We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Courtyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Secluded Courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have stayed at this motel for the past few years. We like the secluded courtyard parking lot and the grounds were well decorated and maintained. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff are always very friendly and helpful. We have had the free breakfast in the past and it is good. Side note: you can order pizza from Brooklyn Pizza, locally, and they will deliver!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi Pizzagirl_13

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We truly appreciate the business you have give us over the years & your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & our staff. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary cooked to order breakfast & our convenient location.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in future . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    161
    50
    28
    15
See reviews for
147
173
51
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Visiting our daughter, who lives in downtown Tucson, we were looking for a place in-town with good security and modern amenities. This definitely fit the bill. The room was clean and well-appointed and the service was excellent. The swimming pool and free breakfast (yes, a real breakfast, not some cold coffee and pastries) were welcome surprises. We had unforeseen changes to our trip which caused us to add a day to each end of our stay and the staff did a great job in accommodating our needs.

Room Tip: Lots of noise from the bus stop on Speedway (why do buses need backup alarms?). Look for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Eric M,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & our staff. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary cooked to order breakfast & our convenient location.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again in future . . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has the happiest staff I've ever encountered at a hotel. They were so helpful in scheduling all our taxi rides during our stay. Great suggestion on dinner spots. Very pleasant staff. Hotel very clean. Comfortable beds! Heated pool and jacuzzi. The free breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Geosumar,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & the staff. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary cooked to order breakfast.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in future . . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am so impressed with the service and overall hotel. I am so impressed that we are returning next week. I am planning to stay more often and be sure to enjoy the full breakfast its a great value. It is so close to UOFA college as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Mrsmith2013,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & our staff. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location & complimentary cooked to order breakfast..

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you soon . . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Some of the reviews on this site led me to believe that this hotel was a good buy and had exceptional facilities. It did not. The first room to which I was assigned had such a strong chemical smell it burned my eyes (molding or furniture emitting formaldehyde? Sewer gas?). The second room was better, but I still kept the bathroom door closed in case that was the source. My first indicator that this was going to be a not-good experience was that this was in a terrible neighborhood - a surprise. I was frankly afraid to walk in the parking lot. Yes the trains run and toot at night, but they did not keep me up. I gave them two stars because they make an exceptional effort at this motel, and the rooms are quite clean.
There is a free hot breakfast included in the price. You have a choice of 10 different breakfasts ranging from greasy spoon to really healthy, so that is good. But overall, the motel is quite overpriced for the rooms, facilities, and especially, location.

Room Tip: I am not recommending this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi hbbird,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I apologize for the strong smell in your first room. I have already shared your comments with our housekeeping staff & we are being extra careful about making sure our rooms smell fresh & clean. I am glad that you did enjoy our complimentary cooked to order breakfast & felt that our rooms are very clean.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Better than average breakfast, 2 for 1 drinks. Friendly and accomodating staff. Clean rooms. Ear plugs supplied, trains run frequently. Close enough to the University. Nice pool and spa and ample patio furniture.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Joanne L,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel about our staff. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary cooked to order breakfast. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you next year . . .

Neil Shah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Business Hotel in Tucson
#21 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.