We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot for the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
grand rapids, michigan
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“a lot for the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

these are 2 rooms suites with a dressing area and bathroom (with large jacuzzi tub) between the living room and bedroom. it looks new inside but the exterior style with balconies/porches hints an older motel-the kind that had bars and restaurants...they still have theirs and give you coupons for free drinks in their lounge and free breakfast (choice of 10 free ones), made fresh to order, in their restaurant. microwave/refrigerator/coffeemaker in each suite. you can hear a train but not near enough to awaken you-but they have earplugs in rooms for people who expect no sounds at all. the pool is heated and the hot tub was the perfect temperature for a cool february night. it was nice to see flowers in february too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated suite & all the amenities that come with the stay.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you next year . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    169
    51
    28
    15
See reviews for
154
183
52
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dillard, oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hidden treasure, stayed in a suite with a jaccuzi tub, older - most very thing remodeled, free breakfast made to order, happy hour although we didn't use those. Pool, gym, close to the U of AZ. Good price. In town to visit family. Enjoyed everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you next year . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

" My friend and I, with our wife's road our Harley's to Tucson. We were on the bikes about 9 or 10 hours. When I walked in the lobby to check in Angela stated she had been waiting for me to check in, just like she was talking to an old friend. Made be feel special. Angela was very friendly and funny and it seemed like it took no time to get us checked in.

While checking us in, another couple came in and she greeted them as if they were old friend also. Before long both groups were laughing and talking like we were all old friends. Heck when the other couple ran into us again later it was like we knew each other. Angela has the ability to make you feel at home and your staying in her house.

I'll be back, you have a great place and the suites are very nice, but when someone makes you feel like you're a guest in their home - you have to go back.

I usually don't write comments on people doing their job, but I was so impressed with Angela, I had to say something to everyone...

This was a scouting trip for me, I own a Motorcycle Touring business and I was checking your location to see if I should bring a group through. You are on my list for places to go when I
bring a group through the area. "

Room Tip: The suites were great to have guest over - didn't have to sit in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about Angela, I will be sure to share your comment with her. Angela & our entire team does a wonderful job in making our guests feel right at home & we are very fortunate to have such a great team. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated Jacuzzi Suite.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to working with your for your upcoming group . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location for in town business or events. The entire staff from the Grounds to Housekeeping and Restaurant to Frontdesk were exceptional! Friendly, fast, and knowledgeable. Rooms are nicely remodeled and clean with good amenities...wish there was a bathtub but discovered that the heated pool more than counteracts that. In town noise at night was a bit frustrating but they again come through with complimentary ear plugs...problem solved. The best detail of all in the room was solid blackout shades...pure darkness equals happy camper! Great job by an awesome staff and a great Property overall!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our staff, I will be sure to share your comment with them.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you next year . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ouen, Jersey C.I.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having trusted best western many time in Europe and had no complaints we felt we could trust them in the USA. Unfortunately that was not the case. We did have a friendly greeting from staff but that was the only plus about the place. We arrived late in evening so just went to bed, first disaster, the railway was at back of hotel and for some reason the trains hoot their horns many time when they go past.Food not good. Linen looked grubby. Ear plugs in room, should have alerted us to trouble. Second night was a bigger disaster. We were woken about two in morning to our adjoining guest (we had a room with a joining door)phoning for a hooker. No need to go into what happened for the next few hours! By 5 30 am I had packed our bags and we were ready to leave. Went to report incident at 5 30 am to reception but had to wait until 8 am for assistance. Manager said he would give us a discount for the night, we were not happy with that , felt we should not have to pay for the two nights we had stayed. Insisted we would not pay anything for the night in question. We did fill out a questionnaire but nothing very satisfactory has come back from best western.

Room Tip: Do not stay here at all, avoid this area, not nice location at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent 3 days in Tucson during the Gem and Mineral show. It had easy access to and from all locations of the show. The personal was very good. We had a problem(small) and they sent someone to fix it right away. They had a very good comp. breakfast and a very good dinner selections. Great because we did not have to look for someplace to eat at the end of day. Personal we great both office and restaurant. Will gladly go again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to share your comment with our staff. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast as well as our convenient location close to all the GEM Shoes & area attractions in Tucson.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you soon . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Do not be afraid of the location. Yes, the area is a little rough around the edges, but we had no problems during our stay! When we arrived, there was a problem with our reservations. However, the front desk clerks were so kind and efficient in finding the problem. Before we knew it we were in our rooms. I have to say that the building, though a bit old, has been transformed into pretty, large rooms. I was pleased with the little amenities that this hotel had to offer as well. The breakfast you can get at the restaurant next door is ok, however, the waitstaff is so friendly and efficient that it was a pleasure to look forward to the experience every morning. Overall, we were happy with our experience, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room close to the office...a train goes by very close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you next year . . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#20 Family Hotel in Tucson
#23 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.