We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is our second stay at this property. We were visiting relatives that live in Oracle Valley at the tail end of spring break. The front desk had no problem moving our room away from the pool area that was full of screaming children (THANK YOU!!!). Comfortable, roomy, nice breakfast, parking is easy, what more could you ask for? We will visit again! Thank you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool/breakfast area if you wish a more quiet experience. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Victoria,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Tucson & your stay with us.

Thank you for coming back to stay with us; we truly appreciate the business & your loyalty to our hotel.

Thank you for such kind words & compliments, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    147
    46
    28
    16
See reviews for
144
163
47
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Simply the warmest, friendliest motel we have ever stayed at. Wow. We ere blown away by the helpfulness of (first) Angela, and then Hope, and the young lady who worked the desk Sunday night too (can't remember her name). All three ladies gave us so much great information about Tucson that we were able to use to have a truly delightful time. The morning waitress (I didn't catch her name (my apologies!) went out of her way to help with coffee service for our room. Ron, the morning waiter, absolutely made our morning with his attitude, cheerfulness and overall demeanor. The entire staff at this motel provides a great experience, makes one feel right at home, and genuinely cares if you have a good stay. I have been telling everyone at work what a gem Tucson has in this Best Western. Wow again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back section and liked it just fine.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a green motel, and practice methods to help protect the environment.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Robert,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Tucson & your stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear your compliments about our staff. We are truly fortunate to have such a great team who genuinely cares for our guests. Such compliments from our guests is what drives us in offering superior customer care to our guests.

We are honored to be your home away from home when visiting Tucson. Once again, thank you for such kind words & compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our daughter graduated from U of A on May 10, 2013 and of course we returned to Best Western Royal Sun & Suites. This time, we stayed in a suite! It was wonderful. The suite was immaculate and very spacious! We loved it!

We took advantage of Happy Hour and had a wonderful time chatting with Katie, the BEST bartender! Drinks were wonderfully made. My brother in law said Katie's Bloody Mary was one of the best he's ever had.

This is the only place we stay when in Tucson!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and stay in the suite...you won't regret it.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly. Tucson is a desert, after all.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Betsy,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Tucson & your stay with us.

We sincerely appreciate the business you have given to us & your loyalty to our hotel. We are glad to be your choice of hotel when visiting U of A. Katie is truly amazing & she is an asset to our team. I will share your kind words & compliments with her.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and modern and the receptionist Angela was very nice and welcoming. We were given vouchers for free breakfasts at the restaurant next door which we enjoyed. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Sarah,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Tucson & your stay with us.

Angela is truly an asset to our team as she does a wonderful job in exceeding our guests' expectations. I will be sure to share you comments with her. We are fortunate to have such a great team that really cares for our guests' experience.

Once again, thank you for such kind words & compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YONKERS
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent two nights here and found it to be a pleasant surprise. It's a motel type drive-in, park at door place but the room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed, refrigerator and microwave. We had a king suite so we had two rooms and two tvs as well. There was a restaurant on the premises for dinner and a free breakfast in the restaurant. The front desk also provided water when you asked and they had cookies in the late afternoon. It was in a convenient location for the sightseeing we wanted to do. The staff was very friendly and offered assistance in getting around. The grounds were well kept. There's an outdoor pool but we didn't have time to use it.

Room Tip: We were in the back and it was very quiet. I don't know if the rooms facing the street would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your wonderful comments, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your strong recommendation.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently updated rooms, landscaping & breakfast at restaurant as well as our central location that is close to Tucson's most popular attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We ended up in Tucson a day early, and needed to find a place in town before our next stay closer to Saguaron Park. This place was great. The woman at check in was great. 'Hope' was very friendly, lots of good tips for dinner and downtown information. We ran into her on our way back from dinner and she wanted to make sure that our dinner and evening went well. It's always the little things like friendly caring staff that make your trip enjoyable. The rest of the staff we encountered were just a nice and friendly.

The hotel is in a good location, clean, and exactly what we expected. A perfect place to stay for a few evenings.

The attached restaurant had Amazing food for breakfast. You'd be surprised how easy it is to screw up eggs and pancakes. The staff were friendly and fun and clearly enjoyed their work. The food was great and we left feeling very pleased.

I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed Tucson & your stay with us.

Hope is truly an asset to our team as she does a wonderful job in exceeding our guests' expectations. We are fortunate to have such a great team that really cares for our guests' experience.

Once again, thank you for such kind words & compliments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have been staying at the Royal Sun since 2007. Because of the great location, we stay here when we attend U of A functions and for long weekends exploring attractions such as the Pima Air and Space Museum and even Mount Graham. You can tell that the owners and staff care about this place. There is always something new or newly replaced like this year’s patio furniture and the great flowers. There is an ongoing commitment to keeping the property up to date, safe, and green. The staff is always attentive and helpful. Everything is clean. Everything works. The comfortable beds and bedding and the sparkling pool and spa keep us coming back. Occasionally I call and they are full so I’m getting better about planning ahead!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for such kind words & your wonderful compliments, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel & the business you have given us over the years.

We are always working on keeping our hotel at the highest standards of quality, cleanliness & especially customer service. Our entire team works very hard in achieving these goals. Comments such as yours are truly encouraging for us & we truly appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#14 Business Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.