We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Camrose, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Comfortable Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Suited our purpose of being able to walk to El Charros. Was also clean and comfortable and quieter than we expected.
Staff were very helpful in locating amenities near by the hotel. It was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    201
    67
    31
    16
See reviews for
181
223
58
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

For the price of about 75.00 it was a great deal compared to other hotels in the area at
a similar & higher price. The lounge was a great addition and a nice surprise, especially with the nice fireplace and pool table. Drinks & food selection/price/quality was great- the bartender and chef were excellent and very professional. The free real breakfast in the restaurant was a relief from the usual hard boiled eggs, stale bagels/toast/pastries and cereal that you usually get. We also used the jacuzzi one night and it was very clean and hot (we were there in December) and it was nice that it stayed open till10pm. Pool area looked very nice and clean. The room was nice, good size, nice furnishings and very clean. I had forgotten about the train & earplugs until I saw the other review. We didn't notice - did not use them. I live 3 blocks from a train station-so I guess I am just used to trains and kind of like them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all the amenities including breakfast, dinner, drinks & our heated spa. . .

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our room was very comfortable and clean. We had two guest chairs which I really like since most motels offer only one! Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Restaurant was a nice surprise and the cooked to order breakfast a real plus. Dan, helped us with a minor problem and we really appreciated the service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Excellent service from lobby and restaurant staff. Dinner at the restaurant was surpisingly good as was the "real" breakfast offered in the restaurant. Breakfast was much better than what we usually experience when it is included in the price of the room. We made it a point to stay there on our return trip and were pleased with both stays.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A nice enough place to stay - newly remodeled and new beds and furniture. Room, especially bathroom seemed cleaner than most - no bathtub which worked great for my stay. Large freight trains run through this part of Tucson DAY AND NIGHT - so much so that the earplugs provided in the room were a foreshadowing of what was to come. Spent 5 nights, centrally located. Not impressed by the restaurant, especially the breakfast. Nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the office are going to be quieter. Rooms in the back are going to get more train noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time in writing this review regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will take your comments to heart & work on improving.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. One again, thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I chose this Best Western when I had an event to attend at U of A. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff was upbeat with a sense of humor. The room was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Best night of sleep I've had in a while.
Spacious comfortable room in one of the better parts of the city and a great breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Over the past years, we have become very popular among parents & companies visiting U of A because of our convenient location. Our Made To Order breakfast at the restaurant has been very successful since we upgraded our menu that offers 10 meals to choose from to start the day . . .

Thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#21 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.