We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #21 of 127 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Amazing staff and hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

Great staff and accomodations! We went for orientation for college and the staff were so helpful in directing us and helping us gather info regarding the college, etc. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed our evenings at the pool. It was so convenient to have the restaurant on the hotel property and they give a discount for the guests! I'll be going back to this hotel everytime I visit my daughter! Thanks for everything!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

I am excited to know that the recent improvements such as 32' LCD TVs & new PosturePedic Pillow Top mattresses as well as new Complimentary Guest Breakfast menu with 8 options including waffles & healthy choices) enhanced your experience at our hotel. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    147
    46
    28
    16
See reviews for
144
163
47
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at this motel for 1 night in June on our way through Tucson.

It is close to and easy to find from the Interstate.

The lady on reception was friendly and helpful and as a nice touch phoned us after we’d been in our room for about 30 minutes to check that everything was OK, which it was.

The room was a typically large American motel room, the like of which you don’t see often in Europe but it was also well furnished for a motel.

Although it is only a motel, they have taken the trouble the lay the grounds out well with some pleasing water features, lawns and trees.

Next to the motel is a bar and restaurant. They provided local draft beers, which included a 2 for 1 offer making it the cheapest beer we had in 3 weeks in the area. The service was also good.

The food was good in an unpretentious way. Typical steaks, burgers and ribs but very tasty and good value for money.

The cooked breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was less successful. They appeared short-staffed and consequently tables weren’t cleared quickly and the wait for food was longer than I would expect for breakfast.

The checkout was as friendly and helpful as the check-in. We were going to the West Saguaro NP and the reception provided us with a pre-printed set of directions.

If you are passing through Tucson and need a motel I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We have recently re-designed our breakfast menu featuring 8 options to choose from including new healthy choices. We will speak to our restaurant team & ensure proper staffing during breakfast hours to help improve guest experience by offering outstanding service along with great food.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

I have been staying at the Best Western Royal Sun on business travel for several years now. I switched from Farfield Inn, by Marriott properties. One might be concerned about quality in changing from Marriott properties to Best Western. However, I have never been disappointed. Although this is an older property it is maintained as though it is new. The entire team from the General Manager down to the grounds keeper all take great pride in the facility and pay GREAT attention to guest satisfaction. Speaking of the staff. Over several years I have seen no turn over in staff. That speaks volumes for the leadership at this great hotel. (If you are a frequent traveler you already know staff turnover is often high in the lodging industry.)

Best Western Royal Sun has a very clean pool and spa area. They also provide a workout area and vending area. They have several "mini-suites" and "full-suites." The full suites have a front room with a hide a bed couch, chair, coffee table, entertainment center with flat screen TV and a phone. The back room has either two queens or one king bed and a work desk area with speaker phone and wired or wireless internet along with another flat screen TV. All areas of the property are covered by the wireless connection including the pool and spa area. This property has an on site retaurant with a cantina. The breakfast is a choice of five different breakfasts off the menu. Not old, cold, stale rolls and bad fruit. What a refreshing change...at no additional cost.

All rooms also have a hair dryer, Mini-Fridge, and a lit make up mirror. Additionally, many of the rooms connect if you have a large group. I find it an additional value that not only can you get two rooms that connect but several in a row. This allows for movement between several rooms for a large group without having to go outside.

The houskeeping staff is provided a list of inbound guests daily. They always turn the air down in the rooms and have them very cool for your arrival. A great service for sunny, hot Arizona. If you are a Best Western Rewards member there is always an additional treat in the room based on your award level.

The ONLY drawback I see is no microwave in the rooms. However, there is one in the lobby along with a computer and printer for guest use. The lack of the microwave is easily overcome by all the other outstanding features.

Thank you for the great rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

We truly appreciate the business & we are thrilled to know that you love to stay with us every time you are in Tucson. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had made this reservation weeks in advance and at last minute had to change occupancy and room type due to a family emergency. I am so thankful that Angela was working the front desk that night. She is for sure a definition of the Best Western Brand! She was able to get the rooms switched and check-in was a breeze (she even provided us with directions to our destination!).
The breakfast at the hotel also exceeded my expectations as I thought it would be all cold items (continental breakfast), but it was a Full HOT cook-to-order breakfast with some good choices and of course, best of all, it was complimentary! You are limited to some choices but they are filling.
Our room was surprisingly very clean and updated.. From the pictures that I had seen online, I expected what I saw and once again was surprised. They have updated their furnishings, have flat screen TVs and DVD players in the room with upgraded amenities.
I had also read that the area at night was kinda sketchy, but I did not notice anything bad or unsafe both nights that we stayed there and we got in late one night and ventured out another. Won't say its in the best part of town, but for sure not the worst.
I would recommend this hotel and would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

I will let Angela know of your compliments & kind words. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

At the end of May, I brought a group of 12 biology students to Tucson for my annual course "Dyanmics of the Sonoran Desert Ecosystem." We stayed at the Royal Sun and couldn't have asked for a more perfect location (both to the Sonoran Desert and to downtown Tucson). The staff was extraordinarily helpful and made our stay there a genuine pleasure. Rooms were immaculate, the pool sparkling clean, breakfast was delicious, and the tavern gave us some time to unwind after a long day in the field.

Kudos to Neil Shah and his staff for making our field experience a treat. I intend to bring another group down next year and, of course, we'll stay at the Royal Sun!

Dr. Gregory McArthur
Professor of Biology
Metropolitan State College of Denver

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

It was our pleasure to host you group. Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We will see you next year.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I get sick of "hiltons".. Being able to relax in clean enviro, OK food is lame but suits me..Can't go wong here. If u expect more then u've lost it. There is a basic gym, free brekky, a pool, a balcony ( food.. yeah ok not great) but u eat and there is a bar and a great atmosphere. Tuscon is is not an out there place and if u are here it's not for fun , right!. Some good thigs to see locally if u try.. I'd stay here again... Trains are noisy,, http://www.bwroyalsun.com/

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011 via mobile

Front desk staff & manager give top rate personalized service! Restaurant staff very friendly too.
Great value

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Thank you for taking time to submit this review regarding your recent stay at our property. My team & I are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us.

Positive comments from our guests is what drives us to consistently do better in providing clean & comfortable rooms along with superior customer service.

We appreciate your comments very much & thank you for the business. We hope to see you soon.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#13 Business Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.