given a decent quiet room well away from the busy road.the room was large and comfortable.there is a decent sized poll and a good hot tub both of which were welcome after hot, dusty days in the area.free cooked breakfast was available each morning which was welcome.providing you have a room away from the road I would recommend the hotel for a short visit.it is only a short walk to the decent bars and restaurants of the old town and convenient for access to the freeway.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel beyond the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi Steve,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing this review regarding your stay with us.

I am happy to hear that we were able to move you to a room location of your liking. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our cooked-To-Order Breakfast & outdoor pool & spa.

Thank you for such kind words & compliments, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a great location, close to UA campus. The breakfast on-site was awesome. The service was great, better than most Best Westerns we have stayed at. The price was just right, not overpriced. We stayed due to our daughter's orientation at UA, we we had three adults.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to UA & your stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our Cooked-To-Order breakfast & our staff exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your future stays with while visiting your daughter.

Thank you for such kind words & compliments, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Royal Sun has great location a few blocks from I-10, close to Univ of AZ and historic district of Tucson. Price is moderate, and includes free breakfast, a dinner discount, and 2 for 1 drink voucher. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, A/C has a real thermostat, we had walk in shower. Restaurant on property has an excellent dinner menu at reasonable prices and wait staff is friendly and efficient. Free breakfast is from menu, with 10 choices, including 2 eggs, bacon or sausage, home fries, and toast....not a buffet, but a real breakfast. We chose to eat there for both dinners during our stay, even though there were other restaurants nearby.
Front desk staff is very helpful, and even had a sense of humor (we "lost", then found our room cards). Staff called room, after we settled in, to verify we were satisfied with the room (we were). Water was available at the front desk for our day trips. We'll be back!

Room Tip: No elevator, so we always request ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Tucson & your stay with us.

Thank you for coming back to stay with us; we truly appreciate the business & your loyalty to our hotel.

Thank you for such kind words & compliments, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twinsburg, Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wow! What a surprise in the heart of the city. This hotel is great. From the moment we pulled up until we left the facility, we felt comfortable and well taken care of. We were greeted by a very nice lady in the office who patiently answered all of our questions about the area, and offered us warm, freshly baked cookies. Our room was very clean and modern. There was a flat screened tv, a refrigerator, a very comfortable chair and ottoman, and the bathroom had earplugs and a make-up mirror. We were in our room about 10 minutes, and the front office called to see if everything was up to our satisfaction.

Our room was by the pool area, which was very nice, and quiet after 10:00. There is also a very nice work out area. The price of the room included two coupons for buy one ,get one drink in the bar, and a choice of 10 breakfasts offered at the restaurant on site. Both the bar and the restaurant were great....fast service and good food.

We will definately revisit this hotel! Great job!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for such kind words & your wonderful compliments, which I have shared with our staff. Your comments are by far one of the best compliments we have received from our guests.

We are always working on keeping our hotel at the highest standards of quality, cleanliness & especially customer service. Our entire team works very hard in achieving these goals. Comments such as yours are truly encouraging for us & we truly appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Royal Sun many times. I have always had a top-notch experience. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the beds are very comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. I have never had any noise problems with any of the rooms that I have stayed in. The hotel is conveniently located near the downtown historical district and to the University of Arizona. The onsite restaurant is excellent, and there are many other good restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: I have stayed all over this hotel, and all of the rooms that I have had are outstanding.
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel uses low flow plumbing fixtures. There are recycling bins all over the property.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. As a frequent guest of our hotel, we are happy to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us.

We are also happy to hear that you enjoy our central location & hotel amenities. I am excited to inform you that we will be installing new furniture in all the rooms in next few months to enhance our guests' experience.

Once again, thank you for the business you have given us over the years & your compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm afraid that readers will think I work for the place, but I don't. This is gospel, so help me!
We travel mostly on Amtrak, so I look for places close to the station. I found a hidden gem! This was the cleanest, best equipped and most comfortable place we stayed on our entire vacation. (I'm thinking perhaps EVER, but I'm trying not to be over-the-top here.) For the money, this was the bargain of the century. A two room suite, immaculate is an understatement. Do you know how had it is the keep white tile grout white? especially in the tiny corners and crevices? Walk around for a couple of hours in a pair of new white socks and they're STILL CLEAN on the bottom!?? How clean is that?!
Bed VERY comfortable, Room had all the amenities. Oh, and we only stay at places that have free Wi-Fi. I guess that's sort of a given these days.
Location convenient to services, grounds are just as immaculate as the rooms, and beautiful flowers everywhere.
And now the best part: the people. I my wife and I felt like royalty at the fast, efficient service, both at the front desk and in the adjoining restaurant. These folks acted like they were happy that we came there. Friendly is an understatement. I was blown away. Hope to go there again some day just to prove it wasn't a fluke.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Sid,

Thank you very much for such kind words & your wonderful compliments, which I have shared with our staff. Your comments are by far one of the best compliments we have received from our guests.

We are always working on keeping our hotel at the highest standards of quality, cleanliness & especially customer service. Our entire team works very hard in achieving these goals. Comments such as yours are truly encouraging for us & we truly appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#21 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.