We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Consistently Good Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Consistently Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have been staying at the Royal Sun since 2007. Because of the great location, we stay here when we attend U of A functions and for long weekends exploring attractions such as the Pima Air and Space Museum and even Mount Graham. You can tell that the owners and staff care about this place. There is always something new or newly replaced like this year’s patio furniture and the great flowers. There is an ongoing commitment to keeping the property up to date, safe, and green. The staff is always attentive and helpful. Everything is clean. Everything works. The comfortable beds and bedding and the sparkling pool and spa keep us coming back. Occasionally I call and they are full so I’m getting better about planning ahead!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for such kind words & your wonderful compliments, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel & the business you have given us over the years.

We are always working on keeping our hotel at the highest standards of quality, cleanliness & especially customer service. Our entire team works very hard in achieving these goals. Comments such as yours are truly encouraging for us & we truly appreciate it.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    169
    51
    28
    15
See reviews for
155
183
52
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Royal Sun in Tuscon. We decided on this hotel based on the generally positive reviews. Upon arriving, we were greeted by the friendly and professional desk staff. Our room was pretty good size and it looked like they recently updated the rooms. The one common complaint on TripAdvisor seems to be the train noise. Yes, you can hear the distant train horns, but the hotel provides ear plugs - a nice touch - that will give you a peaceful night's sleep. There is also a restaurant (nothing fancy) on the property where you can get a free breakfast (limited selection) and discounted dinners. The hotel is near downtown Tucson, so getting to some of the fine downtown restaurants is easy. It's near the I-10 freeway (about 1/2 mile), so getting to destination attractions is easy. It's not a resort, but for the price and quality, we will stay at the Royal Sun again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Craig,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your wonderful comments, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your strong recommendation.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently updated rooms, breakfast & dinner at restaurant, drinks at our lounge as well as our central location that is close to Tucson's most popular attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

All in all the hotel is nice and decent but the location is not the best area. I could hear the police helicopter all night. The rooms were great I stayed in the suite which was perfect. Not knowing the area I went by the reviews to book, plus after a long drive I didn't want to look for another hotel. If this hotel wasn't in such a bad area I would stay again. I am a location person. Don't get me wrong the staff was nice and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to make me aware of and your frustration and disappointment you had during your recent stay with us. I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered due some noise issues.

The only way we can get better is to get honest and timely feedback. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful old hotel that appears to have been restored to old desert charm. Comfortable sizes rooms. We had a suite which worked nicely with extra seating area & nice little front porch area for enjoying your morning coffee. Service was excellent, they even provided ear plugs! Breakfast included was a regular coffee shop with cook to order menu. Best part of breakfast was fresh ground coffee & friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking time in writing this complimentary review. We truly appreciate the business.

It’s guests like you who validate our efforts in keeping our hotels at the highest standards of cleanliness, service and facilities. We take a great deal of pride in our people and operations and endeavor to deliver a superior experience to every guest.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We love this hotel. It is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the staff (Hope was at the desk) is friendly and helpful. We accomplished what we needed to do on the first day so were going to
cancel the next two nights, but like it so much, we are going to stay and relax and enjoy the
pool and the room and the area. The rooms are located around the pool. (We always prefer
the first floor and the pool is right outside our door.) While they don't have a "business center"
they do have a computer and printer so you can get done what you need to do plus there is
free wi-fi, a free breakfast, and free parking. There is a nice restaurant right across from
the office.

Room Tip: This is on Stone Ave, so if you need to go to the Mexican Consulate, as we do, it is also on Stone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will ensure that Hope will know what a great job she has done, and also ensure she is recognized for her efforts. We pride ourselves in offering superior service to all our guests. Your compliments will drive our team to consistently do an amazing job & genuine care for our guests.

Thank you again for the business & your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotel again soon

Sincerely,

Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose this Best Western because it was close to I-10 and it was pet friendly. We received a warm greeting at check-in that included a bag of milk bones for our doxie...Treats for our dog was a big surprise. Our non-smoking king room was very clean, roomy and updated with flat screen tv and small fridge. This property has an Restaurant & Lounge next door and you receive a coupons for a free breakfast,10% discount on the dinner menu and a 2 for 1 drink coupon. The University of Arizona is very close.
We returned 10 days later for a 2nd stay on our trip back home.
The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Allan,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Royal Sun. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate your business.

We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful experience & service they have received.

Thank you again for your kind words & for the business. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotel again soon.

Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Don't be fouled by the "cooked to order breakfast" amenity. Yes, the breakfast is cooked to order but it was totally tasteless and extremely limited. They offer choice of one beverage, ie, coffee OR orange juice, not both. This breakfast left me wishing they would offer the typical buffet instead. Other than that the place is OK. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Robin,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

I am truly sorry that your did not enjoy our breakfast. I am also shocked to hear this as most of our guests really love our breakfast. However, we understand that there always room for improvement. I will be sure to share your comments with our restaurant staff & work on improvement.

Thank you for the business & we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in future. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.