We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel except.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #22 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mt. Prospect Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel except.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room had been updated and looked like it had been freshly decorated. It was clean and the bed very cormfortable. If it were not for the train whistles during the night, I would have slept soundlessly. My husband had no problem falling asleep immediately whereas, I could not because of the trains during the night and morning even though ear plugs were provided, they kept falling out. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Bring your own earplugs that fit properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I do apologize for the train noise. We will be installing double pane windows during next upgrade. We hope this upgrade will enhance our guest's experience.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    139
    45
    27
    15
See reviews for
135
158
44
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Schroon Lake, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We would like to commend the evening front desk attendant, Angela Richwine, for her extremely helpful, friendly and competent service. We do a fair amount of traveling and stay at four comparable hotel chains including Best Western, and Angela is probably the most welcoming and competent hotel staff person we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Angela went out of her way from our first telephone contact throughout our entire stay to be helpful and accommodating. She made local travel suggestions. She looked up and printed directions for us, and she performed many other small services, always with a smile. We were so pleased by her service and the quality of the hotel in general that we extended our stay from 6 nights to 9 nights. Thank you Angela!

Room Tip: Suites are excellent for long stays. Lot more room and privacy, if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Bill,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly appreciate the business you have given us.

I will be sure to share your comments with Angela & all the staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked this room because the rooms were big, and for the last night of our trip, I wanted something just like that. The room met our expectations. A wet bar, great shower and plenty of room. The grounds were clean and had plenty of tropical plants, and trees. We saw hummingbirds, little lizards and other types of birds flirting around. A big pool, spa and a workout room were available. We did not partake as we were a bit worn out from the day and had to pack up our treasures we picked up. Lots of great antique shops in the area. The restaurant had a great choice of really good food, but the service was a little on the slow side. But since we only had to walk by some palm trees, pool and nice fountain to get there, I did not mind the wait. The staff at the hotel are very concerned about the quality of your stay as there are dozens of other hotels in Tucson, they work a little harder for your patronage. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Barry,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our beautiful landscaping.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

" EXCELLENT !! my upgrade and room requests were already in place when I checked
in. Suite (234)was very clean, nice to have the bag with items in it from the
manager, including the nose strips, they are great to use ! and the nice letter
from the GM. Soft towels very nice. Yummy cookies at check in; ate at the
restaurant for dinner and it was delicious, also used the buy 1 get 1 drink
coupon, service was outstanding. Cooked to order breakfast was very good and
again great service. Excellent checkout, all the staff seemed to enjoy their
jobs and went out of their way to be helpful. GREAT hotel...........we will come
back again. Diamond member "

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Debra,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our complimentary cooked to order breakfast, drinks & dinner at our restaurant.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great service, great free breakfast, decent clean rooms. But not what it looks like on the internet - a bit darker, more cramped, less elegant. And people need to know there's no elevator. We got used to the train whistle, and huge chorus of bird after one night.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be very varied in spaciousness, furnishings, etc. Not sure how to know what you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations.

We are planning on getting new furniture & lighting package for all our rooms during this summer. I feel that these upgrades will enhance our guest's experience. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you in future. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were here for a week and chose the hotel mainly because of its central location - which was perfect for exploring the area. Close to downtown, the I10 and east/west through roads. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. No problem with the WIFI access. The attached restaurant was a definite bonus. Breakfast was included in the room price - you could get everything from fruit and yogurt to pancakes and bacon and eggs. It was really good. We often had dinner here and thoroughly enjoyed it, All of the staff were super friendly and helpful. But be prepared for the train noise at night. The hotel provides earplugs but I suggest you upgrade them or you will have trouble sleeping. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Christine,

Thank you for a wonderful review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our complimentary cooked to order breakfast.

I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am sure they will be thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Most, if not all, Best Western properties offer breakfast, either a buffet-style hot breakfast or a continental style. The Royal Sun Inn & Suites in Tuscon has a restaurant seperate from the hotel on the property that serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, Each guest receives a ticket good for breakfast at the restaurant each day. While the breakfast choices are a subset of the full menu, they are very good choices. The service is fast and friendly and the food is good, The prices for lunch and dinner are reasonable. We did not eat any other meals besides breakfast but I am willing to bet they were tasty based on our breakfast experience,

The hotel itself is clean and comfortable with a pleasent staff. All in all, this hotel is a good value and I would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for a wonderful review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also glad that you liked our recently enhanced breakfast menu. This is probably one of the best complimentary cooked to order breakfasts offered at the hotel in Tucson.

Thank you for the business & we hope to see you again. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#29 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.