We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #20 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Queen Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stayed twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have many out of town guests. In December and January we had guests who wanted to see Tucson. We stayed at the Best Western Plus and could not be happier. Great prices (call them directly), amazing free breakfast menu, and 2 for 1 drinks. Clean rooms, comfy beds, friendly helpful staff, and great bartender.

Room Tip: Always ask for the top floor wherever you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
"Stayed Twice" at the Best Western Royal Sun, Tucson, Arizona.

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I sincerely appreciate your kind words & comments. Our staff works very hard & takes pride in offering clean & comfortable rooms along with superior guest service. I will be sure to share your comment with them. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast, as it is one of the most popular amenities & our guests love it.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in future. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    168
    51
    28
    15
See reviews for
153
183
52
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I chose this hotel cause it was close to the job site. Turns out it was great! They upgraded me to a suite with
A jacuzzi and the room was super fresh and clean. The receptionist was very nice. The hotel restaurant had se good food and great craft beers on tap!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
"This is a very nice Best Western" at the Best Western Royal Sun, Tucson, Arizona.

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be sure to share your comment with our staff. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant & lounge, especially the local selection of craft beers.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in future. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights and upon check-in, I found that I originally was assigned a room in a hidden corner of the hotel with no view. The clerk noticed this, and immediately reassigned me to a nicer room with a nice view of the pool. The clerk Anne, was super nice, and gave me coupons for the free breakfast and for a free drink at the hotel bar. I ordered supper to-go from the hotel bar which turned out to be very good. My room was immaculately clean, and very spacious. The free breakfast was made to order, and a waitress actually came around to take my order. It was by far the best hotel breakfast that I have ever had. I highly recommend this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
"Great place to stay" at the best Western Royal Sun in Tucson, Arizona.

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I sincerely appreciate your kind words & comments. It is great to hear that Angela changed your room location to the one with pool view & that you enjoyed it. Our guests are really loving our new expanded breakfast menu & the fact that it is a real restaurant breakfast offered for free to hotel guests. It is probably one of the best complimentary cooked to order breakfasts offered at hotels in Tucson.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in future. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Enjoyed our weekend stay, rooms were large and clean. Front desk staff was most courteous and welcoming. Heat/air conditioning unit was easy to regulate to our requirements....and actual thermostat to set....amazing. Most surprising, the attached restuarant was great....in addition to menu there were 3 dinner specials each night. Complimentary breakfast was from a generous menu, and served.....not a buffet!

Room Tip: no elevator, first floor recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
"Clean rooms, great staff" at the Best Western Royal Sun, Tucson, Arizona.


Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun, we truly appreciate the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I sincerely appreciate your kind words & comments. Our housekeeping staff works very hard & takes pride in offering ultra clean rooms. I will be sure to share your comment with them. I am also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast, as it is one of the most popular amenities & our guests love it.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in future. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was very happy with this hotel. Though we paid for a regular room, we were upgraded to a mini-suite. The mini-suite was excellent. The heating unit was a furnace & not one of those under the window, loud as can be things with low, med & high speeds but a regular furnace with temperature settings that we controlled. The bed & bedding was great very comfortable.
The front desk staff was very helpful though didn't reiterate to me the serving times for breakfast. Because we were 10 minutes late to the restaurant, we didn't eat there. The only reason I didn't give this all 5 stars was 'cuz of the shower head. I know low flow is important but it's really low flow when it's difficult to rinse shampoo out of your hair. I'll definitely stay here again, though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
"Upgrade was great" at the Best Western Royal Sun, Tucson, Arizona.

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun & for the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also happy to hear that you were give a free upgrade to our Business Plus Mini Suite & you enjoyed it.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in future. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed there several times, and the management has always been very helpful, and my room has always been clean and comfy.

The only complaints I have are with the lighting in some of the rooms- they can be dark near the wash basin in the suites. Also, they charge something called a "Green Lodging Tax" that raises your overall cost quite a bit. I'm not sure if it's even a real tax, since other Best Westerns in Tucson don't charge it. Room tax in Tucson is already pretty high in comparison to other cities of similar size and importance, and then you get this little jolt to boot, in a Best Western that's already more expensive than the other ones in town. It's mildly annoying to see such a drastic increase in the total cost of the stay.

The breakfast is made to order in the restaurant next door. You get to choose from 5 breakfast combinations. Service can be a little slow at times when lots of hotel guests pile in, but it's nice to get something made to order. It's a nice touch when most BWs just offer pastry, and do-it-yourself waffles.

Those two things aside, I have liked staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
"Nice Place" at Best Western Plus Royal Sun, Tucson, AZ

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus Royal Sun & for the business. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I sincerely appreciate your kind words & comments. We have recently installed new vanity light fixtures in our suites to enhance lighting. I will be sure to look at our lighting in our suites & work on making it better for our guests. I appreciate you letting us know of your experience.

Once again, thank you for the business & for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in future. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#19 Family Hotel in Tucson
#24 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.