We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't mention trains in the brochure...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #22 of 127 hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“They don't mention trains in the brochure...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A nice enough place to stay - newly remodeled and new beds and furniture. Room, especially bathroom seemed cleaner than most - no bathtub which worked great for my stay. Large freight trains run through this part of Tucson DAY AND NIGHT - so much so that the earplugs provided in the room were a foreshadowing of what was to come. Spent 5 nights, centrally located. Not impressed by the restaurant, especially the breakfast. Nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the office are going to be quieter. Rooms in the back are going to get more train noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time in writing this review regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will take your comments to heart & work on improving.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. One again, thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    141
    43
    27
    15
See reviews for
131
156
44
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I chose this Best Western when I had an event to attend at U of A. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff was upbeat with a sense of humor. The room was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Best night of sleep I've had in a while.
Spacious comfortable room in one of the better parts of the city and a great breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Over the past years, we have become very popular among parents & companies visiting U of A because of our convenient location. Our Made To Order breakfast at the restaurant has been very successful since we upgraded our menu that offers 10 meals to choose from to start the day . . .

Thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We found this resort motel so convienent to everything we wanted to do. New to this area of Tucson , we have found a new place to stay. The staff were all helpful. We being late sleepers they left us alone till after breakfast. Ate twice at the restaurant, both times service and food were great.

Room Tip: Back of motel was quiet but near the great pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Relaxing Stay at best Western Royal Sun

Thank you for taking time in writing this review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear the you liked our convenient location near downtown, U of A and easy access to & from freeways i-10 & I-19. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The front desk staff is eager to please, but for the price, I really have come to expect better accomodations. Unless we wanted heat, we had to leave the air system turned off. The restaraunt advertised 2 for 1 drinks from 5-8. When the bill came, we were told that's only for the first drink. We'd have gone elsewhere for Happy Hour! Not a great neighborhood. We walked to downtown Tucson. Lots of homeless folks there. Nothing or no one else. We advise you to stay at the Hampton or Sheraton near the airport, or any of the Hiltons, Residence Inns, or even the Holiday Inn Express by the Air Force Base. All are much better value (we have stayed at all of them).

Room Tip: First floor room -- sounds like elephants rented the room above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in early December. The rate was very good ($76 plus taxes = $91 a night). All of the staff we dealt with (and there were a lot of them) were very helpful and polite. This hotel has free wifi, free parking, a free breakfast (which is NOT a small continental one), and discount coupons. The hotel has an attached restaurant and bar, which we got 2-for-1 drink coupons to use there. The hotel also gave us discount coupons for local area attractions.

The hotel is located less than a mile from the I-10 freeway, so it's easy to get to. A lot of Tucson is far from a freeway. The rooms are clean, spacious, and are renovated. The shower is large and has a comfortable "rain" shower head.

The only downside of this place is that you can hear passing trains from a few blocks away. The staff must have realized this because each room has ear plugs in it for your sleeping comfort. Our Air Conditioner/ Heater was a bit noisy too. Not like an old A.C. unit in old motels, but still louder than the one in our home. We had it switched on all night, so it may have been the settings we put it on.

Overall, we highly recommend this place for a 3 star hotel. The great staff were the icing on the cake. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Excellent service and a reasonably priced place to stay at the Best Western PLUS Royal Sun

Thank you for your detailed positive review posted on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary Cooked To Order Breakfast & 2-For-1 Drinks at the lounge. Our guests say that we offer one of the best breakfasts in Tucson. Thank you for your compliments about our spacious rooms along with our convenient location near downtown, U of A and easy access to & from freeways i-10 & I-19. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. We look forward to seeing you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#8 Business Hotel in Tucson
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#30 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.