We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“last minute christmas getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    175
    59
    29
    15
See reviews for
162
192
54
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was worst Best Western in my recent stays at this chain. Breakfast was a long wait for table service. No buffet available as in most hotels. Spent hours looking for a restaurant for dinner. Nothing close to the hotel. This is an older hotel, but rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Pool outside our room was an annoyance and parking inconvenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I do apologize for the wait during the breakfast. Our breakfast has become very popular & during 8am-9am it does get pretty busy. We hope that some guests would show earlier for the breakfast, however we will work on improving in this area.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the BW Plus Royal Sun Inn & Suites on a business trip to Tucson. I was supposed to stay at the University Marriott, but it was sold out for our business event, so I looked for an affordable nearby hotel - and found the BW. I am so glad I didn't stay at the Marriott (as I did last year). The Royal Sun had amazing staff that was freindly and helpful everytime I needed anything. The room was comfortable, clean, and well decorated. I was surprised how quiet my room was being on the bottom floor near 2 busy roads. The exterior of the building was well designed, clean, and very attractive. I felt safe and enjoyed my stay. If I am ever in Tucson again, there is no doubt I will choose to stay at the BW Plus again. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We are excited to hear that you will choose us over the Marriott hotel when staying in Tucson the next time.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

There was a problem with the refrigerator but the staff responded immediately. A credit was given on our bill. The prompt service was really appreciated by my wife and me. The credit was an added bonus. Everything was great. Thanks, again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We do apologize for the issue with the refrigerator, but I am also glad that we took care it for you prior to check out. Our goal is to offer clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Suited our purpose of being able to walk to El Charros. Was also clean and comfortable and quieter than we expected.
Staff were very helpful in locating amenities near by the hotel. It was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

For the price of about 75.00 it was a great deal compared to other hotels in the area at
a similar & higher price. The lounge was a great addition and a nice surprise, especially with the nice fireplace and pool table. Drinks & food selection/price/quality was great- the bartender and chef were excellent and very professional. The free real breakfast in the restaurant was a relief from the usual hard boiled eggs, stale bagels/toast/pastries and cereal that you usually get. We also used the jacuzzi one night and it was very clean and hot (we were there in December) and it was nice that it stayed open till10pm. Pool area looked very nice and clean. The room was nice, good size, nice furnishings and very clean. I had forgotten about the train & earplugs until I saw the other review. We didn't notice - did not use them. I live 3 blocks from a train station-so I guess I am just used to trains and kind of like them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities including breakfast, dinner, drinks & our heated spa. . .

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had two guest chairs which I really like since most motels offer only one! Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Restaurant was a nice surprise and the cooked to order breakfast a real plus. Dan, helped us with a minor problem and we really appreciated the service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#19 Family Hotel in Tucson
#22 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.